We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open more branches !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Earl of Sandwich - CLOSED

Earl of Sandwich
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: We serve our customers "The World's Greatest Hot Sandwich" made to order with fresh top quality ingredients in just 4 minutes. We are lcoated just minutes walk from St. Pauls Cathedral. The restaurant has two levels and the perfect Breakfast or Lunch solution for local offices and visitors to St. Paul's and the local area.We offer complimentary WIFI, Healthy choice foods,Child friendly, Breakfast Menu and Hot Soups, salads, Hot Sandwiches, wraps and snacks for lunch. Eat in or Takeaway or we can deliver platters to local offices. We have a extensive menu to please all tastes throughout the day.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Open more branches !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have recently returned from the states, where we had Eof S for the first time and it was amazing, so when we stumbled upon this London branch (right near St.Pauls) , we though yep we'll give it ago. We were not dissapointed the hot sandwich is not as big as a Subway but they are 10 times more tasty, made with fresh ingredients lots of tasty sauce, the staff are friendly and the service is quick, the restaurant has seating inside and down stairs aswell as toilet facilities, they should defo open some more branches as I will be popping in again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The sandwich I got from Earl of Sandwich was one of the nicest I've had for a long time. It was delicious and the ingredients fresh. For the price I found the sandwich a little small and the service was a bit slow but I would still go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

So glad I had this place reccomended to me. It was bloody fantastic. Great and quick service and friendly staff. My sandwich was made as the guy made my coffee. When I got it it was nice and hot, and you could tell all the ingredients were used fresh. If you are in the area, go and eat there.

Helpful?
Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Popped into the Earl of Sandwich for a quick lunch while taking a bus tour. The food was exactly what we needed - hearty and delicious. We also thought you got a good amount for your money. The staff was really nice - asking where we were from and telling us about the Earl of Sandwich company. Apparently, there's one in Boston, which we'll be visiting as soon as we find it. And the next time we're in London, we'll be back to this location for another lunch as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deebee16384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Earl should be everywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stopped for a bite to eat here after loving the US version and craving the taste of a 'Full Montagu' sandwich. On a Sunday lunch time, it was very quiet and we were warmly welcomed by the staff. Reasonable prices for a hot sandwich and yummy chocolate brownie and they tasted amazing!
This place is so much better than any other UK sandwich shop and I wish they were on every street like some other less worthy chains! Can't wait to visit London again for a fresh tasty lunch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelcds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl of Sandwich also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing