We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$200
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$200
Go to your Happy Price
Skyscanner.com
$176
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
579shereec
.
Sheree
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 9, 2016
staff were very helpful and all very friendly. Breakfast was great. Room clean and lovely but a bit small to move around in once you put your suitcase down. Lots of construction work going on on and around building which was very loud day and night, wouldn't recommend anyone stay here until that construction work completed
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$305
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $305
  • Agoda.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
    $303
0.8 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Free Wifi
Travelodge
$121
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.4 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Standard Room
Travelodge
$131
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.7 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Booking.com
$189
  • Hotels.com
    $187
  • Vio.com
    $183
  • Canopy by Hilton
    $187
1.3 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$98
  • Priceline
    $87
  • Skyscanner.com
    $68
  • ParkGrandLondon
    $104
3.3 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Royal National Room Standard Plus Double
Booking.com
$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $141
  • Skyscanner.com
    $106
  • Hotels.com
    $140
1.5 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Trip.com
$115
  • Vio.com
    $96
  • Skyscanner.com
    $90
  • Agoda.com
    $96
1.3 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Restaurant
Booking.com
$144
  • ParkGrandHydepark
  • Vio.com
    $96
  • travelup.com
    $133
3.3 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$149
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $138
  • Official Hotel
    $139
1.4 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$116
  • Vio.com
    $90
  • Agoda.com
    $89
  • Skyscanner.com
    $97
1.6 miles from The Mad Hatter Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in London
Reviews (1,685)
Filter reviews
1,685 results
Traveler rating
765
690
166
40
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
765
690
166
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south bank blackfriars bridge hat factory great location fullers pub national theatre globe theatre pub downstairs tate modern fresh milk london eye good size lovely hotel bed was very comfortable lovely room tea and coffee would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 1,685 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

I received the best customer service I think I have ever got here. (We were the couple with the mixed up food delivery if that helps).
The rooms were lovely with really comfy beds. The lock on our bathroom door was broken, luckily I've been with my other half long enough!
The location is fantastic with a waitrose just across the road and the Thames a minute walk away.
They're building a huge monstrosity of a hotel opposite at the moment so it's really noisy from very early in the morning. Just a warning to you.
I would definitely be coming back once the building work opposite is complete!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank hayleydb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Hi Hayley
Thank you so much for this fab review and even though the food was mixed up the team exceled and gave you great customer service. We are all human after all and mistakes happen.

I hope we see you back once the building is finished luckily for us its not all a hotel but apartments only 2 floors will be a hotel

Kind Regards

Tracey Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Super stay at the Mad Hatter - great location on the South Bank, so easy reach for all areas. Lovely attentive staff who spoke very well & showed interest in our visit as well as asking if 'everything was alright' at meal times etc etc.. Great food & drink,

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H9219MZrobertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Hi Robert

Thank you so much for this fab review

Its great to hear all the fab things you have said about the hotel and the team

I hope to see you again really soon

Kind Regards

Tracey Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Old hat making factory 19th century building in Southwark. Great location easy walking distance to Globe theatre, restaurants and pubs. Had a premium double room. Comfortable, but no air conditioning. Did have 2 pedestal fans though which helped as it was quite a warm night. Tea and coffee making facilities in room.

No information about what services if any the hotel offered or information about London. Breakfast was an extra £12.95 each, although we were offered it at £10.00 each when we checked in. Considering the cost of the room, I think breakfast should have been included.

Very friendly staff on reception. Pub and restaurant attached. We had been to the theatre and wanted a snack afterwards there at 10.30pm but were told kitchen was closed even to guests, not very impressed for a 4.5 star hotel.

Room tip: Rooms away from the main road would be quieter as construction project opposite and away from traffic
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Dear Carrolyn

Thank you so much for this review, im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our superior rooms, unfortunately we don't have AC and as you stated we do offer fans for the rooms.
You can add breakfast for a reduced at check in but I will pass on your feedback about it being included to my managers as a thought moving forward

Yes sorry our kitchen does close at 10pm and we don't offer room service after that time, again this will be something we are looking to change and offer light bites after the kitchen closes, but this wont be until next year, I believe the 4.5 star rating your referring to is our fantastic trip advisor customer rating and not a star classification.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Tracey Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

I visited The Mad Hatter Hotel in late spring this year. Although the surrounding area isn't vibrant - I found it to be a perfectly central location for my trip to London.

Being somewhat of a foodie, and a man who enjoys the odd tipple or two - I like to think that I am quite a good judge of bars. I was very pleasantly suprised by the bar attached to this hotel. It boasts a great selection of drinks, the food was delicious (order a pie here for God's sake!) and the staff were attentive, friendly and welcoming. Special mention to the Australian girl, I can't rememer her name, who went above and beyond her duty to help me with general sightseeing information etc.

If you're ever in the area, whether a local or a tourist, this is a must visit. Hats off to you, The Mad Hatter Hotel!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobbySacamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Hi BobbySacamano

Thank you so much for this very nice review, im so happy that you found the pub, food and service great and I will pass on your feedback to the chef and Clare ( the aussie girl)

Kind Regards

Tracey Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

Easy to get to from Kings Cross, staff very helpful, polite and charming, sorted out parking and gave good directions, bar facilities very good, clean room, comfortable bed, all good, would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JULIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Hi Julia F

Thank you so much for this great review im so happy to hear that everything so great and that you would stay again

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Tracey Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews