We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short stay”
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic short stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I only stayed one night in April but as soon as I was greeted at the door and welcomed in to the lounge to "register", I understood why the Arosfa receives such glowing reviews. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast is great. Room 11 was small but it had everything I needed for a short stay. And yes, even though it faced Gower street, it was very quiet. The bathroom was as impressive as those of much more expensive hotels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneytraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    529
    81
    23
    17
See reviews for
467
419
332
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Towson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights, and Liga and Martyn were very kind and made us feel very welcome throughout the entire stay. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean, and the freshly cooked English Breakfast every morning was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the time I arrived until the time I left, I was made to feel at home by all at the Arosfa. The rooms are small (but for London, especially in a hotel at this price that's standard), but spotlessly clean and attractively furnished. The breakfast was terrific, fruit, yoghurt etc, for those who want it or a Full English Breakfast (I happen to be a vegetarian and the breakfast was adapted to suit me), and excellent coffee. There were other small touches that impressed, the use of a comfortable guest lounge with computer and big screen TV, books that could be borrowed, fruit in the rooms (apples), the use of a house umbrella when the British weather did its thing, a very good wifi connection in the room, but most of all, it was the staff that made my stay pleasurable. I would gladly recommend the Arosfa to anyone looking for a charming and comfortable hotel in London, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hughsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel and the area feels very safe. From the window and around the garden are very grand buildings. The sun shone in the window and on the little window box which was in flower. Room 6 is a small double but has a ceiling fan and everything organised to make the best of the space. 5 star bathroom. Spotless place. You cannot hear the traffic hardly at all. Everyone is very efficient and friendly and they deserve to do very well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1302_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Water Orton nr Birmingham, Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on Friday 3 May as I had planned to take her to see 'Matilda' for her 21st birthday treat. Liga and Martyn were very kind and friendly and said their home was ours for the night which made us feel very welcome. When we got to our room, a vase of daffodils, a bunch of balloons and a birthday card was waiting for Katie - very unexpected but lovely.
The hotel is in an ideal location being only a 10 minutes walk from Euston station and only 20/25 minutes to Covent Garden. Our room was 'bijou' but might be a little too small for more than one night's stay. Don't hesitate, its excellent value!

Room Tip: there is no lift; however, Martyn carries the cases upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to Paris and were very pleased with our stay.
The room we had was clean and comfortable but very small by North American standards. I thought some people might not have actually fit into the en-suite although it had everything we needed! Lack of elevator might be hard on some people. We had a lot of luggage and a very kind strong young man carried them up for us.
The location was very good. Quiet but with easy access to all the sights. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Served our hearty breakfast early so we could catch the train. Juice for our trip and heart shaped marmite samples much appreciated.
A great place I would recommend to anyone and we will certainly stay there again when we are back in London.

Room Tip: Lack of elevator might make higher floors difficult for the less fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agatharaisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here again and i'm pleased to say that it still retains all of its best features. the staff are super efficient and friendly, the breakfast is cooked fresh and delicious and the hotel is a lovely home away from home. I was given a newly refurbished twin room which had been refurbed to a very high standard with plenty of amenities and was very comfortble. For such a great location this place is a real find at the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#124 of 1,068 in London
1,220 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#72 of 1,068 in London
356 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,068 in London
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
1,985 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#540 of 1,068 in London
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London, England
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing