We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again to this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #954 of 1,086 Hotels in London
crete
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never again to this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was actually a terrible experience from all aspects. We stayed to room 303 from 28.12.13 to 3.1.13 two adults and our son 2,5 y.o.
It is an old neglected hotel. On arriving they told us that they upgraded our room to a better one. The upgraded room was small and the maids were putting the baby cot when we entered the room. There were internal stairs to the bathroom extremely dangerous for our 2,5 y.o. son.

I gave at the reception 50 pounds as a guarantee but on the departing day the receptionist told me that she could not give me the money back because the manager had the key of the safe and he was out of the hotel. She told me that she would deposit the money to my credit card, and I asked her to email me when she would do it. Until today 5.1.13 she has not email me.

The bedroom lamps were not functioning. I went to the reception to inform them. A guest in front of me had the same complaint. "we are waiting for the handy man. he will come tomorrow" they told us the day we arrived (28.12) but on the 30th the lamps were not functioning and a gently boy at the reception told me that they are waiting the handy man! Until we left on the 3.1.13 the lamps had not been fixed.

There was an internet corner with one pc but the staff was working there sometimes!

The reception staff was polite expect for one Asian looking woman who haa a frozen face.
The breakfast was average. The staff polite. One Spanish long curly haired waitress was holding our glasses from the top (no hygiene sense).

The hotel is a nonsmoking hotel. That was ok for us since we were not smokers.
BUT, there is a general smoke alarm system in all rooms. This means that 03.00 am in the morning if somebody was smoking in his/her room, the alarm would rang so loudly to ALL rooms and you were shocked and scared until you found out the truth. At least every night we had one loud alarm awake.

We had a baby baggy with us. Every day the corridor was full of obstacles. A mattress, an extra bed, a big bag of linens et.c. So I had to move all these things every day to pass the baby baggy. Even though I complained nothing happened expect for the last day.

Choose this hotel only if you have nowhere else to stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay at Tophams.
We are in the process of refurbishing rooms at the hotel so they are of the highest standard.
I hope the £50.00 deposit has been refunded to you and I am sorry I was not in the hotel when you left so I could give you it personally.
In regards to your comment about the service I have had a meeting with all the hotel staff and reminded them that the highest standards of care and attention are expected at Tophams.
We are a no smoking hotel and our alarms are sensitive to smoke in the rooms for obvious Health & Safety reasons so when guests smoke in the room they will activate. We make it clear to those who stay that they are not allowed to smoke in the hotel but unfortunately some people, despite our best efforts, ignore this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    240
    209
    215
    504
See reviews for
157
450
114
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Croy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Thanks to all at Tophams hotel for a wonderful weekend
We had a lovely stay the staff and room were great
Breakfast was delicious
We William be back as soon as we can
The hotel is in a great location very Handy for Victoria

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for positive review and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Sean H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was planning a tour around London with my husband and this is why I chose the Tophams Hotel. Such a lovely place! Staff is very polite, breakfast is more than what I expected, and the location is excellent as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for positive review and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Sean H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesborough, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Nice friendly hotel, not sure what the other reviews were expecting, nice building, nice friendly people clean rooms , bit of paint needed but comfy and clean , very nice dining room and reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for main building room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autotune V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel.

We sincerely hope we can welcome you back to Tophams soon.

Regards

Sean Harte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I needed a last minute hotel in London, I arrived about 9 so did not complain as i wanted to sleep. The staff were friendly on arrival. The light bulb was out outside my room and as it was down stairs it was quite dangerous. Two lights were out in the bathroom too. The hotel needs a major overhaul as it is run down. The floor was dirty. The grouting in the shower was old and the floor tiles were cracked.
The area is lovely and very handy for Victoria. The public areas are better kept. I did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I am happy to advise you that as of the start of this week we are undergoing a major refurbishment programme throughout the hotel to ensure the rooms are once again of the highest standards.

We hope we will have an early opportunity to show you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I originally booked this hotel as a romantic getaway with my partner for her birthday and was looking forward to being pampered in a 4 star hotel.

Unfortunately the service provided is nowhere near as advertised and I would urge anyone to read this prior to booking with Tophams Hotel London.

Here's a list of issues of faults in our room / bathroom

* Extractor not working which makes the room very smelly.
* Bathroom taps leak over tiled floor making it very dangerous and slippy
* Flush on the toilet is hanging off. Although it works this isnt to be expected of a 4 star establishment
* Discolouration on ceiling where damp has leaked in.
* Bath has mould around sealant.
* Beds are very hard and quite small.

If you're thinking of booking breakfast then save your money!!! £6 for an instant coffee in the morning!

The bacon and tomatoes was burnt and inedible - the egg was dried up and inedible. Portions are very small and my vegitarian partner almost starved with only 3 teaspoons of baked beans and few slivers of mushroom.

We've actually had better at a youth hostel/ student lodgings at a fraction at the price!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I would like to advise you that at the start of this week we have started a major refurbishment programme to address some of the issues you raised.

I have also brought you review to the attention of the Head Chef and your comments about breakfast have been taken on board so that we can ensure we do better.

I hope we will have an early opportunity to demonstrate to you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

£30 taken as a deposit for chargeable services. £4 for a can of pop which half of ones supplied were out of date! Mini bar was not used and we were told it would be back in the account within 2 days a week later we are still waiting. The ceiling in the bathroom was mouldy paint was peeling off the walls and the ceiling looked damp and as if it was about to collapse under its own weight. I would keep well away the rating given I would say are being over generous.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcusbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I would like to advise you that at the start of this week we have started a major refurbishment programme to address some of the issues you raised.

I hope we will have an early opportunity to demonstrate to you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#312 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#232 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#657 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#484 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#398 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing