We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice and friendly hotel”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for a city trip. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was not great: we hardly had daylight because the only window looked out on an inner court. For the rest, the room was very well equipped (nespresso machine, iron, european power sockets (!)). The bed was very soft, very good. We didn't do breakfast nor any other meal here, because there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Also the British Museum is in the same street, 100 m. further down. Several tube stations in walking distance, the closest is Tottenham Court.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you taking the time to post you recent review following your 3 day city break with us. I am delighted to hear that you found all the staff so friendly and helpful and the room met all your needs. It is always great to hear when all the extras we think are so important are recognised by our guests. I have noted your comment about the view and breakfast and do hope next time we can entice you down to the Landseer Restaurant and Bar which serves locally sourced food and drink. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,293)
There are newer reviews for The Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,293 - 2,299 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

last week we went to have afternoon tea to the Lutyens Lounge in the Bloomsbury hotel, the experience was just amazing, when we arrived a really nice porter opened the door for us and we were delighted with the beauty of that place, then the waiter came to us with a smile in his face, introduced him self, and took our coats to the cloakroom, then he showed us our table, took our order,and he served the tea and the stand. Everything was really good, Jonathan was so nice and helpful with us, refilling tea as soon as our cups were empty, we didn't even touch the teapots. to be honest the food was not as good as expected but that waiter made the experience become a nice memory

thanks

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmeadows3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are delighted that you joined us for Afternoon tea in the Lutyens Lounge and thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. It was great to read that Jonathan was able to make this visit to the hotel so memorable and thank you for recognising him. It is always fabulous to hear when staff look after our guests so well and make that difference. I would like to assure you though that we have taken on board your comment regarding the quality of food and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the Bloomsbury or are in Midtown, our neighbourhood of London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My recent four-day stay could not have been nicer.

Everything about this hotel is gracious and comfortable. Physically, the building offers a gorgeous incorporation of older public-space architecture with newer in-room features (TV, bathrooms, lighting etc.) On check-in I asked for and was given an upgrade at no additional charge, and had a room with a king-sized bed. The room was very comfortably sized. The room and bath were immaculate. The bed, bedding, linens, bath and all in-room features (including no-hassle wifi) were great. My room was toward the back, so unfortunately it didn't offer much of a view. But it was quiet, and that mattered most to me.

My only note of caution is that, at least in bathrooms configured like mine, there is not a lot of counter space. In addition, the spray of the shower would reach the edge of the sink counter. A hand towel over the toiletries solved that problem.

The staff distinguishes itself. From the warm reception (by Mr McGrath? Perhaps I didn't recall the name right) through every contact I had with the door staff, desk, wait staff, and the concierges, I felt listened to, noticed and cared for.

Nice touches abound. From the elegant beverage service available near the front desk, to the presentation of the breakfast buffet, to the quality of the drink and meal service available in the lobby, even down to the floating votives in glass vases on each table -- I believe reflect an attention and a form of hospitality that has an underlying kindness to it. Other hotels of course do similar things, but at this hotel it was clear that management has made a commitment to putting a quiet thoughtfulness and beauty into the job of hosting its guests.

The Bloomsbury exceeded my expectations. I won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your stay. We are all delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from the scented candles in the Lobby to the presentation of the breakfast buffet in the Landseer Restaurant. It is always fabulous to hear when the staff exceed expectations and thank for recognising Roddy Mcgrathy and the team. I would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you had in the bathroom and I would like to assure you that we always listen and where possible act upon all comments made. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon when you are next in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently held a Charity Ball at the Bloomsbury. Cannot thank them enough for the care and attention we received... the staff were amazing, they worked to our evening's schedule and were completely flexible when service needed slowing and then speeding up. When one table had a little accident pre-service it was undressed and redressed in minutes. The venue... the King's Room held 120 diners, a 14 piece band, dance floor and the bar perfectly.
To top that, we had booked an over night stay - all i can say is they had to get an eviction order to remove me from the hotel bar at 2 and my wife from the room 12 next day! thanks once again to all the management and staff who made it a very successful and enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartP448450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review and we were delighted to be the chosen venue for the Charity Ball. It was great to read that Ana and Piotr and the team were able to assist you so well during the night and I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy our Landseer Bar and the rooms here at the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed three nights in a Deluxe-Room. Room very small but ok. The attached bathroom is relatively big, however has no heating device at all. Temperatures outside were about minus. However, the reception didn`t care much about that.

In sharp contrast to that the staff in the restaurant is of outstanding quality. In fourty years of travelling worldwide we hardly experienced this friendliness and service-orientation.

Room Tip: Avoid room no 315, at least if you are not there in summer
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Naturally I was very disappointed to read your comments about the bathroom and the staff attitude on the desk and I wanted to assure that we do take every comment very seriously and always try to act upon everything brought to our attention. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review and I was delighted to read about your experience in our Landseer Restaurant and thank you for recommending the team down there. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back and please let me know if you need anything in the meantime. I can be contacted on beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I booked into the Bloomsbury for one night on Sunday 24 March. The staff were so friendly and helpful, it made our stay so special. Thanks to Malaka and colleagues - we will certainly return when we book another show in London - it is within easy walking distance for the theatres. So pleased we made this choice, we had a fabulous time!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, no problem - just a bit of a maze in the corridors so may ask for a room n...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panfandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We are all delighted that we could make your weekend so special and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. It is always great to hear when we exceed expectations and thank you for recommending the staff and in particular Malaka. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are down in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fantastic experience at this lovely hotel. We were there for a special occasion and enjoyed first class service and attention.
Our room was huge and beautifully furnished with an amazing bathroom - a freestanding bath with its own TV, separate toilet and separate shower; like stepping into an interior design magazine spread. The bed was lovely and big and there was also a chaise lounge to complete the film star feel. Free wifi and lots of nice little touches.
The hotel is impressive with a stylish entrance lobby. There is a comfortable bar downstairs and the bar staff were friendly, we didn't have dinner there but did have the cooked breakfast which was good. It is a historic building from the turn of the century and, doing a bit of exploring, we found an impressive library (used for meetings) and even a chapel.
There's no swimming pool or gym but it's just a few minutes walk from The British Museum and the West End - and really easy to get around.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor and wasn't the standard but well worth extra for a special occas...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz!p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for posting such a great review about the hotel and for taking the time whilst you were with us to explore our beautiful Lutyens building. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the stay from the fabulous Junior Suite to the cosy Landseer Bar. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,073 in London
2,266 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#61 of 1,073 in London
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $242 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing