We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel - nearby many attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Hatter Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mad Hatter Hotel
Ranked #262 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
216 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - nearby many attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable, my room was good, a lot of flowers on the window facing Stamford street, which is the one you walk to go strait to the Wesminster bridge (less than 1 km).
The hotel is near by a lot of attractions including the "london Eye" big wheel, the Big Ben and the Westminster abbey.
The hotel inlcudes a very good typical English pub. Several mentro stations around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Marco i am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and i look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    298
    83
    14
    9
See reviews for
88
242
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romiley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night only. We wanted to be near the mermaid conference centre, so the location us was great. The room was big and had everything we need. We ordered food in our room and it was lovely!

The only bad things I would say about this hotel is its pricey, we paid £244 for the room only! And breakfast was £12 each.

Overall we would stay here again, if the room price was a bit cheaper and breakfast was included.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear kathryn,
I am very glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and your room service with us.
I am sorry that you felt that the rate was a bit pricey, but i am sure that we can offer you a better deal for your next visit !
Many thanks
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent five days using this hotel as our base for a sightseeing visit to London with our late-teenage grand children and were impressed with all aspects of the hotel. The rooms were reasonably spacious, comfortably furnished and in good decorative order; the daily servicing of the rooms was very good; the included breakfast was excellent. The evening meals were also very good, at pub, not restaurant prices.
Access to London was easy either walking along the South Bank, taking the tube from across Blackfriars Bridge, or catching a bus at the stop on the bridge.
If we had a criticism it was the traffic noise in rooms at the front of the hotel, coming from the nearby cross-roads

Room Tip: Rooms on the side opposite the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_E_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello I am very grateful for your comments, and we are happy that you choose to stay with us at the Mad Hatter, we are continually improving the guest experience at our hotel, your kind words will surely be passed onto the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel delivered on all its promises. We asked for quiet and were put at the back of the hotel away from the busy road and it was the quietest night in a hotel in London we've ever had. The hotel is comfortable and casual. Not 'smart smart' but our room was a good size and well appointed. Generous tray of drinks in the room, umbrella, ironing board (!) - all very thoughtful and you don't pay extra for these offerings. Great breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and nice old fashioned bar for late night tipple. Brilliant location especially for the Southbank and theatre land. Room clean and tidy and lashings of hot water and soft towels. All great. Would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mad Hatter H, General Manager at The Mad Hatter Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Alison,
I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the room features, and i hope that you also enjoyed some of our large selection of Malt whiskies for your late night tipple.
Many thanks again,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms that are large for London, great breakfast, awesome south bank location. We love staying here. Oh and great beds! It"s one a busy road so noise can be an issue but more than worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm not really a fan of 'Alice in Wonderland', but after days and days 'wondering' where to stay in London, I came across this hotel. The reviews were fine, not too 'shameful' expensive and greatly located. I'm glad I've opened this door and if coming back to London, I will choose this place. Rooms are not very big but are well decorated and there was free wifi everywhere. Bath towels were really smooth. I only took breakfast there once and it was fine. You have breakfast at the Hotel Pub. I had dinner there twice and food (pie) was really good, it's a must try.
Hope to have been helpful, because choosing a hotel in London it's quite a challenge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arb_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the second time at the Mad Hatter overnight on 31st August, having visited the Globe Theatre to see the Scottish Play and I enjoyed it even more this time around ... The crusty oldy worldy atmosphere of the place, which attracted me to start with, is still very evident but the rooms somehow had a slightly fresher feel to them and the food seemed even tastier; there also seems to have been moves at the back of the hotel, to clear the unsightly 19th Century junkyard, which I remember from before. All in all a great place to stay.Convenient for all of the Southbank's attractions, reasonably priced, tasty food, very friendly staff and with bags of Victorian Gothic appeal.

Room Tip: Higher South facing rooms are quiter and offer nicer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#232 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,731 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark
The Wellington Hotel
#478 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#180 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mad Hatter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Hatter Hotel

Property: The Mad Hatter Hotel
Address: 3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
#310 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Hatter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mad Hatter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter London
Hotel Mad Hatter
The Mad Hatter Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing