We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fawlty Towers?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #926 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Tophams is all about location, location, location - convenient for central London and a two minute walk to Victoria Station.

Thanks to fellow Trip Advisors I made darn sure I was in the main building. Luckily I was given 109 on the first floor at the back of the building. For a London budget hotel the room size was okay, the bed was comfortable and it was wonderfully quiet at night. And the big plus was that in London's current heat wave the room was air-conditioned. There was a fridge big enough to store the odd bottle of water plus tea and coffee making facilities.

Okay so there's a crack in the floor tile and the carpet is stained..... the rest of the room was fine and nicely decorated.... I paid £133 a night and for London I've paid more and got less. So I was all for giving Tophams a four star review until the next morning when I came to turn on the shower.... It was a separate shower unlike many other hotels where the shower is over the bath. But only hot water came out of one of the taps and the cold water tap didn't work at all, despite may turning it on full...... So in the manner of a Fawlty Towers sketch I had to run backwards and forwards between the boiling hot shower and cold bath.....

The other Fawltyish aspect to my stay was that when I came back to the hotel in the evening a fellow guest was berating the reception staff for something and it didn't seem to be going in the guest's favour. I don't blame the staff for any of this. They're doing a job to the best of their ability. This is a profit making venture and customer service can't be the owner's priority.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turnerpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    231
    202
    203
    482
See reviews for
146
437
113
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had a very good stay i did enjoy it but the only problem its that GM guy he got a bad attitude and no respect for his guests, and thx to the assistant manager lady she was always ready to help with a smile and the restaurant girls, was a good hotel with a good location , merci bien et à la prochaine fois.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward19703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Bad welcome at reception, sordid room in a separate building to the main hotel, no amenities and rated 4*? Really? I am a Brit living abroad and felt ashamed to know that tourists coming to visit London would go through the experience I had there a few weeks ago. As a woman travelling alone, I felt unsafe and very angry to have to put up with such poor service in the UK. please do NOT book a room here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wishyouwerehere_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I will say differently ignore the bad reviews, lovely hotel, staff are so nice, especially Rosie and Sarah who always have a smile on their faces and where helpful at all times, breakfast was lovely and the girls in the restaurant are every pleasant. I would say the Hotel needs a bit more improvements, once this is done it would be a fantastic Hotel. Will differently come back..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONEYB536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hi,

This was the worst hotel experience that I have had in London; first and the last time that we use this hotel, I would not recommentd anyone to stay there.

I travel to London for business several times durning the year and tend to stay in hotels near Victoria Station, we decided to try the Tophams as we had walked pass it before and it looked nice from outside; it turned out to be a huge mistake.

A colleage from work and I arrived at the hotel around 11:00 am; we had each booked and paid over a month in advance for a double room with bathroom, it was too early to check-in, so we left our bags, went for a few meetings and came back at 4:30 pm. When we arrived the hotel staff took a £50 each security deposit and took us to see the rooms to choose from... the first set of rooms look more like a dorm room with a tiny bathroom to be shared, and the second option was a bigger family room for the two of us to share with a bed upstairs. Obviously we were not impressed and ask for what we had paid for, but they were fully booked and said that did not have more rooms available.

Then they offered to send us to another hotel with more rooms available, we understand that mistakes can happen and accepted, so we were sent in a taxi to another hotel that I won't name as I'm not 100% sure if it is the same management. We arrived in the other hotel to find out that they only had one room with two single beds and a sofa bed that we could take. We found disgusting that they would do that to us, when we had been understanding. We didn't accept the offer and asked them to speak with the manager of the Topham, and to say that we wanted our money back, that we would try to find another hotel. The manager of the Tophams mentioned that they have found us individual rooms with bathrooms, so we went back again.

Back in the Tophams they took us to a sister property 50 meters away from the Tophams called Eaton Square Hotel, the rooms that they had for us were disgusting tiny single rooms with extremely small bathrooms that were also disgusting, one of the bedrooms toilet was outside the room, there was no wi-fi, no telephone, the TV was not working, there wasn't a pillow in one of the rooms, so had to request separately.

By this time it was after 7 pm and we had a dinner meeting that we had schedules, so we had no choice but take what we were given. Definetly not what we had been sold at the booking when we paid almost 200 pounds each in advance.

Also needs to be said that there was quite a few people apart from us, experiencing the same problem on the same day; they seem to be over selling their rooms and almost forcing you to take rooms that are not really what you pay for; we will try to get some of our money back, but let's see how it goes. If we do, I will update this review.

Thanks,

Room Tip: Just find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is located in a lovely old building and the structure and layout has plenty of character. It's ideally located just round the corner from Victoria station and a good choice of restaurants, but those are the best bits. The room was clean but definitely past it's best, every piece of furniture was chipped, half of the drawers didn't have handles or any way to open them, the walls had dents in the plaster in places and the lampshades looked like they'd bounced around the floor a few times. I tried to call down to reception for coat hangers as there were none, but the phone didn't work. I could go on, it's a shame, because if everything was maintained and finishing touches applied, the room I had would be a very nice room. In general though, for a one night stay in London this was sufficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewell120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write they review about the hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are doing everything we can to ensure that the guest experience is improved at the hotel so it is good to receive your comments.
We are making our way through all rooms and currently have an on going programme improve the details in all rooms.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I read the previous reviews but still booked and I accept that the 4 star rating seems 'generous', but for the price I paid I've had a lot, lot worse in London. I've also seen the horror stories about the rooms in the basement with no windows and bare light bulbs hanging from the ceiling, but I simply asked for a room on the first or second floor and the woman at reception was happy to provide one. I accept that I probably got away from work early enough to still have a choice (about 7pm at the hotel). The room itself was large (i.e. I could stand in the middle of the room and hold my arms out and not touch the walls). And the bathroom was a proper room, not a converted cupboard. My experience of the quality of hotels in London is so poor that I actually thought I'd probably go back to this one, though I'd hesitate to recommend it or describe it as good to anyone that has stayed in a hotel anywhere else on the planet. But for London, it's a winner.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM159, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the nice review about the hotel on Tripadvisor and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future bookings.
Regards
Sean H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#309 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#194 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,197 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#652 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#225 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 3,634 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#20 of 1,072 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#382 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing