We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't feel like it costs the price tag”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Doesn't feel like it costs the price tag”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Overall impression is that the hotel does not cost the price. No one is waiting for the guests, so u have to carry your luggage yourself up the large stairs. That's something u need after a long flight for sure. Rooms are big, but there is no character in decoration. Really, nothing special. Room service is mediocre, bar was lacking drinks they've advertised.

Wifi is free across the whole hotel - that's a good thing. I will be certainly trying something else next time in London

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eso4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting such an honest review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations and please rest assured that we are addressing each of the points you have raised as the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is of utmost importance to us. I do hope that next time you are in London you will return to us where I would be delighted to look after your reservation. Please do contact me on beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,253
    760
    172
    45
    16
See reviews for
446
1,582
171
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We spent our wedding night at the Bloomsbury hotel in 2011 and the combination of the great location, excellent service and comfortable rooms brought us back for our first night away from home after the birth of our son. Once again the Bloomsbury lived up to our expectations. This time we couldn't afford the brilliant suite we had on our wedding night but the room certainly lived up to the high standard you would expect for this price in London - sadly many others do not. We really appreciated the personal welcome from the staff. We had a great night out and a long comfortable lie-in. A rather decadent but well-deserved treat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iluvsoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of the hotel following your recent visit. We are all delighted to have made your first wedding anniversary so special and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Staff were very professional friendly and helpful, Hotel is comfortable and well appointed. For position near the British museum, Oxford Street and Tottenham Court Road you couldn't do better.
We were upgraded and our room and bathroom were very nice, with bath and wet room style shower, also ironing board and iron, tea and coffee making, safe, alarm clock. In the morning complementary coffee and papers in the lounge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmetrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting such a great review on the hotel following your recent stay. It is always lovely to hear that the hotel meets the needs of our customers and I am delighted that you found the staff to be so professional and friendly. I totally agree the wet room bathrooms are a real treat. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is just superb for both the tourist and business man. The location is just excellent - right in the heart of the West End with The Dominion Theatre (We Will Rock You) just a 2 minutes walk away. Not that you would know it. The rooms, particularly at the back of the hotel, are VERY quiet. They are well appointed to boot. The larger rooms are particularly well equipped, On one of our stays (I've stayed on a number of times) my family stayed on one room which had a TV over the bath! We normally cannot get our son into the bath - here we couldn't get him out! The food is just excellent with a good choice for breakfast - something for all tastes. An indulgence - being able to read the daily papers over breakfast is just a great way to start the day. The staff are just great - very attentive. This hotel is very well run and managed. I have recommended this hotel to my immediate family and also to friends and my company. All who have stayed on my initial recommendation have not made any adverse comments. My sister stayed there just last weekend (60th birthday present) and I received text updates throughout her stay to say just how pleased she was with the hotel. My advice - try it. I would be VERY surprised if you will be disappointed. David.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the quadrant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
David thank you so much for writing such a fabulous review of the hotel and for recommending us. It is a privilege to help make a special ocassion even more so and I am delighted that your sister enjoyed her 60th birthday treat with us. We are even more delighted that you enjoy coming back time after time and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. The staff were friendly, professional and went out of their way to help. We were upgraded to a wonderful deluxe room, which was quiet, large and with the most comfortable large bed. Breakfast was excellent, I am used to a buffet style, but here the cooked breakfast is made to order. It was superb. The location is excellent with a tube station within a couple of minutes walk. Looking forward to staying again. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review following your recent visit with us and also for recommending the hotel. We all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the breakfast excellent and the bed so comfortable. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was just fantastic for what we wanted.
We needed to be near Park Lane for a swish black tie dinner at The Grosvenor and we wanted to make the most of a night away without the children.
Traditional good old fashioned service and surroundings, for not too bad a price when booked through Hotels.co
The room we had was small but luxuriously furnished, the bedding was to die for, with the most comfortable hotel bed I've experienced in a long time.
The equipment and facilities were also excellent, with an iPod speaker/charger, Nespesso coffee machine and every kind of connection and socket you could ever need.
Check in was friendly and efficient, and the front of house staff very courteous.
Sadly we didn't sample the restaurant, bar or breakfast facilities but the building is lovely. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlossyBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the hotel and for recommending us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your brief visit with us and found all the facilities in the room so excellent. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel with or without the children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First time to London and had the pleasure of staying at the Bloomsbury Hotel for 5 nights. Business and pleasure trip combo.

Have to say the location for this hotel is PERFECT! half a block from Tottenham Court Road tube station and steps off of Oxford Street, steps away from the British Museum, and moments away from Soho and Covent Garden.. the location is supreme.

The hotel is quite nice too. Very chic and attentive. Almost too attentive.. I can open my own door, but the greeting was indeed nice. I'm not a fru fru type of guy, so the door man was a bit much for my liking, but they were sweet so.. i let them open the door for me. haha.

The room was great. good lighting options and plenty of space in the queen room. Bed super comfortable and free waters/coffee etc and free wifi which worked very well. Toilettries were great as was room service and turndown service. :) the robes and slippers were super comfy. Didnt appreciate that hot water took a while.. and frankly.. one morning didn't get any until the occupant of the room next to me stopped using the shower.. have to also say that if your neighbour is watching the tele at 3am, you will hear it.. especially if its loud.. otherwise though.. the hotel is super quiet and makes a great spot for a good restful sleep.

The TV remote was confusing. Beds super comfy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review of the hotel following your recent stay here. I am delighted that you enjoyed our location, the room and all the little added extras. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are here in London and thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,217 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,069 in London
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
The Marylebone
#63 of 1,069 in London
3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing