We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #55 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A wonderful place to celebrate a significant birthday. We stayed three nights. The location close to theatres, Britiish Museum, Oxford Street, etc is very good. Our room was delightful though a little too warm; the restaurant had very helpful and friendly staff and offered high quality food. We had dinner each evening and were never disappointed. Overall the staff in this hotel are excellent. Nothing appears to be too much trouble; they appear happy, busy and very courteous. For a retired couple looking for a good place in London for a few nights, this is a nice hotel even though it's quite expensive! We would certainly consider a further visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a fabulous review and we were all delighted to help make your significant birthday celebration such a success. I am delighted that you found every staff member to be so helpful and happy. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    721
    161
    43
    16
See reviews for
399
1,487
157
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Bloomsbury this week-end for my birthday (Fri 8th-Sun10th March), we were very lucky to stay in one of the suites, incredibly spacious and comfortable, together with the largest on-suite I have ever seen and beautifully clean. We were made to feel very welcome by every member of friendly and helpful staff. When you walk in to the lobby there is a wonderful aroma from the floating candles that are placed on the window ledges. The breakfast was the nicest I have eaten in a hotel, with a wonderful continental selection followed by a freshly cooked Full English, as opposed to the normal buffet style you get in most hotels. There is nothing we did not like about this hotel and would HIGHLY recommend it, not only for the amazing location but also for the high quality of service. Thank you to The Bloomsbury for making my birthday week-end the best it could possibly be, and we look forward to returning again later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliotts28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review and I am delighted that we were able to assist in making your birthday weekend so memorable. It is always fabulous to hear when the staff exceed expectations and thank you also for recommending the hotel so highly. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My partner booked flights to London the night before we were to arrive as an impulsive birthday present for me, but didn't book a hotel as he knows I'm very picky when it comes to where I'm staying. Considering we booked last minute, I didn't have high expectations! The Bloomsbury Hotel, I have to say, is definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed in in London. The location, just of Oxford St, is incredible. We were in the center of everything yet came back to a peaceful and quiet environment.. All staff were very good, always making sure we were ok and they were all so friendly..even at very busy breakfast times! Breakfast was of such a vast variety having the buffet and being able to order from the kitchen meant a great start to a busy day of sight seeing.. Will definitely be back there soon as the experience was just perfect! And a quick shout out to the smiley and hilarious Alma from Dublin, her laugh and wit definitely brightened up our mornings and we wish her the best of luck on her placement!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review and it is always great to hear that we not only met but exceeded your expectations and we are all so pleased that you had such a memorable stay. Thank you for your kind words about the staff especially Alma and we all look forwards to welcoming you back soon next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Although I travel quite a lot, and have lived in different countries,including England, and London, the Bloomsbury Hotel is the first I want to praise on the Web. For us, the weekend special had to be central, and surprise! it was also quiet. Smiling service everywhere, and efficient. High praise for our breakfast where I was treated to a hot gluten-free breakfast -eggs Benedict-! n addition to buffet spread. The restaurant is so pleasant we had dinner there too. There is a Seamus Heaney library -better for wet weather, but well-stocked! Before leaving, I used the lovely MAC in the spacious lobby to answer emails. I live in Paris, and have recommended the Bloombbury Hotel in French already on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of space in the room, say so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eithne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for posting your recent review following your stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review in both French and English. We were all delighted to read your comments and thank for recommending us to your family and friends. It was fabulous to read that breakfast in the Landseer Restaurant exceeded your expectations and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

On a recent trip to London to celebrate my partners birthday, we were having great difficulty in choosing a restaurant to eat at before attending a show for the evening (so many to choose from!), one of the concierge's i think his name was Paolo was so very very helpful in recommending a restaurant ,we are difficult to please and have very different tastes in food! but have to say his recommendation was top notch! Thank you Paolo and thank you Bloomsbury for an fantastic stay, want to come back real soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKkerry1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review following your recent stay here. I am absolutely delighted that Paolo was able to look after your so well and the restaurant he recommended matched your taste so completely. Thank you also for recommending the hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The bellman was great at giving brochures and help with the amenities in the room upon checking on to the hotel. Upon check out he was helpful at finding us a taxi that would accept a credit card as we were out of GBP. There was always apples, tea, and lemonade in the lobby and cookies, hot chocolate, tea, and expresso in the room. Very close to the British museum and Sir John Soane's Museum and metro to everywhere you might want to visit.

On down side, the room was small as was the bathroom .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent trip to the Bloomsbury Hotel. It is great to hear that our Concierge department was able to help you make your stay so easy and that you enjoyed all our little extras like the lemonade in the lobby. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

nice people, luxurious hotel, excellent cocktails, super comfortable beds, fast wifi, and the very appreciated express check out, that gave me time for a coffee in the morning. On top of that the location is really convenient. If I have to find a negative I would say that standard double rooms are a little bit small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your recent review following your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially the cocktails from our Landseer Bar and found all the little touches like the express check out and the fast Wifi help make your stay so memorable. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#50 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing