We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bloomsbury
Nearby Hotels
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$289
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$306
$255
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$373
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$185
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
$157
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$285
$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,561)
Filter reviews
3,561 results
Traveler rating
2,487
810
192
50
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,487
810
192
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumdominion theatreoxford streettottenham courtcovent gardenbeautiful hotelwest endnespresso machinesuperior roomafternoon teaturn down servicequiet streetexcellent locationwould highly recommend this hoteltube stationcentral locationfull english
Filter
Updating list...
2,754 - 2,759 of 3,561 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed for a week, great location just outside of Tottenham Court rd tube station, a short walk to Oxford circus and the Soho.

Staff extremely friendly, specially the ones at breakfast. Very comfortable room and bed, great night sleep.

Free wifi

Having a doorman greeting you whenever enter or leaving the hotel is a great plus :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpfcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for posting such a lovely review and I am delighted that you found the staff to be extremely friendly and the room so comfortable. It is always fabulous to hear when we meet our guest needs and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Bloomsbury soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business and found the service to be first class all round. It is so charming having a doorman, fruit punch on arrival etc - truly service of a bygone era - think Agatha Christie's Poirot films! I ate at the restaurant and the Irish waiter was really charming and attentive and the food was really good. Rooms were great and very comfortable bed with plush pillows. Not a cheap option but you get what you pay for and this is worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and found the service to be first class. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 4 nights there on vacation with our family. When we arrived, we were dismayed to find that the hotel had no record of our reservation. It was not the hotel's fault--it was the travel agent's fault. We were treated like royalty while it was sorted out. They brought us tea, apologized profusely for the delay, gave us vouchers for free drinks in the bar, and, after our reservation was finally found, they upgraded our rooms! The accommodations were lovely, the beds were extremely comfortable, the location was fantastic, but the staff was really outstanding, particularly Brian. We loved the breakfast and the wi-fi. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for writing such a positive review of the hotel following your recent stay here. I am so pleased that you were able to sort out the mistakes made upon arrival and that you found the staff to be oustanding. It is always lovely to hear when we exceed guest expectations and I have passed on your commendation to Brian already. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found from the welcome we got on arrival to when we left the staff were all friendly and courteous. The room was clean and very comfortable, towels changed daily and room tidied in the evening as well.The location is superb as the tube is handy but also within walking distance of a lot of attractions. The breakfast was superb! and We would be very happy to return for another stay, strongly recommend this hotel as fantastic value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for posting such a fabulous review of the hotel following your recent stay here. I am delighted that you found the staff to be so friendly and courteous and the breakfast superb! Thank you also for recommending the hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during a recent trip to London for our anniversary. We stayed here based on the reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely, the service is impeccable, and the location is hard to beat. One perk is that the hotel is within easy walking distance to everything in the West End, yet is whisper quiet at night. There was no noise whatsoever. Fantastic! I also love a hotel that has some character and style. The Bloomsbury is a throwback to another era, one that predates all of the corporate hotel chains that predominate today. It felt refined yet homey.

We had a deluxe room, which was still on the small side, but perfectly fine for our needs. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the nightly turndown service was a nice touch. (A robe and slippers were also included.) The room featured lots of small touches and little amenities that made it more pleasant. These included a full-sized iron and ironing board, a decent-sized in-room safe (my 15" laptop did not fit), a large closet, an iPod dock with speakers, and so on. The room featured a small desk and an armchair. The lighting system was terrific, as you could control most elements of it from the bed. There was a flat screen TV that we did not use. Two bottles of water were provided daily. Dry cleaning service was available, another nice touch, although we did not use it.

The bath was particularly nice, with white marble everywhere, a full-sized tub, and nice soaps and lotions.

Cleaning service was provided daily with no problems. My wife used the workout room, which she described as small but perfectly adequate for this type of setup. The breakfast buffet was not included in the price of the room, so we skipped it. This seems like something that should come included in the price of a "deluxe" room, but it wasn't a big deal.

My lone complaint is that the internet service, while free, was very slow and often somewhat useless. I wish European hotels would figure out that in this day and age, working high-speed internet is essential, not a bonus. At these prices, I expect to have working, high-speed internet. I'm willing to pay extra, even, but this is really something this and other hotels should look into. It's akin to not having hot water or plumbing that functions. That's a minor complaint, however, and overall our stay was incredibly pleasant. Thanks to the Bloomsbury staff for making our trip to London memorable! We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Our room was in the rear of the hotel and was dead silent at night with no street noise. Recommended!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent stay here. We are delighted to have made your anniversary weekend so special and so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews