We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, clean modern hotel and lovely breakfast.”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #54 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, clean modern hotel and lovely breakfast.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor and I wasn't dissapointed. The hotel is just around the corner from Tottenham Court Road tube, it is a 10 minute brisk walk to Covent Garden and theatre land and is on the edge of Oxford Street.

We stayed in a standard deluxe room, the rooms are not huge but adequate for a couple and luggage, our room was modern, clean and well appointed with a good sized wardrobe and luggage storage area, flat screen tv and ipad docking station. The bathroom was very small and consisted of shower, toilet and sink and it had a heated floor, it again was clean and modern and had the usual toiletries etc. The air conditioning unit is slightly noisy when in operation but it didn't stop us from getting a good nights sleep.

We paid for a full breakfast when we made the booking which appeared to be cheaper than paying for it at the hotel after arrival. The breakfasts were lovely, there was a very good choice and range of fruit, cereals, cheese, meat, pateries, bread, juices etc presented well, and a seperate menu from which to order hot food, I had cinnamon french toast each morning of our stay as it was so delicious and my partner had the eggs benedict and blueberry pancakes which he also said was lovely.

Staff were friendly and attentive, there was also jugs of fresh lemonade and ice tea in the reception area for guest to enjoy complimentary, the lemonade was very refreshing after a hot day walking around the sites of London!

Overall the hotel is beautiful and clean, it appears well managed and the staff are well trained. I regularly visit London and I will definetly return to this hotel not only because of its location but because it was a nice place to return to each evening after a busy day. I would also consider using other hotels in their group if I was visiting other cities where they are located.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlefrog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of the hotel following your recent visit to the London. We are so pleased that our hotel met your expectations and that you found the hotel to be so lovely to return to after a busy day in London. It is always wonderful to hear when our added touches like our lemonade in the lobby are appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,209
    740
    169
    44
    16
See reviews for
429
1,554
165
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week. All I can say is this is one truly beautiful and charming hotel in a great location just off Tottenham Court Rd.
When we checked in, we were greeted by a very nice doorman who greets everyone when entering or leaving the hotel
Rooms were very nice and beds very comfortable. Free WIFI was a major plus. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keegan_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review of the hotel and for recommending us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monemvasia, Greece
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We came to London in the early spring of 2011 for meetings prior to participating in the Oxford Literary Festival. The beautiful Georgian building offers a calm elegance to the bustling landscape of Covent Garden. The first room we were shown to was a charming split-level double room, with the bathroom and dressing area above and the bedroom below. Unfortunately there was alot of street noise and air conditioner noise, which makes it difficult for my insomniac husband to sleep, so we examined two others. We were finally placed in a top-floor, corner room, which was very quiet indeed. The rooms were spacious and well-lit and the decor was tasteful. We had good wifi signal throughout the hotel. The bath products provided in the room were good quality, and there was even an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe! The food in the restaurant was very very good, as was the service at both dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was a sumptuous buffet. In the bar the mixologists are truly that! The atmosphere in the lobby and other public spaces is airy and comfortable and welcoming. All the staff we encountered were friendly and professional. I never had to open a car door, or the lobby door, and as soon as we would arrive back at the hotel we were offered assistance with our bags or shopping or whatever. We held a meeting in a quiet corner area of the lobby and were given discreet service. My congratulations to the managment team that oversee the running of this very smart hotel. Nothing can beat quality and location!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for writing such a comprehensive and beautiful review of the hotel. It is always lovely to hear when we meet guest expectations especially as the comfort and enjoyment of our guest is of utmost importance to us. I am delighted that you found every aspect of the hotel to be so positive and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My second stay at this beautiful, friendly hotel. I stayed at The Bloomsbury for 6 days, end May on vacation. After a long international flight, being greeted by a smiley doorman, refreshments of iced tea, fresh fruit and lemonade at the reception and an efficient quick checkin, I knew that my choice to return to stay here again a year on, was a good one. Although the hotel was fully occupied and my room was not ready, I was able to relax in the lobby on one of the large couches with my iPad as the free wireless Internet access (available throughout the hotel) was also pretty good. My room was quiet, extremely clean, nicely decorated, with a bath which always had hot water. Room service and the meal I had was excellent and beautifully presented. Keep up the great standards, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive and lovely review. We are all delighted that you found the hotel to so nicely decorated and the staff so friendly. It is always lovely to hear when our little touches like the iced tea at reception make such a positive impact and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed for a week, great location just outside of Tottenham Court rd tube station, a short walk to Oxford circus and the Soho.

Staff extremely friendly, specially the ones at breakfast. Very comfortable room and bed, great night sleep.

Free wifi

Having a doorman greeting you whenever enter or leaving the hotel is a great plus :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpfcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review and I am delighted that you found the staff to be extremely friendly and the room so comfortable. It is always fabulous to hear when we meet our guest needs and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Bloomsbury soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business and found the service to be first class all round. It is so charming having a doorman, fruit punch on arrival etc - truly service of a bygone era - think Agatha Christie's Poirot films! I ate at the restaurant and the Irish waiter was really charming and attentive and the food was really good. Rooms were great and very comfortable bed with plush pillows. Not a cheap option but you get what you pay for and this is worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and found the service to be first class. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 4 nights there on vacation with our family. When we arrived, we were dismayed to find that the hotel had no record of our reservation. It was not the hotel's fault--it was the travel agent's fault. We were treated like royalty while it was sorted out. They brought us tea, apologized profusely for the delay, gave us vouchers for free drinks in the bar, and, after our reservation was finally found, they upgraded our rooms! The accommodations were lovely, the beds were extremely comfortable, the location was fantastic, but the staff was really outstanding, particularly Brian. We loved the breakfast and the wi-fi. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review of the hotel following your recent stay here. I am so pleased that you were able to sort out the mistakes made upon arrival and that you found the staff to be oustanding. It is always lovely to hear when we exceed guest expectations and I have passed on your commendation to Brian already. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,067 in London
1,493 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,462 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London
The Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing