We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 Days at the Arosfa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #94 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“8 Days at the Arosfa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent 8 days at this bread and breakfast, Oct 29 - Nov 6. I stayed in room 10, a single overlooking Gower Street. The room perfectly suited my needs, as I travel light and need little room to organize my clothing, computer etc. The bathroom was tiny, and yes while sitting on the toilet you can't close the door, but you are the only person in the room. Even with the window slightly open there was little noise form the road. There were sirens due to the proximity of hospitals, not a big deal. Breakfast was cooked to order each morning. Fresh sliced fruit was delicious. The owners who had only been there for a week are friendly and outgoing. I used 3 tube stations, all within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. Next time I am in London this is where I swill stay

Room Tip: Room 10 for single travellers who know how to pack light. It is up 4 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safirehov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    514
    79
    23
    17
See reviews for
451
409
324
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble, nicely refurbished room. Great selection at breakfast. Ideally situated 10 mins walk from Oxford St. 2 Mins to British museum. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my wife & daughter. It's a lovely old Georgian House. The staff were very helpful. We stayed on the top floor and they carried my luggage upstairs for me (being a Georgian house there is no lift). It's also very convenient to be able to leave luggage before checking in and after checking out prior to catching the train. Breakfast was also very good. Hope to come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeathPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Arosfa. My son of 12 and I stayed for 5 days. Alison and Ralph were always friendly, always welcoming. Although the rooms were small, they were very neat, but very well planned and gave us everything that we needed. My son loved the excellent breakfast that started off our days. The hotel was very well located within 5 minutes walking distance to 3 underground stations, as well as to the British Museum. I already booked my stay for March next year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Key points for me were: value for money and fabulous breakfast.
We stayed one night, arriving late and departing early. The managing couple, just newly started, stayed up for us past the normal staffed times and welcomed us warmly. The room was small but had everything needed - even a small TV and kettle. Lots of little shelves etc to put things. The bathroom was tiny, but got the job done. The water pressure and temperature were great - nothing small sized there. The room was hot - I don't know what arrangements might be in place for summertime but hope they manage better than our stay in November.
The bonus for me was realizing how close to the British Museum the hotel was, and that the museum opened early enough to allow a short visit, then check out, and still make a Saturday morning Eurostar. I will return here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patchcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very clean room. Excellent service. The staff is remarkable. Though breakfast starts at 7:30, mine was ready at 6:15 when I needed to leave early. Breakfasts were cooked to order and very good. At night the door is locked at 10:30 but when I needed to arrive late (after 11:00 PM) Alison and Ralph were waiting for me. Ralph carried my heavy suitcase to my room. There were apples, cookies and bottled water on the table. I practically felt being at home.
The location is very good - just 3 stops on the tube to Charring Cross and walking distance to Oxford street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in a twin room for two nights, the room was small and cosy but very clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was amazing with so much choice as well as being offered a cooked breakfast there's fruit salad, croissants etc its a short walk from euston station and close to the west end and Oxford street. We left our bags in the lounge area for the day and were able to sit in there and enjoy a coffee whilst waiting to leave for our train. Will defiantly stay here again when visiting London.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndsey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#545 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London, England
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing