We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!”
Review of Morgan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgan Hotel
Ranked #85 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is worth the price alone - right in the centre and close to everything. The rooms are very small but you won't be spending much time in there being so close to the city.

The breakfast was really nice and staff were friendly and polite.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbrad1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 570 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed five nights and was very pleased with the helpful staff, delicious breakfast, & comfy bed. Around the corner from the British Museum, close to SoHo, restaurants and bus stops. Great overall value. Would rebook.

Room Tip: We stayed in 202, ground floor, to the back, view of a small garden.Very quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bicyclefortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great value for the money in London. I was a single female traveler and they put me in the building that was not the main building, and I loved it! I had my own entrance, then went downstairs to what I liked to imagine was my home in London. The room I was in was very long and narrow, and had a back door to a garden/patio area. Everything was quite nice, was thrilled with the location. The Taz (I think) restaurant next door was good. The only downside not being in the main building was having to get fully dressed to head to breakfast as I had to walk down the street. That, and I really don't know how helpful the staff were bc I never saw them, except for the 2 times I bothered to head to breakfast (not really worth walking to another building). I was completely on my own, which I actually didn't mind too much, as I had 2 friends who had lived there many years who gave me many great tips. This hotel really was a great value for the location, and was very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IheartMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a real find and I must thank all of those that had already reviewed this hotel for pointing me in the right direction, and also the hotel owners and staff that ensure that the hotel lives up to the reviews. This area of London is overrun by hotels, small, large and in-between. Most appear to be overpriced and are reviewed as having small rooms which do not live up to expectation. The Morgan Hotel is an exception to this rule, it is excellent value for money and the apartment that I stayed in was much bigger than I expected. For an extremely reasonable price, which is always the same so you don't have to search the discount sites, I was shown into an apartment with a good sized lounge with a kitchen corner and large bedroom with a standard double and two 2 foot 6 inch single beds. The bathroom is sort of split into 2 with the shower room on one side of the corridor and the toilet on the other. No doubt useful if you are sharing with others. The rooms were in good state of repair and felt cozy, in addition the thermostat was in the apartment and the windows opened so you could control your environment. The road noise could be heard in the lounge which overlooked the road however the bedroom overlooked the British Museum so it was lovely and quiet so I could leave the window open overnight. I only had one minor grumble and that was that the mattress on the double bed was getting a little old and so was slightly hard (I suffer with a bad back so I am extremely picky about my bed), however that just meant that I slept on one of the single beds which was really comfortable. Another point of note, which was not a problem for me, the apartment I was in was on the top floor and there is no lift so it would not be appropriate for those who find stairs difficult. However if you read the website well, as I did, you would know this already. There are apartments lower down in the hotel so if you are worried you would just need to ask for one of those.
In general I would say that this was perfect for my needs. I wanted somewhere to stay whilst at a conference at Centre Point on Oxford Street and this was within 5 minutes walk. The WIFI was reliable and apartment was comfortable and homely. It was a real treat having two separate rooms so that I felt I could relax or work without it intruding on my sleeping space. The kitchen facilities are basic (no oven or hotplate) but the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, there are several supermarkets close by and a cooked breakfast is included in the price, so this is not a problem.
I had to give it a good review because I enjoyed it so much, but I do hope this doesn't mean that when I want to stay again it will be full of people taking my advice and choosing this as the best place to stay near Oxford Street.

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the British Museum to ensure you get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCHeape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in March 2013 for a two day break, and couldn't have picked a better hotel. The price, compared to other hotels in the area was fantastic, and within 5 minutes walk from Covent Garden was perfect.
Our room was spotless, spacious and quiet. Breakfast was really good too with friendly service.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meldevereux007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I just spend a week at the Morgan in Bloomsbury, London. This is a wonderful, small hotel located within a stone's throw of the British Museum. We were given a lovely room (Room 246) in the annex building which was huge by London standards. It had a sleeping area, plenty of storage, a sitting area, fairly large bath and a courtyard just outside our door. There is no lift but that applies to just about every small hotel in London. The breakfast was great although there is not a lot of choice. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about London. They were always eager to assist. The only downside is the WiFi access which is spotty (and thus annoying). The hotel is about two blocks from the Tottenham tube station and 4 blocks from Charlotte Street, home of many excellent restaurants. Cheers to Morgan Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Morgan's location couldn't be better from our perspective. Next door to the outstanding British Museum, close to three tube stations, within easy walking distance of London's theatre district and a variety of restaurants were all pluses. Our room was a reasonable size by London standards. It was very clean and there was lots of hot water in the bathroom.

Breakfast was very good including eggs, bacon, toast and a good sized carafe of coffee. It was efficiently served in an attractive, clean and appropriately decorated dining area.

The only negative may be that the Morgan does not have an elevator. We asked and got a ground floor room so this was not an issue for us.

Next time we're in London, our first choice will be the Morgan Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#548 of 1,077 in London
369 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#63 of 1,077 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#135 of 1,077 in London
1,282 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#415 of 1,077 in London
1,053 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#19 of 579 in London
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Hotel

Address: 24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $157 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan Hotel is family owned and has been run by the Ward family since 1978. It has recently been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. It is superbly located in the heart of London and is only a few minutes walk from the British Museum, West End Shopping, Theatres and Restaurants. The tastefully decorated rooms are all air-conditioned and all offer new en suite facilities, Colour TV with CNN, Personal Room Safes, Direct dial telephones with modem point.All our rooms have voicemail, so messages can be left for you while you are out enjoying the local sights. Please note that we do not have a lift, so our rooms may not be appropriate for those who require wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morgan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing