We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mad Hatter Hotel
Ranked #201 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Mad Hatter Hotel is located in Southwark near the Thames, where you can go for a very pleasant stroll. The view there is wonderful and the path along the water is specially designed for pedestrians only, along many pubs and restaurants, Tate Museum and The Globe.
There is a bus stop just around the corner of the hotel and the nearest tube station is Blackfriars. We didn't like the walk from the hotel towards Waterloo station because you have to cross some difficult roads or walk underground. According to the hotel Waterloo is the closest tube station, but in my opinion it is Blackfriars. You just cross the bridge and you are there.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, although they promised us an umbrella for temporary use, which was never delivered in our room. The evening we arrived our strong umbrella (that survived some heavy showers in Belgium) completely bent due to an English storm.
The room was clean and cosy. It was a bit cold, but you could manage the heating yourself so that was good. There was complimentary water, still and sparkling, tea and coffee. There was an iron and a hair dryer as well. There was a TV, but no sky TV...only the sky sports channel and about 4 other channels and that's it. But we weren't in London to watch TV...
The bathroom was clean and had shampoo and soap and so on.
The only thing that annoyed us, was the lack of space in the bedroom. There was no place (a bench or something) to put your suitcase on. The bedroom was too small to put your suitcase open on the floor. This was a bit of a problem because there was no closet you put your clothes in. You had to use the few drawers the desk had, which is not enough when you are with 2 staying in the room. Next to the door there were a few coat hangers, but again not enough and not enough space.
Downstairs was a Fullers pub. English breakfast was served there at the cost of about 13 pounds. We had our breakfast along the water because of the fantastic view there and a wider variety of breakfast with several prices, varying from 4 pounds to 11 pounds for full English breakfast.

All in all it is a good hotel and we'd be happy to stay there again because the staff is so friendly and the location is superb.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    452
    104
    22
    10
See reviews for
152
410
53
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed for one night in this central hotel in London. As you probably know, the rates in central London are very high and this hotel seemed for me to be a good price-quality rate. Typicial and nice english hotel with a small but comfortable room.
Bad things that make me not recommend the hotel where:
-Room was very cold at night, heater didn´t work.
-My room had breakfast included but when I called reception to ask the lady she told me I didn´t, once I did the check out, told about the cold night and payed the room, they gave me the invoice in which was clearly written "Room and breakfast". The lady told me that it was her mistake but she didn´t apply to me any discount. NOT GOOD.
For that high rates they have, they should give a much better customer service.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GCJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I'm in London a lot for business, stayed in rooms 4x the price that were dull & faceless. Really nice cosy feel, some more traditional elements or floral carpets, however recently refurbished rooms with quirky styling. Iron & board in room, nice extras, easy check in. Super impressed given the travelodge was double the cost. Easy access to Southwark Tube & 15mins walk to to Waterloo. Will be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkladygem26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We'd been on a photo gig along the Embankment at night.

Lots of great views and reflections on the water but ...... It was bitterly cold and our fingers were seizing up .. we needed a pub, beer and food .. urgently.

I've visited the Mad Hatter several times before (it is a combined hotel and pub) and made a beeline for it .. we even passed a few other places en route. It is that good.

London Price was our tipple .. wow it was good. Then I went for ham, egg and chips. Slabs of ham piled with chips .. topped with a couple of eggs (I'd prefer mine slightly runnier next time please). It was good.

My mate had a pie .. this is a pie and ale pub .. so what else.

Well a few more beers of course .. just to thaw us out of course.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Looking for a place with decent food and decent ale at surprisingly not London prices, well look no further. With mains at £10-12 you really can't go wrong. Take a look at the rooms which are voluminous for the price and especially in London and there is no doubt you will be back. 20 minutes on the circle line brings you here and to cap it off there is free high speed wifi which I think most people will agree is a rarity within London hotels. Once you have stayed you will not be surprised to see why it's difficult to get a last minute booking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Imp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a treasure this hotel is! From the moment we arrived, albeit quite late at night, the staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive. We had a room on this first floor at the back of the hotel which was a great size considering we also had our travel cot up for our 10 month old. The room was filled with thoughtful touches, such as the umbrella that came in good use one afternoon, and was decorated beautifully and in theme with the hotel. Breakfast, although pricey, provided lots of choice with a cold buffet and also hot food to order, that could easily last you the full day. The bar has a great choice of whiskeys and red wine, and the fact it is open 24 hours for hotel residents was a fantastic bonus. We arrived into Waterloo Station and so the location was perfect. Southbank, and The Tate are literally minutes away, and so from there you are again only a short walk away from St.Pauls, The Strand, or Tower Bridge a little further along. We have already recommended family to stay here, and when we return to London there is no doubt we will book here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

good location in close proximity to the Blackfriars and Southark tube stations.... the rooms are pretty decent, of average size.... very nice staff.... Sebastian in particular was very helpful in giving us information re train time tables and printing them out for us.... we did not have breakfast so cant comment on what they offered....
if you want a quick breakfast or light meal would suggest walking to the left, about 100 meters and theres a Pret Manger with good quality organic food as well as a couple more cafes, or walk a little further past them to Waterloo station which has several pastie and other food options...
did try the Fullers pub adjacent to the hotel and though the atmosphere was nice the food was not great... had a pie and mussels the first night.... the inside of the pie was so dry no gravy at all and the mussels swam in a tasteless watery cream gravy.... the 2nd night we got back late and had no option but to eat there again and the steak we ordered was cooked to death despite ordering it medium rate.... we sent it back and they brought another one which was even more overcooked (if that was possible) than the previous one.... they then told us that the kitchen staff had left and they could not do anything more! However to give them credit, the waiter (french I think) did apologise they they did not charge us ....

Room Tip: try and get something close to the lift as otherwise its a bit of a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,230 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#176 of 1,068 in London
2,141 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Wellington Hotel
#499 of 1,068 in London
499 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,068 in London
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mad Hatter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Hatter Hotel

Property: The Mad Hatter Hotel
Address: 3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Romantic Hotel in London
#297 Family Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Hatter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mad Hatter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter London
Hotel Mad Hatter
The Mad Hatter Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing