We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a little disappointing for a 4****” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #55 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but a little disappointing for a 4****”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Deluxe room for a long weekend. The hotel is very well located, perfect for shopping and for visiting the city. We were amazed by the beauty of the entrance, all the candles and the nice furnitures.
The room was nice, the bed was comfortable (despite the small size of the bed for 2).
There were 3 negatives issues we faced. 1) the noice of the air-conditioning of the room above us during the night, 2) the mini-bar which has compartments by drawers and the items are charged directly on the room when removed. We took a drink and had a problem with the drawer and we also discovered that the cans were dirty, sticky because of the mold inside the drawer... 3) We were checked-in and checked-out by the same receptionist who was not very friendly. He was always expeditive with us, which was disappointing and unpleasant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina0041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Tina0041

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is very helpful.

I have spoken with our team about the challenges you experience. We have recently completed a full air conditioning project, all of our rooms and public areas are fully controllable for cooling or heating. I apologize for the disruption you experienced.

Owing to your feedback I have been able to understand who looked after your room servicing and check in and out experience. My assurances to yourself and to all other guests, that is not the norm here at The Bloomsbury London.

Kind Regards and renewed appreciation.

Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    721
    161
    43
    16
See reviews for
399
1,487
157
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bloomsbury. After the first not so great stay...this one was wonderful! We cannot comment on the breakfast this time around as this was not included in the package.
After spending a week in London for business, my partner flew in to spend a long weekend with me in London. Check-in went very smooth and Ricky was outgoing and friendly: a great way to start our stay.
The room was cosy and clean. We felt right at home. The slight mishap with the stained bathrobe hanging in the closet was fixed by room service the next day.
On our last day we went for the Afternoon Tea. The service provided by the staff was so warm and gracious and spoiled us. A definite great finish to a wonderful get away weekend in London.
We will return :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_lv_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear I_lv_travelling,

I am so pleased to read your review. We take a great deal of pride in service recovery, in the instances where things do not go to plan, thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us.

Pleasure to hear about Ricky, he has a very bright future in our industry and is studying Hotel Management at Shannon University in Ireland.

We very much look forward to your return, we have made some fantastic seasonal additions as we move into the colder months for breakfast and afternoon tea.

Best wishes from the team

Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I decided to book this hotel after I read the recommendations. Tucked into a quiet street, but near enough to walk or "tube it" to major sites, this place is a gem. The concierge service is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, and the "superior continental" breakfast includes offerings for any taste. I'd come again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Handle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Handle_11

Thank you so much for your kind review.

I am delighted that you found TripAdvisor a valuable resource when deciding where to stay. It was our pleasure looking after you, and we sincerely hope to see you once again.

Best wishes,

Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute through Hotel Tonight and were not disappointed. The room we were given was compact but well furnished, nice bathroom (although please can hotels add in a magnifying mirror). The staff were friendly and welcoming and we loved the candles. The outside bar terrace was lovely and we enjoyed a drink outside at 10 30 in the evening listening to the sounds of London.
The location of this hotel is really convenient for Oxford Street and the West End. Breakfast was excellent......so altogether no complaints and we really enjoyed our stay. Would we go back-definitely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Alison S

Thank you very much for your review!

We have some magnificent spaces, and the outdoor Lutyen's Terrace is no exception. Our outdoor lanterns, indoor scented candles are a signature for us.

I can tell you, that only a handful of our rooms are short of mirrors, which is currently be resolved.

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back.

Best wishes
Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this hotel as a treat for my husbands birthday as I was taking him to a football match in london. Unfortunately the day of the match changed and we couldn't go, but decided to have a few days in london anyway. Well, all I can say is within a few minutes of entering, all disappointment was forgotten. This hotel is immaculate, food fantastic and smells delightful but what sets it above the rest is the staff. They are amazing!!! After a very pleasant check in and a chat with the receptionist we arrived in our room to find a complimentary bottle of sparkling rose and a birthday card. We couldn't believe it and were delighted. The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast served by the friendliest staff and a read of the complimentary papers before heading out. On the way I asked the concierge about theatre tickets etc. He went way beyond his duties and sent us off full of optimism and loaded with info. We had the best day we've ever experienced in london thanks to him and we were genuinely sorry to leave the following day. This hotel has a very traditional style, but incorporates the modern world flawlessly, even down to the Apple Macs for guests in the foyer and nespresso machines in the rooms. I can still smell all the different scents from the floating candles placed throughout. To sum up, If you want to stay in a beautiful central hotel and feel more relaxed and welcomed than you ever have before, then this is the hotel for you. My husband and I are still talking about it and can't wait to go back before
Christmas. The management have thought of everything to make this hotel amazing and I can't thank all the staff enough for making our break perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear 100debs,

Thank you so much for your review.

The Concierge team pass on their best wishes and hope you enjoyed the sights of London! We have a signature scent around the hotel that really makes a wonderful impression, in addition to the ambiance they create.

We look forward to seeing you before Christmas!

Best wishes
Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was great. It is hard to make me happy. But I really appreciated. Definetly if I go to london again I will choose The Bloomsbury Hotel. I don't have any relationship with The Bloomsbury Hotel group. So, trust me and stay there if you wanna realy enjoy London. By the way, hotel smells so nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gokhan Sengul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Gokhan Sengul,

We hope you had a safe trip home.

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased we could meet your expectations.

I hope to be able to meet you on your next stay with us,

Kind Regards,

Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location of this fabulous hotel is perfect and is only a short walk to Soho, The British Museum. The Tottenham Court Road Tube Station is also super near and very convenient. My partner and I stayed in a beautiful Deluxe Room for three nights in late August which was spacious and comfortable. The room was beautifully designed, contemporary, warm and cozy with great amenities such as complimentary still and sparkling water bottles, a shinny nespresso machine, biscuits, bathrobes and a docking station.

The staff were the most polite and accommodating I have come across in some time (I travel extensively).Every perosn working in the hotel was smiling all the time.The continental breakfast buffet was presented beautifully with an awesome selection of pastries, croissants, local jams, cheeses, fruits and tiny smoothies. They also offered variety of hot breakfast to order. I opted for the full English breakfast option. I tried the Full Breakfast on the first morning and it was delicious. My partner enjoyed the eggs benedict and the americano coffee was perfect.

We enjoyed afternoon tea in the hotel on day 2.It had not been planned but when we passed several other guests eating we had to take a look at the menu. It tasted so good!! Great value and the attention to detail was outstanding. This hotel I have to say was one of the best I have stayed in in some time. It is a hidden Gem. I can’t speak enough of it. If you are planning a trip to London stay in The Bloomsbury Hotel. I don’t usually write comments on trip advisor but on this occasion I felt I had too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooling35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear cooling35,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

This has to be one of the most complimentary reviews we have had on TripAdvisor, it is very helpful to share this level of feedback with our team whom make experiences like this possible.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards,

Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#50 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing