We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for location, very dorm-like”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Students House
Ranked #290 of 862 Specialty Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good price for location, very dorm-like”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good price for location (visited in 2006), quite streets, some facilities nearby, very hostel-like room (we were 12 I think girls) with one bathroom. Not sure since then, hopefully has improved. Staff was very nice and quality of beds was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shasha189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    15
    7
    16
See reviews for
3
3
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had stayed at ISH for two nights whilst I was visiting London. This was my first time staying there and visiting London. This place impressed me as it is near the tube, Great Portland Station. The room is clean; the towel was changed everyday as well. The service is good; they provide you breakfast. The price is also reasonable.

I recommend this place for anyone who looking for the fine and reasonable price accomodation during travelling in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaaNizta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location is excellent if you are really sleeping at the given address. It's just a few meters from the next Underground station. However, they have a second building which is 5min walk and is located in 10 York Terrace East. Internet is free and speed is definitely ok. They provide you with a towel and you have a washbasin in your room. As in many hotels or hostels, you can hear noise from your neighbors. Check out is at 10:00 am and they seem to be strict (at least, I got the impression). You can leave your luggage after check out until 8pm for GPD 1 per item, afterwards I think the night fare will be charged which was about 4 GPD per item.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparefroh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I think this is one of the cheapest place to host in London.It is quite far by walking from the downcenter but you can easily get there by train.Is near to the Great.Portland Street tube stop.
Another point is that you receive a ticket for breakfast of £2.19 to change it for meal.
Clean place during my stay.
You can host there for short or long term stay.If you go for a short term as me is probabbly you get a female share room for 12 beds whereas there is a division every 4beds so it is not annoying to.share it.
You can try it and is good if you are not going to stay the whole day there .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisbeth7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hostel is mere meters away from Great Portland Street Underground station, so proper central London. The price is supposed to include breakfast (starting at 07:30 on week days and 08:00 weekends) so this can be inconvenient if you need to leave early. But in reality it only includes a £2.90 voucher which will not get you a full breakfast. If you want English breakfast, that will cost you an extra £2.50, and the quality is not great, so don't be upset about missing it. Similar situation in the laundry room: using one of the washing machings and tumble driers (one 50-minute dry) is supposed to cost £5 (via a rechargeable card) BUT if you choose a superwash setting, you will NOT have enough credit left to use the tumble drier afterwards -you will have to buy a new card -and loose the £1 or so credit left in your first card! They never warn you about this! An obvious hidden charge. Unusually for a hostel, you get a free towel and soap bar, which is nice. The showers, however... the number of them is just totally inadequate, and since they only get cleaned daily, they are perpetually in a disgusting state. My dormitory was at the end of a very long walk in the basement, dark and in a less than spotless state. One good thing about it, though, is every individual bunk is enclosed in a curtain that you can draw when you go to sleep, which greatly improves privacy. Also there are two powerpoints in every bunk where you can recharge a mobile or whatever -other hostels should take note. There is a self-catering kitchen on the 5th floor. They don't tell anybody about it unless you ask, and for a good reason -it seems to be totally neglected by the management and therefore in a downright dangerous state (e.g. bits of raw meat lying on the counter). It is difficult to use anyway as there is no crockery or cutlery and no pots or pans whatsoever. As for common areas, there is a choice between reception, the bar, and the restaurant in the basement. The bar is often noisy with loud music and it was too dim for my taste. The reception area was cold. The restaurant is the best place to work at a laptop, but it isn't open all the time and can be quite distracting when busy. Overall I found this hostel overpriced and poorly kept. The beds ARE comfortable and you can get a decent night's sleep, the staff come across as professional and helpful and the location is one of the best in London. But I won't stay again unless there is no alternative.

Room Tip: Don't plan on having a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISH_London229, Marketing at International Students House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at International Students House
We appreciate your comments, and all of them will be discussed and investigated further.
In regards to some of your comments:

Breakfast - All of our catering is done in-house and we always endeavour to have as much variety as possible in order to appeal to all of our residents and guests.

Laundry Room – We do try to tell our guests that the laundry cards are for an economy wash only. We apologise if this was not clear at the time of purchase.

Showers - We apologise that the bathrooms were not to your satisfaction. These facilities are cleaned regularly throughout the day, however they are shared facilities and therefore cleanliness may vary through the day and depend on the number of guests. However we will discuss this with our housekeeping team.

Common Room – The Common Room on the 5th floor is used mainly by our Long term residents. There are no self-catering facilities for our short term residents, but we have a bistro and a bar where residents can have breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. The ISH Bar has a juke box and a pool table, and we have weekly bar entertainment including karaoke and quiz nights.

We do hope you consider International Students House again, and would be more than happy to help with any arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was looking forward to the stay at the ISH after we checked out the beautiful pictures on the site. However, the room was dark and dirty, floor uncleaned. Furthermore, the staff at the counter told us that there were hairdryers to be found along the corridor, but these were nowhere to be found. If not for the affordable price and the rather comfortable beds, this would have been a terrible misleading experience. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank awesometayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
As our website clearly states the images are only a selection of our rooms and we cannot guarantee that this will be the room you will be allocated. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find your room clean and this will be investigate further.

With regards to the hair-dryers, they are available on a selection of corridors however they are also available to hire from our Reception. We apologise for the confusion and the inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked a quad room. The picture/video on the website showed four single beds and four wardrobes. When we checked in, we were firstly given a room with 2 single beds. Subsequently, upon realising their mistake, the reception rechecked us into another room (smaller than the original room given to us) with 2 sets of bunk beds and one wardrobe. The 4-day stay in the puny room was a total disappointment which ruin our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerSL_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room you were allocated. As it clearly states on our website the room images and videos are only of a selection of our rooms. Summer is one of our busiest periods and we cannot guarantee what room you will be allocated during your stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#291 of 1,068 in London
6,740 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,068 in London
910 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#517 of 1,068 in London
932 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Students House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Students House

Property: International Students House
Address: 229 Great Portland Street | Marylebone, London W1W 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 862 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — International Students House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International Students House (ISH) is a student residence and a unique social, cultural and recreational centre. ISH is a central place to meet people from Britain and around the world. International Students House offers accommodation in single, twin, quad and multi bed rooms. We are located in zone one opposite Great Portland Street tube station and only a ten minute walk from the delights of Oxford Street and attractions such as London Zoo and Madame Tussauds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
International Students House Hotel London
International Students House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing