We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for early train”
Review of Clink261 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clink261 Hostel
Ranked #66 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The reason to choose this hostel is the location, it sets just 5 mins to St pancras train station. It is a place for young travelers and backpackers. I was in 18 bedroom and it was very crowded but still comfortable. The bathroom and other facilities were working well and clean. The breakfast was OK just eat and go. Staffs were friendly and helpful. If you want to go to the train station early and don't want to walk to far this is a good choice for you.

Room Tip: If you want to go to the train station early and don't want to walk to far this is a good choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink261 Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your nice words. We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. Best regards for you from all the staff! Don't forget us next time when you will find yourself near the King's Cross. Have safe (and adventurous) journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 637 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

As hostels go, this is a poor chain hostel, very cramped in all aspects (sleeping, showering and eating). Would not recommend for more then one night. Close to Kings Cross station and London Business Design Center. I stayed in a tiny 4bed room. Beds were very loud, almost too scared to move during the night. Hostels are noisy, but this is something which I feel could be improved upon to make the stay more bearable. The bathroom area was very poor, more like a construction site. Shower and toilet was basic, and very cramped.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The place was very dirty and unclean when we arrived :-( Bathrooms were disgusting. Seeing as room rates more than doubled for the Olympics, surely you could put on additional cleaner!
and the smell!!!! what a disappointing start to a great trip in London!

Room Tip: Try somewhere else. Dirtiest Hostel ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackpackerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Guest Relations Manager at Clink261 Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thanks for the time taken for leaving this review.. Our toilet and shower facilities are cleaned several times a day, however, as bathrooms are shared by other quests, they might not be spotless at all times. Our housekeeping staff work their best in order to keep them clean and tidy, and we have a 24 hours reception team ready to help with any issues during your stay. Enjoy your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. For what its worth, the location was superb. neighbouring with heaps to nearly every attraction we planned. the fact that kings cross is a 3 min walk away also brings the trains from europe to our doorstep. what i liked personally was the breakfast and common room where you could meet young and adventurous ppl from all places including home. stories would be swapped and a personal guide to where ever youre heading is there to find. Heaps of fun, clean and hip.

Room Tip: we got a 4 bed dorm for security reasons. was good to be friend our roomies, and no security problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treepham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Guest Relations Manager at Clink261 Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate your words and are very happy that you had enjoyable stay at Clink261! King's Cross is a great transport hub with direct links to places all around London, as well as national and international destinations, bringing here people from all over the world. We love to see them meeting, chilling and enjoying this great city! Enjoy your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Madeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

To be honest, I found the hostel's website a little misleading. I have a feeling that the hostel hasn't been updated since those pictures were taken, it definitely could have used a coat of paint. I stayed on the 3rd floor, and there was no female bathroom on my floor, meaning I had to carry all my shower stuff up and down to the 2nd floor if I needed a shower. That being said, the awkwardly located bathroom was always clean.
Security for the building was quite good as you had to use your key card to access the front door, the door to the elevators/stairs and your room.
My room was very tiny, and I had to put my small suitcase (carry-on sized) in the luggage storage room because there were no lockers in the room. It was quite uncomfortable if more than one person was trying to get up at the same time.
Having a free breakfast was great, and the common room with the big TV was also great.

All in all, I don't know if I'd stay there again. It had some good points, such as breakfast and the staff were very nice and helpful, but the location made me a little iffy about safety, and the size/layout was rather inconvenient especially for the price. I thought I'd be at a much newer (or more recently renovated) hostel than what I saw.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evejpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in May 2011, and found it to be clean, friendly, but lacking in comfort. The beds were basic bunks, the pillows might as well have been empty, and the four share dorm I was in was very squishy once full. The shared bathrooms were clean, but the showers have only two settings - off and boiling, and the water runs on a push button that lasts for about 20-30 seconds before it shuts off. Still, as my first hostel experience, I found it conveniently located for the trains, the staff friendly, and the downstairs common area comfy. For a 1-2 nights stay it is well worth the money, but I wouldn't stay longer than that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Helo Gem537,

Thanks for your feedback and comments. We are glad you found staff helpfull and hostel clean.
You will be pleased to hear that we have now changed all duvets and pillows, from last month they are much better quality and that results in a good night's sleep.
As bathrooms are fully finished, we don't have push buttons anymore, which gives you full control of the water temperature in shower.

We hope we will see you soon again, and you will have even better hostel experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#565 of 1,076 in London
932 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 908 in London
2,119 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 908 in London
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 908 in London
732 reviews
Home London
#497 of 908 in London
272 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink261 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink261 Hostel

Address: Ashlee House 261-265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $16 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink261 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink261 has been redesigned and refurbished making it a London's most stylish hostel. The feeling is East London; draped in Union Jacks, a picture of the Queen adorning the wall and a cosy fireplace, it screams London! Staying with us puts you right in the centre of London, a short walk away from the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street, Camden Market and many of London's major tourist attractions. So if it's the real London experience you're looking for, come to Clink261! As well as offering a variety of dorm beds and private rooms, we also offer:- - FREE continental buffet breakfast.- FREE bed linen- FREE luggage room storage- FREE safety deposit for valuables- FREE movies on big screen every night- FREE travel information- Fully equipped self-catering kitchen- Female only rooms- Lounge Area: play Wii or kick back and relax in our lounge area with its huge plasma TV- Chic internet room: write emails, talk via skype or share your thoughts on Facebook and Twitter!- Laundry room- Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton and Victoria.- 5 minute walk to St Pancras International - for catching an early train to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Clink261 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink261 Hotel London
Clink261 Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing