We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple,cosy,understated-so British!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morgan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morgan Hotel
Ranked #80 of 568 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple,cosy,understated-so British!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

With quiet neighbours like we had,nights were peaceful but beware if you are a light sleeper as walls are paper thin! you might not be so lucky!Basic,comfortable room with bottle of water,TV and everything needed for a weekend break.Staff friendly and cheerful.Breakfast is good but a bit on the meagre side:ONE egg,ONE half tomato,ONE slice of bacon etc,...suited my own small appetite but could be a bit minimalist for others- especially when you have a day of trekking around London ahead of you!
A bit reminiscent of childhood holidays in B&Bs by the sea in the 70's- which had their own charm.
All in all,a pleasant experience and certainly an excellent location for seeing Central London.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank catsnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    227
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
91
191
74
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I hate to give anything but a glowing review for Morgan House. We have thought of it as our home from home when in London, as we've stayed stayed there a couple of times in the past. Let me start with the really good things - Location! You can pretty much walk everywhere from the Bloomsbury location and if not, the bus stop is literally at the front door of the apartments, and the tube is about a 10 minute walk. We stayed (again) in one of the apartments, and it's lovely to have a whole flat to yourselves. Ours, this time, was on the ground floor with a lovely new bathroom, tiny but functioning kitchen, large bedroom with french doors to the private terrace - a treat, weather permitting - and a nice sized lounge with TV and sofa and chair and writing desk. The lounge is right on the street, but double or triple paned windows really block out the noise. So here's why only 3 stars - the bed is by far the most uncomfortble bed we had on our whole 3 week holiday. I think it must be a slab of stone with 1-inch cotton batting - at least that's what it felt like. It was a queen size, but neither of us had a decent night's sleep for 3 nights and it took a bit of time to work the kinks out after rising. Sorry - but when it's a B&B the B's are important. Breakfast is just average, but very convenient to those staying in the apartments, just a walk down the street to the hotel and in the cellar. So even tho there's terrific things about this shabby chic gem, if they don't replace the mattresses I'm sad to say we won't be returning. For over $300 a night (for an apartment), the bed should be comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ppw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Morgan hotel is beautifully located in the centre of London in the Bloomsbury area. There is a main hotel,and an annex. We were given a double and a single room in the annex. The double room was large, but as it was located in the basement it was dark. The room floors were dirty and there were no extras like shampoo. The single room was equally as dark and a long thin room with a very small bathroom. On the positive side the staff were wonderful and the breakfast filled you for a morning sightseeing. It is great value for money. My advice is to try and book in the main hotel in advance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my second stay at the Morgan Hotel and it was every bit as good as the last stay. We requested the same room as last year in the lower level of the annex. The room is very spacious, with a closet and an open wardrobe with plenty of hangars, a good size bathroom with lots of storage, a small table with two chairs, dishes, cutlery, and a small fridge. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, and even though it faced Bloomsbury Street, it was very quiet. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, although not always reliable, and there is a computer with internet access for guest use in the lobby of the main building

Breakfasts are tasty and filling, with a choice of both hot and cold foods. Eggs (however you prefer them made), bacon, sausage, mushrooms, toast, and beans for the hot choices, and cereal, yogurt, juice, and fruit for the cold. John served us most mornings and was there to take our order and bring us juice almost before we sat down.

The Morgan is well situated for theatre, restaurants and exploring London. It is a very short walk from both the Holborn tube station (with direct access to Heathrow) and the Tottenham Court Road station on the Northern line. It is around the corner from the British Museum, and a short walk from Covent Garden.

This is definitely my go-to hotel in London and I hope to be back again really soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLKWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very economical hotel for being so close to everything - restaurants, shops, tube station, buses. This is not a luxurious hotel but clean, beds comfortable, drinking water supplied and staff very helpful. Nice breakfast room with many choices for food. If you have trouble climbing stairs, make sure you ask for a main floor room or it may be too difficult for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights in early July. All in all a wonderful hotel that we will most certainly return to next time we are in London. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is that our room was quite small. However the bed was comfy, the a/c worked beautifully, water pressure in the shower was terrific, and the breakfast was perfect, all for a very reasonable price. I do believe the best feature is the location. We walked to many of the sites, and when we were tired either jumped on the tube or a double-decker bus (a must do!) for an easy trip back to the hotel. The tubes are incredibly convenient, and as other reviewers have stated, purchasing an Oyster card is a no-brainer as you can get a refund of any unused amount on the card, at any tube station, when you surrender it at the end of your trip. John, David, and the entire staff were extremely friendly and helpful. On our last day John was even waiting for us when we came downstairs to catch our taxi (which he arranged) at 5:30 am. Can't wait to come back to London, and the Morgan.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the side/back and there were no noise issues whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomLovesBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Highly recommend; particularly, the apartment. Great location, clean rooms, attentive, friendly and knowledgeable personnel. Location made London fully accessible. Breakfast was a treat. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#535 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#550 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#99 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#471 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Hotel

Property: Morgan Hotel
Address: 24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan Hotel is family owned and has been run by the Ward family since 1978. It has recently been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. It is superbly located in the heart of London and is only a few minutes walk from the British Museum, West End Shopping, Theatres and Restaurants. The tastefully decorated rooms are all air-conditioned and all offer new en suite facilities, Colour TV with CNN, Personal Room Safes, Direct dial telephones with modem point.All our rooms have voicemail, so messages can be left for you while you are out enjoying the local sights. Please note that we do not have a lift, so our rooms may not be appropriate for those who require wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Morgan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing