We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, value for money stays.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clink261 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clink261 Hostel
Ranked #56 of 826 Specialty Lodging in London
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, value for money stays.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rooms were clean, nice and warm. However, I felt that the female shower rooms were a bit dirty as there were hair everywhere.
The breakfast was good and well stocked with different cereals and spreads. Plus points were the availability of the Nutella spread that was provided.
location of the hostel was good with access to the king's cross metro nearby and it is located within zone 1. It is also within walkable distance to convent gardens and Leicester square.
Staff was friendly and helpful with directions and also any queries.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Reception team at Clink261 Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Andie,

Thanks for your review! I'm really glad to hear you had a nice stay at Clink 261!
About the hair in the showers, the housekeeping cleans the bathrooms every day, but you know, these things might happen in a share bathroom! Thank you for letting us know, everything helps to keep improving our service.

Hope you will come back soon at Clink 261.

Best regards,
Reception Team at Clink 261
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    250
    137
    54
    44
See reviews for
28
58
229
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had an en suite room. First hostel I had ever stayed in so i did not know what to expect, however, compared to others this was my least fav because it was so noises. Room was clean and breakfast standard with all other hostels I stayed in throughout Europe. Bed was on a slant so I felt like I was going to roll out. Very small rooms, but this did not bother me. Just not my style. Y
I stayed at a hotel in London in nottinghill that was around the same price and really quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Reception Team at Clink261 Hostel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, your opinion is very important for us to keep improving our service.
I understand that sometimes the hostel can be noisy because people are on holidays and they feel like partying forgetting about the others, but we have 24 hours reception, and our team is there also to keep the place quite. Everyone is welcome to ask us to intervene if someone is being to loud.

Enjoy your travels.

Best regards,
Clink261 Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Riga, Riga, Latvia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

It's a nice hostel, the staff is very helpful. Clean enough. Didn't get a chance to see the common kitchen. I would find it hard to sleep there for more than one night, but otherwise it's a good solution for budget travelling.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Filthy. Revolting. Inhospitable.
The room of the hostel we were placed in was a complete dump. The floors were completely unclean, the two sinks were absolutely disgusting, baggage was strewn all across the floors to the point that walking was impossible unless you wanted to step on people's things. There were strange and shady people staying in the room. I tried to stay in the hostel as little as possible, but within the time I was there I witnessed a drug addict and the same people getting as wasted as possible in the lobby. The place was a dump with no amenities. At 4 a.m. some guys thought it would be funny to break into a room they didn't even have a key card to and play pranks on people sleeping inside. Perhaps doing yourself a favor and choosing another hostel would be nice. The place was so bad that I chose not to go back even though I had the room booked for another night. One night is enough in a filthy dump.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentucky-Girl923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Reception team at Clink261 Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi there!

I was reading your review and I thought that it's a shame you had a bad experience here because usually the people find it cozy and clean. I personally love working here, also because of the atmosphere.

I have to give you a point about the size of the rooms, but unfortunately here in London(especially in a central position like King's Cross) space is not something easy to have. The size of the rooms is roughly the same in every hostel. It happens sometimes when the people have big luggage and the hostel is full that the rooms are messy even if we try to avoid this.

In 2012 Clink won the award on Hostelbookers as best cleanliness. Housekeeping cleans the rooms and the bathrooms every day. It was probably very bad luck to stay in the hostel in the same days as very dirty people. It's normally not like this.

I'm sorry to hear that there were noisy people during the night, but first of all no one without a key card can get into the hostel and certainly not into a room, and second, reception is open 24 hours and our team is here also for this kind of situations. We are more than happy to help and to stop people bothering other people's sleep.

If you didn't feel comfortable in the room because of your roommates, you could have definitely asked to be changed, we would have tried our best to allocate you in a different one.

From your description it sounds like it was a weekend in the hostel. We try, in the limits, to let the people having fun in the hostel, but after 2 am alcohol is not allowed and for sure drugs are NOT allowed in the hostel at any time!

Hope at least you had a good time in London

Best regards,
CLINK261 Reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this backpackers... The 1st night was just horrible with a group of people coming from night clubs at 4am and waking up the whole floor. Looks like there's no walls in this building! The 2nd night was better but the receptionist decided to put 2 girls in our bedroom waking us up again with the noise.
Apart from this experience, the backpackers is clean and nice. The breakfast is also very good (toasts, cereals, coffee, jam). Unless the Orange juice!
The receptionist is kind and gives you a map of London very useful for those who want to visit the town. Towel are 2$ which is quite expensive...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kencia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in a private bunk (room 2.04). The bottom-bunk was big enough for two, so we used the top-bunk for luggage. The room was not large, but we weren't planning to use alot of time in the room. There is a nice breakfest area, and the breakfest is good. There are fridges, so one can buy and store whatever he/she likes, to supplement the breakfest, if not completely satisfied with the selection. Staf is nice, and can provide good help to book musicals, tours etc.

The only minus was that WiFi, which we paied an extra 3£ for, couldn't reach far away from the lobby.

Room Tip: stayed in room 2.04, double bunk, but, as written in the review "The bottom-bunk was big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#537 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#66 of 826 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 826 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 826 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#29 of 826 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink261 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink261 Hostel

Property: Clink261 Hostel
Address: Ashlee House 261-265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 826 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink261 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink261 has been redesigned and refurbished making it a London's most stylish hostel. The feeling is East London; draped in Union Jacks, a picture of the Queen adorning the wall and a cosy fireplace, it screams London! Staying with us puts you right in the centre of London, a short walk away from the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street, Camden Market and many of London's major tourist attractions. So if it's the real London experience you're looking for, come to Clink261! As well as offering a variety of dorm beds and private rooms, we also offer:- - FREE continental buffet breakfast.- FREE bed linen- FREE luggage room storage- FREE safety deposit for valuables- FREE movies on big screen every night- FREE travel information- Fully equipped self-catering kitchen- Female only rooms- Lounge Area: play Wii or kick back and relax in our lounge area with its huge plasma TV- Chic internet room: write emails, talk via skype or share your thoughts on Facebook and Twitter!- Laundry room- Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton and Victoria.- 5 minute walk to St Pancras International - for catching an early train to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Clink261 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink261 Hotel London
Clink261 Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing