We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,522)
Filter reviews
3,522 results
Traveler rating
2,460
802
190
49
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,460
802
190
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumdominion theatreoxford streettottenham courtcovent gardenbeautiful hotelwest endnespresso machinesuperior roomafternoon teaturn down servicequiet streetexcellent locationwould highly recommend this hoteltube stationcentral locationfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,206 - 2,211 of 3,522 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Ok, so this review is backdated quite a bit, though hopefully it'll still be of use.

My husband & I stayed at the Bloomsbury in April 2012 for 3 nights. We decided to book the bloomsbury at the time due to its trip advisor ranking - it came within the top 10 in London at that time, though as our trip drew nearer there were quite a number of not so good reviews. It was a special break for us, and we didn't want to risk being let down, we debated cancelling and changing hotel to one of our original contenders, though we opted to contacted the hotel directly, the GM at the time was Becky, who replied offering us a good deal of reassurance about our forthcoming trip.

We had the most amazing stay, on arriving our room was not ready, though the receptionist advised we had been upgraded to the middle room category which was a lovely added bonus, we were advised to come back at 2pm. We arrived back and our room was still not ready, and we were asked to take a seat for a few minutes, the assistance manager then came over to speak to us and he had upgraded us to a suite for the entire stay!!!

We were shown to our huge room, with an entrance seating area, a huge bed, a seperate seating area with 2 chaise's, a massive flatscreen tv, and to top it off a massive bathroom, with seperate room for WC, seperate area for shower, 2 wash hand basins and a beautiful roll top bath - with TV mounted in the wall!!!! And to top it all off - a bottle of Moet was delivered to our room - i thought the waitress had brought it to the wrong room at first, then she advised it was courtesy of the manager!!!

We had the most amazing 3 nights at this hotel, it was truly beautiful.... the location wasn't great, you were within walking distance of most things, and the underground was just along the road, though the area wasn't very good to walk about in at night - we always opted for a cab!

We ate at Gordon Ramsays Petrus & Goodmans Steak house in Maddox st, both of which were sublime.... we also had the elite package on the thames river cruise in the Symphony all glass boat which was just phenomenal! the food wasn't great for £250.00 for 2 people, though it was all about the experience!

Becky, if you're still at the hotel, thank you so much for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Mrs-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Mr-Mrs-Explorer,

Thank you very much for your kind review, especially as it was from some time ago.

Beccy is still with the Doyle Collection, as General Manager of The Kensington London. I have personally shared this notation with her.

Your experience in London sounds tremendous, I am delighted that we could play such an important part in our wonderful capital.

I hope to have the opportunity of meeting you both on your next visit to the hotel. If there is anything I may do for you, please do let me know.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hi, I stayed on a Thursday for 3 nights and was amazed how lovely the staff are!! Everyone is friendly and always smiles, the hotel is warm and makes you feel at home! The rooms are a decent size and the location is just amazing.... Actually prefer it to oxford street. I shall be back! You guys can charge more for what you offer believe me! Thank you for everything we will be your new regulars xxx

Room Tip: The belinis they make are lovely
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear sarah_duffield

Thank you so much for your kind review.

There really is nothing more that pleases me to read how well our team have taken care of our guests, I will be ensure that your kind comments are conveyed to the team at the next possible moment.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury, Joel our Bar Manager and his team will also be delighted to prepare Belinis for you once again.

Best wishes

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel is centrally located near SoHo and the British Museum. Lobby was nice but room was spectacular: beautiful furnishings, large room, convenient power sources, nice sitting area, beautiful and large marble bathroom with claw footed it and separate rainforest shower.
Service was nice from arrival through departure, room was not ready upon arrival but after a quick visit to the British Museum (2 minutes away) we were shown to our room.
Tea in the Library was great and inexpensive at £30 including a glass of champagne.
Location was great for eating out and drinking in SoHo.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear faarias,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I delighted you enjoyed your spacious room and the in room facilities, it is also wonderful to see you had the opportunity to have tea in our Seamus Heaney Library.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Bloomsbury London very soon.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in a superior room which was not huge but still very nice, towels changed daily. The staff where friendly and the continental breakfast was one the best I've ever seen, we where also given champagne from the hotel as it was our honey moon. Great location 2 mins walk from Tottenham court road tube station, some great pubs in area if your prepared to look for them

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Steven R

Thank you very much for your valued review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our superior room category, all of our rooms benefit from luxury amenities, and our Deluxe Rooms and Suites, are of course, larger and have a stand alone bath, dedicated lounge area and additional in room facilities.

Our Chef and his team will be pleased to note your comments in regards to our breakfast offering, we work hard to maintain a seasonal, varied and vibrant buffet. I am glad that this caught your attention.

Best wishes

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A really nice hotel in an amazingly convenient location

All the staff were friendly & very helpful

The 2 course pre dinner meal was very good value

The complimentry bottle of water on departure is a nice touch too

Room Tip: A relatively small point but my partner has an allergy to feathers and we did pre warn the hotel to remove every possible feather related item - however three small feather cushions were left in the room - which almost triggered a reaction !!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markallaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Markallaa

Thank you so much for your great review.

I am pleased you had a good experience with us. I trust the theatre nearby was also very enjoyable.

I can confirm we do have non-allergenic pillows, and I apologize for not seeing this detail through first time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London.

Best wishes

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews