We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a real Londoner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hampstead Village Guesthouse
Ranked #145 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you want to live in a wonderful old house, in one of the most interesting bohemian neighborhoods in London, a few blocks from the heath, the Hampstead Village Guesthouse is for you. (If you are a fan of motels and hotels, don't bother.) This is a unique house, still lived in by the proprietors, and each room still carries the vestiges of well-lived lives. My husband and I had the blue room, complete with Brazilian paintings, Dutch knick-knacks and a lovely blue ceramic bathtub, which we lingered in whenever we wanted to relax.

Room Tip: I liked staying on the second floor, which seemed more private and there was a lovely view down onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

My experience of this guesthouse was awful.
I stayed in the guesthouse for roughly eight days, over a period of three weeks.

--The hosts were cold, taciturn, rude, and did not even greet me or my mother when we arrived.
--The bedding (sheets, blankets, pillow) is old and did not look clean or washed.
--the towels are old and scratchy.
--The guesthouse, shockingly, has NO cancellation policy--which means that if you book (as my mother and I did) a room for four days and then are forced to change your plans they are completely inflexible. I was forced to stay in the room myself, without my mother, while she was at a different hotel. I found this totally unjustifiable.
--The showers and bathrooms (at least of the two rooms I stayed in) are very small; they don't provide adequate soap either.
--The rooms are overpriced--I stayed in a twin room, smaller than most rooms in an average Hilton or other motel. It cost 110 pounds a night--outrageous for a private home. I would have expected 60 pounds a night, even in Hampstead, which is not in the center of London (takes 15 minutes on the Northern line to get to Euston).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JustinK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was spending the new year with my French husband and 18yr old son, and was lucky enough to come across this wonderful guesthouse. We loved everything about it...just everything. I don't understand what all the negative comments are about. I honestly didn't feel like I was in a guesthouse, I felt like I was at home. I'll certainly be back and will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosainparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This quirky little guest house is beautifully situation and just a short stroll from Hampstead Village. My room (actually garden hut for single occupancy) was delightful, old fashioned and cosy, but the shared shower-room (access via the garden to the main house) left much to be desired. There was no fresh soap, lots of other people's bottles, hair etc. and it was tiny. In my view the accommodation (single hut) was overpriced, particularly since one has to traverse the garden in dressing gown to get the loo/shower-room, but on the other hand it has a certain charm which many modern guest houses lack.

Room Tip: Ask about bathroom/shower-room. Check extra charge for credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and myself can confirm that we really enjoyed our stay in your mother's Hampstead Guest very much.
The old village of Hampstead is a familar place to me. It was a pleasure to have an accomodation that was 100% Hampstead inside and outside.

A place, so close to the center of Hampstead village and the Hampstead underground station is ideal for enjoying Hampsted and London.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The great advantage of this guesthouse is it's location in a lovely part of London that is just off the high street in Hampstead Village; it is near to the underground and the village has good amenities. The guesthouse itself is in a peaceful, residential road so no traffic passing by at unearthly times in the morning, as in Central London! I love the eclectic nature of the house and the fact that it is someone's home and so feels like a home -from-home in London. Breakfast is prepared fresh and to your requirements.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank CelticTraveller310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is very good and the rooms have atomsphere. But don't expect more than that! The bathrooms are tiny, towels and linens aren't clean and the rooms are damp! Although the owners did some igenious work in the rooms to offer all you could be needing during your stay (warm water bottle, iron, tea, etc.), you won't find anybody when you need it - not even to order some breakfast! For the high price they're asking, you should be able to expect much more than that!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank reisebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
La Gaffe
#433 of 1,078 in London
270 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#638 of 1,078 in London
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,078 in London
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampstead Village Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampstead Village Guesthouse

Address: 2 Kemplay Road | Hampstead, London NW3 1SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $96 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hampstead Village Guesthouse Hotel London
Hampstead Village Guesthouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing