We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep Calm and Stay at the Bloomsbury”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #58 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Keep Calm and Stay at the Bloomsbury”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel for many reasons. Great beds, beautiful rooms, location to metro and other sights, and super helpful concierge. You will like this hotel!
I would stay here again upon returning to London. Restful and relaxing rooms make this a must stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayla-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting a fabulous review after your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    736
    166
    44
    16
See reviews for
415
1,529
163
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is located in a central location, close to oxford street and British museum. Very good service in general! the staff is very helpful. However I had a noise issue in my room (strong noise coming from the AC unit during the night) they offered me another room and tried to fix the problem in a very professional manner. Other than that there is nothing to say and its a great value for price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissyodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting your review following your recent visit to the hotel. I am delighted that you found the service in the hotel to be so good and please accept my sincere apologises for the issue you had with the AC unit in your room. I would like to assure you that we do take seriously all comments and issues that occur in the hotel and are working on ensuring this does not happen in the future. I very much look foward to welcoming you back next time you are in London and please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this stay in more detail on beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The Bloomsbury Hotel is in a great location - near a tube station but in a quiet street. Handy for theatres and the London museum.
All the staff we encountered were extremely polite.
The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice in cooked dishes and also in the buffet. This was one of the best hotel breakfast experiences I have ever had.
The room and bed were comfortable.
I loved the smell of the scented floating candles in the corridor leading to lifts, that is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for recommending our breakfast as "one of the best hotel breakfast experiences". It is always fabulous to know when we meet and indeed exceed the expectation of our guest and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night and had a very enjoyable experience. The location is 2 minutes from Tottenham Court tube station, just off Tottenham Court road. It's an extremely handy location for central London with the main shopping areas on the door step.
The rooms were very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. I'd certainly consider staying here next time I'm in London

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesfisher1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay here at the Bloomsbury Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be very clean and the staff so friendly. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back next time you are here in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

So many London hotels are so deferential they become unfriendly; the Bloomsbury was a real surprise, normal people on concierge, an Irish girl on reception, friendly folk in the cocktail bar and at breakfast, just the job. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christhomson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It is always fantastic to hear that our guests are coming back and thank you for writing such a lovely review and recommending the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Their is a sporting saying.." Form is Temporary.. Class is Pernament..". The form is in relation to other hotel types in London , but to my wife & i.. the Class is definatly & the Personification of Class is the .. Bloomsbury hotel in Russell square. The hotel interior is as the title states is very homely, the rooms , we stayed in a Superior room which is soothing & timeless, when you enter it, you just automatically relax..!!. The same applies for the resturant // bar // & breakfast. the food & beverages, tea ..cofee & beers are top class. The location is great, Est; walking distance to Oxford street..5 mins & within 10 mins you enter the Social Hub of .. Covent Garden..Leicster Square & Soho,with fab resturants & bars of all types . But allow me to conclude by advocating the Bloomsbury Hotel staff. All the staff had a combination of Regality & Family belonging about them, they made sure your stay, my wife.Teresa & i will testify to our recent sta ywith them .. was one moment in time you,ll always remember, Especially.. the King of ..Hotel Concierge,s.. Brien ,folks this person is brillant. yours . Jimmy & Teresa Ryan Tipperary Ireland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you Mr & Mrs Ryan for posting such a fabulous review of the hotel and I am delighted that Brian and the whole team were able to look after you so well. It is always great to hear when we met and indeed exceed expectations and it was our pleasure to help make this trip to London so memorable. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Overall impression is that the hotel does not cost the price. No one is waiting for the guests, so u have to carry your luggage yourself up the large stairs. That's something u need after a long flight for sure. Rooms are big, but there is no character in decoration. Really, nothing special. Room service is mediocre, bar was lacking drinks they've advertised.

Wifi is free across the whole hotel - that's a good thing. I will be certainly trying something else next time in London

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eso4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting such an honest review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations and please rest assured that we are addressing each of the points you have raised as the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is of utmost importance to us. I do hope that next time you are in London you will return to us where I would be delighted to look after your reservation. Please do contact me on beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#55 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,413 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing