We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Would recommend”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at Bloomsbury in middle of December for one night on a Saturday.
Arrival: I had contacted the hotel prior to ask if possible an earlier check in would be appreciated and they were able to accommodate this request. Simple check in process and friendly staff.
Rooms: (423) was lovely and looked out onto the street, it had big bed, bath & shower, coffee machine, large flat screen TV etc. and was very comfortable and clean.
Nice little touches such as couple chocolates left in our room in the evening.
Although there was some faint traffic noise it was December so we didn't need the windows open and found no problems with noise.
Food & Drink: We didn't eat at the hotel however we did have a drink in the bar, were well looked after and Joel knew how to make good cocktails.
Location: 5 minutes walk to Soho/Covent Garden, 30-40 minutes walk along Oxford Street to Marble Arch and 7 minutes on the tube to Camden, it was well located for central London.

Overall it was a lovely stay at the hotel (as a birthday treat) and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Magnadoodles

Thank you for your kind review, I am great to know that you both enjoyed the hotel so much.

I am pleased to hear that Joel was impressive to you, he is our resident cocktail magician and loved by so many of our guests.

We very much hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,288)
There are newer reviews for The Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 3,288 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

The standard room was not as spacious as it could be, still I enjoyed staying in the hotel. Some minor issues occurred, but the stuff settled everything promptly. All the personnel were friendly and helpful, especially the hostess at the restaurant, Estelita. I do hope to visit London shortly and stay at the very same hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrei421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Andrei421,

Thank you very much for your kind words, particularly about Estelita.

It is fantastic that you will be returning, and if I can be of any assistance with your next reservation with us, please do let me know.

With best wishes for the New Year.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

An excellent hotel and a wonderful staff. Paolo was especially helpful in securing some hard-to-get tickets for us and making sure that all went smoothly at the box office. He also gave us great recommendations for restaurants. We are most grateful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjs1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear rjs1644

Thank you so much for your review.

I recall the morning Paolo secured the tickets for you, he deserved acknowledgement then and I am additionally grateful you have taken time to extend your special commendation. He truly went above and beyond in the spirit of excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Arrived and found I had booked the following night, my mistake but reception could not have reacted better. I sat in a comfortable sofa with a complimentary drink near by whilst it was sorted. I was even upgraded for my inconvenience. Fanstatic given it was my mistake!! The rooms are to a high standard and the facilities were great. Location was great for my business needs the next day and its only a short work to Oxford Street or the Theatres. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Bob E

I am delighted that we could find a solution to the mix up in dates, we encourage our team to be both sensitive and considerate to the needs of our guests. It is fantastic they we could offer you this upgrade.

We very much hope to welcome you both back to The Bloomsbury London soon!

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed 1 night recently for a charity ball. We've stayed several times previously and it never fails to disappoint. From the moment we arrived to when we left we received personal service. The hotel has a particularly welcoming atmosphere, creating the perfect ambience, with friendly staff, well designed rooms with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMurtagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear StephenMurtagh

Thank you very much for taking time to contribute a review Mr Murtagh.

It is great to know that you enjoy the hotel, staff and ambiance we deliver, moreover it is wonderful to know that we will be seeing you again.

If there is anything I can do in advance of your next stay with us, please do let me know at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent last weekend at The Bloomsbury and had an excellent stay. Suite 312 was large, well equipped and very comfy. The roll top bath was a lovely touch. Did not eat at the hotel but had drinks in the bar. Staff extremely professional and polite. Check in and out was swift and well organised. One slight hitch with our bill was promptly corrected and apologised for. Will definitely book to stay again in the new year for our next London trip as the location of The Bloomsbury is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heartbeat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear AMP1471

I am delighted your stay was so enjoyable.

Thank you for the notation in regards to your bill, this is very helpful to know.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night last weekend as a special pre-xmas treat and was not disappointed. It's a beautiful, cosy, stylish, traditional hotel with fantastic service. The rooms have been modernised and decorated to a high standard. The location was perfect, within walking distance of Oxford street and Soho. I was impressed with the small touches that made a difference such as the cold hand towels at check -in and the refreshing jugs of cucumber water in the reception area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Alan F

Thank you for your incredible review, words such as beautiful, stylish and fantastic service are lovely to hear, the team are very humbled by the kind comments left on TripAdvisor.

The cold or warm towels are testament to our attention to detail, as well as the touches along the way such as cucumber water.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel, and if there is anything I can do to assist you, please feel free to contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,260 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,072 in London
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $242 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing