We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest Sunday lunchs in Richmond.”
Review of The Plough

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plough
Ranked #112 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

After a lovely stroll in Richmond park, my family came across this beautiful pub. When arrived it was very busy, but the staff managed to fit us in without any problems.
The service and food ( especially the half raosted chicken) was amazing!!!
Can not wait for our return.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggieshell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Plough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have been to The Plough on numerous occasions and have usually found the food to be pretty good and the atmosphere congenial - except when it gets overcrowded at weekends and the staff become over stretched. On one or two occasions the attitude of the manager, 'take-it-or-leave-it', has jarred a bit, but we went back regardless. Unfortunately our last experience, a booking mix-up at their end and his refusal to deal with it, left a sour taste. So, that's it.

The problems arise as a direct result of their policy of packing-in as many people as possible at popular times, and having several sittings, to the point where the poor servers and bar staff, however willing, are simply unable to cope. And the manager is unable to manage.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank JohnEdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We walked to the The Plough for Sunday lunch. My husband grew up in the area and remembered it as a sweet little pub with great food. Not anymore!
They reluctantly sat us down and the staff were hassled because they were very busy. There were lots of families with screaming little children. The food arrived and was average. The best part happened when a waitress split an open pot of ketchup all over my coat and my daughter's dress. No apologies until we called the manager who said that accidents happen in restaurants and couldn't basically see why we were making a fuss. Because of all this we refused to pay and walked out not to return to the place again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Plough is a long term favourite. Good well prepared and interesting menu, with nice range of specials and excellent staples like the chile and coriander batter fish n chips. The chips are v crispy as well. Recently enjoyed a delicious chicken and thyme pie with puff pastry. Just right. Staff are pleasant and efficient and dogs are welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This pub has a nice atmosphere with friendly staff who are not afraid to be helpful.

Overall experience was good

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
Thank MadPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Karin Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
4.4 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#441 of 1,072 in London
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#10 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
194 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Wimbledon South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
897 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
3.8 mi away
Justin James Hotel
Justin James Hotel
#130 of 563 in London
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: 42 Christchurch Road | East Sheen, London SW14 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
The Plough London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing