We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in London April 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oberrüti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay in London April 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Arofa Hotel. We were 2 familys staying with our teenage daughters. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and our luggage was carried up the rooms. The rooms were very clean and we had nothing to complain. We had a hairblower in our room and also a charger for our european cables which both was very helpful. The breakfast was really nice. It had a nice prepared buffet and and you could also have an english breakfast.
We also liked the sitting lounge next to the front door. As it is a old London House it doesn't have an elevator.
We will definitively come back to London and stay at the Arosfa.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 115Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    514
    79
    23
    17
See reviews for
451
409
324
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Traveled to the UK and stayed at the Arosfa for 3 nights last week. This was my second stay at this hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Great service from Lega and Martin, the new managers. I had an early flight from Heathrow yesterday morning and would be unable to eat breakfast in the breakfast room so Martin and Lega brought a plate of fruit, juice, and some pastries to my room the night before so I could eat early before my departure. It was such a great experience and a great place for a woman traveling alone. They are excellent hosts, offering advice on travel, offer tea or coffee during breaks from sight seeing. A wonderful experience and I highly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Not a place for older people who have difficulty climbing stairs. This home was built during a time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for a shopping trip last weekend and loved this hotel. The local is perfect (about 3 minute walk to tube station, 8 mins to Oxford st and 15-20 mins walk to Covent Garden). Tessa and Atila were extremely helpful providing us with everything we needed including advice on getting around, help with our luggage etc. The breakfast was perfect with a continental style buffet and cooked breakfast made to order. The rooms were clean and well equiped but small (as to be expected in London). The bathrooms are tiny which didnt bother us but could be awkward for others. All in all this is a lovely cosy hotel and I would return for the convenience, hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cullins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been to London a few times and this was by far the best stay I have had. Tessa and staff were welcoming and friendly, and made my family's stay more comfortable than could have been expected.

The hotel is also conveniently located in the Bloomsbury district. We had our pick of transport modes as the underground stations, rail station and bus stops were all within walking distance. That could be said of Oxford Street, Covent Garden and Tottenham Court Road as well.

Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable, and for that we have to give special thanks to Attila and staff for accommodating our vegetarian diets. The rooms were also well made up and clean. The lounge allows for you to relax, read, and use the computers if needed.

I would strongly recommend Arosfa to anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very friendly couple running the hotel - always with a smile and helpful with advise for visiting London.

Beautiful old building nicely decorated with flowers, pictures etc.

Great breakfast (freshly prepared and served bacon, egg, sausage, fresh fruit etc.)

Brilliant location 5 minutes walk from the tube station and approximately 15 minutes walk from Oxford Street, Covent Garden etc.

Only drawback is that some of the rooms / bathrooms are very, very tiny. No lift (ask for floor if you have problem with stairs).

Proposed transport to the hotel: 2 km (< £10 in a taxi) to the bus stop of Easybus from Stansted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BjarkeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great little hotel in central location, spotlessly clean throughout, lovely decor & great breakfast. Attila & Tessa are excellent hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. Very reasonably priced for such a good location with lots of lovely pubs and restaurants close by. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belllbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great welcome, very professional operation - with a smile. Will come back. I like the area too - walking distance to Covent Garden, Oxford Street and Tottenham Crt Road has some good shopping too. The room I stayed in was newly refurbished and that is worth asking for. Only drawback is the 72hr cancellation deadline, which can be a disadvantage.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#132 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#549 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London, England
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing