We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at The Bloomsbury Hotel. The staff were friendly, professional and went out of their way to help. We were upgraded to a wonderful deluxe room, which was quiet, large and with the most comfortable large bed. Breakfast was excellent, I am used to a buffet style, but here the cooked breakfast is made to order. It was superb. The location is excellent with a tube station within a couple of minutes walk. Looking forward to staying again. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for writing such a lovely review following your recent visit with us and also for recommending the hotel. We all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the breakfast excellent and the bed so comfortable. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,293)
There are newer reviews for The Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,448 - 2,454 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was just fantastic for what we wanted.
We needed to be near Park Lane for a swish black tie dinner at The Grosvenor and we wanted to make the most of a night away without the children.
Traditional good old fashioned service and surroundings, for not too bad a price when booked through Hotels.co
The room we had was small but luxuriously furnished, the bedding was to die for, with the most comfortable hotel bed I've experienced in a long time.
The equipment and facilities were also excellent, with an iPod speaker/charger, Nespesso coffee machine and every kind of connection and socket you could ever need.
Check in was friendly and efficient, and the front of house staff very courteous.
Sadly we didn't sample the restaurant, bar or breakfast facilities but the building is lovely. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlossyBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the hotel and for recommending us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your brief visit with us and found all the facilities in the room so excellent. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel with or without the children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First time to London and had the pleasure of staying at the Bloomsbury Hotel for 5 nights. Business and pleasure trip combo.

Have to say the location for this hotel is PERFECT! half a block from Tottenham Court Road tube station and steps off of Oxford Street, steps away from the British Museum, and moments away from Soho and Covent Garden.. the location is supreme.

The hotel is quite nice too. Very chic and attentive. Almost too attentive.. I can open my own door, but the greeting was indeed nice. I'm not a fru fru type of guy, so the door man was a bit much for my liking, but they were sweet so.. i let them open the door for me. haha.

The room was great. good lighting options and plenty of space in the queen room. Bed super comfortable and free waters/coffee etc and free wifi which worked very well. Toilettries were great as was room service and turndown service. :) the robes and slippers were super comfy. Didnt appreciate that hot water took a while.. and frankly.. one morning didn't get any until the occupant of the room next to me stopped using the shower.. have to also say that if your neighbour is watching the tele at 3am, you will hear it.. especially if its loud.. otherwise though.. the hotel is super quiet and makes a great spot for a good restful sleep.

The TV remote was confusing. Beds super comfy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for writing such a great review of the hotel following your recent stay here. I am delighted that you enjoyed our location, the room and all the little added extras. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are here in London and thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my fourth stay at the Bloomsbury and it will not be the last. The reception area manages to combine elegance with intimacy, a quality that extends to other areas of this smoothly-run operation. From the calm of the candle-lit ground floor corridor to the quality of decor in the rooms, the hotel exudes class. Nor are casual visitors overlooked: washrooms in the public areas are immaculate. Staff are friendly and helpful - there's real charm to the people on the desk - but maintain a quiet reserve and the whole impression is of staying in a boutique hotel. It is not cheap, one would hardly expect it to be, given the location and standard of finish. But having stayed in more expensive places, we would not trouble to look elsewhere for accommodation in London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for writing such a beautiful review of the hotel and we are all so pleased to be your hotel of choice in London. It is always great to hear when we meet and indeed exceed the expectations of our guests and it is lovely to hear that all our hard work is remembered. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Doyle Collection continues to raise the bar in terms of quality and doing a wonderful ambassadorial job for the modern Irish hospitality industry. This hotel is one of the world's best. From the warm Irish welcome that greeted me at check-in, to the extremely well appointed rooms with wonderful bedding and amazing shower, I almost didn't want to venture out to work or to explore the wider charms of London.

My only cause for concern is the bar and restaurant aren't being used to showcase the other wonderful aspects of modern Ireland, like our winning cuisine, craft whiskies or beers, but there is plenty of time to add this to the portfolio.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markgdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for posting such a great review following your recent stay at the hotel and I am delighted that you have voted us one of the world's best! We are very proud to be part of the Doyle Collection and have that wonderful mix of warm Irish hospitality alongside the local flavour of the neighhbourhood in which the hotel is situated. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I travel extensively with work and am picky about the hotels I stay in. This was my first stay at the Bloomsbury and I loved it!

The General Manager and her staff provided me with exemplary service. This is one of the very few hotels I have stayed at this year where the staff remembered my name! The combination of extreme professionalism, helpfulness and quality left me with a very strong impression of this hotel. The quality of the room was extremely high, even by London's high standards.

The location of the hotel was excellent and is suitable for both business and leisure.

I highly recommend you giving this hotel a try. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I recommend paying a little bit more for a better room. They are beautifully appointed with high-qua...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on the hotel and I am delighted that you found the service exemplary and all the little touches left a very strong impression with you. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We loved our room so much, we never left it! We had a suite which gave us a living room, gorgeous bed and enormous bathroom (with fabukous free-standing bath facing a TV set into the wall). The food was lovely so we ordered room service for both dinner and breakfast and we only left when it was time to check out!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie273_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay and I am glad that you had a fabulous time. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,073 in London
2,266 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#61 of 1,073 in London
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $242 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing