We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A regular haunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plough

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plough
Ranked #97 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A regular haunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have had many lunch and evening meals at the Plough over the last twelve months and have introduced family and friends, all have been impressed with the high standard of food and intelligent wine list. Lovely location with Richmond Park nearby but tucked away from main roads.
Outside seating for all weathers and the staff are, overall, competent and friendly. Booking essential at peak times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Sunday visits twice in the last 12 months. We should go more. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is the right blend for people to enjoy a drink or the food. I highly recommend this place for the quality of the service.

A walk to East Sheen Common is also recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Set at the top of a cul-de-sac and away from the bussy Upper Richmond Road, drinking out the front feels like you be in a Dorset village. In the summer, especially, it is nice to hear the chirping of parakeets which live in the neighbuoring Richmond Park. The food's good, there's a nice lunch menu, the outside seating is pleasant and the pub is full of charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

During the past year I've become quite a regular customer at The Plough. To be honest, having lived in Sheen all my life, I have never heard anyone recommend it... but now, having discovered it myself, I really can't understand why! In recent months I've taken over a dozen friends for meals there at various times - and every time the food and the service has been great. There is always a nice atmosphere and the menu is changed frequently. Saturday evenings and Sunday lunchtimes especially can get very busy, so booking is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I turned up at the Plough yesterday evening with two dear and long-lost cousins. The place was fairly full, and we were hungry. Although we hadn't booked, they found us a table really quickly (in a delightful alcove - perfect for catching up on the news), and the food was delicious - and reasonable. My wild boar ragout was fantastic, and I'm going back soon to experience the glorious Pork Belly that one of the others had. The service was friendly, and I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piano_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have been coming to The Plough for years and each time we visit East Sheen we always go for a drink and something to eat. The Plough itself as a pub has never really changed and is still worth a visit and on a sunny day or evening it's a delightful place to sit outside. Two years ago we went there and had a very good meal, however, sadly, the food was not good on the Sunday evening that we chose to go. The quality was poor and it was overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BISCUITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

This was an old fashioned Pub which had a timeless charm about it.
The Food (then) was the usual Pub Fayre and pretty good, if not exciting or spectacular.
However it was bought out and the new owners tried to imitate The Victoria which is 5 minutes away, which itself was a former old fashioned Pub converted into a Gastro Restaurant.
The Victoria got rave reviews and became the "in-place" in the area (IMO undeservedly so) and The Plough tried to copy it.
At first The Plough got it badly wrong misreading the local audience/clientele.
It then changed with more sensitive pricing and offering a popular menu.
It also offered more affordable whilst good quality wines.
I was taken there on Father's Day and it has sustained its levels of improvement.
I tend to agree with another reviewer in that they will try and pile in as many people as they can, which adds unnecessary pressure on bar and waitressing staff.
My meal was average - Halibut which was on the dry side and a small portion.
The wines was good and reasonable value (Malbec).
On the plus sides there is a reasonably large outside seating area which is very pleasant.
In summary The Plough is in a nice Location and has got better.
It's still not fantastic and if you go when it's not too busy I'm sure the experience will be better.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#469 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Warren House
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Casuarina Tree
#1 of 1 in Mitcham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Property: The Plough
Address: 42 Christchurch Road | East Sheen, London SW14 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Plough London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing