We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional polite and helpful staff - excellent location”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #54 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Professional polite and helpful staff - excellent location”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a weekend away at this hotel in July. We were greeted at the door with a smile. Cannot fault the professionalism friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent fully equipped to meet our needs extremely comfortable made for a very relaxing weekend away. The bar in the lower ground floor is very cosy and there is a lovely atmosphere as you walk in. The bar staff are very friendly nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast menu caters for everyone I dont think there was anylthing missing from the menu and again the staff were very attentive and made sure you had everything you needed. The Restaurant menu is very impressive and the the food is excellent. You are made to feel very welcome at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located and the staff will advise you on places to go and things to see if you ask them. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed the service given by our Team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering at The Landseer Restaurant and you found the Landseer Bar to be cosy and have a lovely atmosphere. It is great the Location of the Hotel worked well for you. Thank you so much for recommending The Bloomsbury Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,209
    740
    169
    44
    16
See reviews for
429
1,554
165
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts. UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for at the hotel as a Birthday treat and cannot fault location for theatre land and the west end. Staff service in the hotel was a joy with every member of staff being polite and service very efficient.

We stayed in a suite room which was very large and impressively furnished.

Rooms are quite, air con is excellent and beds very comfortable.

Breakfast cooked to order and buffet attractive and varied.

A good choice for a theatre night or shopping weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bloomsbury Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Birthday treat with us and that all of our Team exceeded your expectations. It is fabulous to hear that you enjoyed the Breakfast offerings at The Landseer Restaurant and you found your room to be comfortable and impressively furnished. It is great that the location of the Hotel worked well for you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our daughter booked this hotel for us as she had previously stayed there. The service was excellent from start to finish, nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very comfortable and clean. We also dined there in the evening and this meal was excellent, the breakfast was also very good. The hotel is very well located for both the theatre and the shops. We normally try a different hotel each time we visit London but for our next visit we will definitely stay at the Bloomsbury again. It's the little touches that make a difference; we arrived when it was extremely hot weather so we were not prepared for rain. When we were leaving for the theatre we were told it was going to rain but in the wardrobe there was an umbrella and were we glad of it when we came out of the theatre. They also provided us with bottles of water for the journey home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bloomsbury Hotel. It is fantastic to read that our service was excellent from start to finish and you felt nothing was too much trouble for our Team. We are so pleased you enjoyed Breakfast and Dinner at The Landseer Restaurant and you liked the little touches such as the umbrellas and water. It is great the Location worked well for you. Thank you very much for recommending the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose this hotel for a long weekend in May and were quite happy with our experience. It was exactly what we wanted for that specific weekend in London: a comfortable base in the buzzing city centre.

The hotel has been nicely renovated, service is good. However, we thought our room, which was located on the top floor, was extremely small (room also had quite a low ceiling which didn't help). The bathroom was well equipped but then again very small.

There is certainly nothing wrong with this hotel and many people might like it. So, would we stay here again? Perhaps if we just need a comfortable, stylish and centrally located place to stay. However, if we would like to have a real "weekend away" experience, we would probably chose for something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service given by our Team at the Hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you felt the size of your room was a little on the small side, being a central London Hotel we are restricted for space and unfortunately this does not allow us to change the size of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had two very pleasant nights at the Bloomsbury Hotel.

We arrived on a very hot afternoon so the ice tea was welcome as we're the hand towels.

Our room was adequate without being special. The bed was very comfortable.

It has a very nice gym in the basement.

The lower ground floor bar was excellent and the lobby is excellent for a drink or just to relax.

All the staff were very cheerful and helpful.

The hotel is conveniently located a few hundred metres from Soho on one side and the British Museum on the other. The Tottenham Court Road Tube station is just around the corner.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browney237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is fabulous to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the complimentary ice tea and hand towels upon arrival. We are so pleased that you found our team to be very cheerful and helpful and that you enjoyed The Landseer Restaurant and Bar. It is fantastic to hear the location of the Hotel worked very well for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip, it was a first class hotel from start to finish.
On arrival the staff were professional, helpful polite and made me feel very welcome. I cannot recommend enough.
Dined in the restaurant, food was very impressive too.
Even as I left the manager took time to ensure I enjoyed my stay, I will definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending The Bloomsbury Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your business from start to finish and all of our team were professional, helpful, polite and made you feel very welcome. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal at The Landseer Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located only a few steps away from British Museum and Oxford Street. It's the perfect place to stay if you go to London for a short break and don't wanna spent to much time travelling with public transport. If you stay here you can use your legs instead.
Some of the rooms are extremely small, and whatever you buy at this hotel it will cost you a fortune. Spend your money on some of the restaurants in the area instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse_Andreassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelNeve, General Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that the location of the Hotel worked well for you and enabled you to visit the Local area on foot. We are sorry to hear you felt that the room sizes were a little on the small side, being a hotel based in central London we are restricted for space which unfortunately doesn’t allow us to change the sizes of the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,067 in London
1,493 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing