We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very poorly maintained hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #971 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I needed a last minute hotel in London, I arrived about 9 so did not complain as i wanted to sleep. The staff were friendly on arrival. The light bulb was out outside my room and as it was down stairs it was quite dangerous. Two lights were out in the bathroom too. The hotel needs a major overhaul as it is run down. The floor was dirty. The grouting in the shower was old and the floor tiles were cracked.
The area is lovely and very handy for Victoria. The public areas are better kept. I did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I am happy to advise you that as of the start of this week we are undergoing a major refurbishment programme throughout the hotel to ensure the rooms are once again of the highest standards.

We hope we will have an early opportunity to show you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

I originally booked this hotel as a romantic getaway with my partner for her birthday and was looking forward to being pampered in a 4 star hotel.

Unfortunately the service provided is nowhere near as advertised and I would urge anyone to read this prior to booking with Tophams Hotel London.

Here's a list of issues of faults in our room / bathroom

* Extractor not working which makes the room very smelly.
* Bathroom taps leak over tiled floor making it very dangerous and slippy
* Flush on the toilet is hanging off. Although it works this isnt to be expected of a 4 star establishment
* Discolouration on ceiling where damp has leaked in.
* Bath has mould around sealant.
* Beds are very hard and quite small.

If you're thinking of booking breakfast then save your money!!! £6 for an instant coffee in the morning!

The bacon and tomatoes was burnt and inedible - the egg was dried up and inedible. Portions are very small and my vegitarian partner almost starved with only 3 teaspoons of baked beans and few slivers of mushroom.

We've actually had better at a youth hostel/ student lodgings at a fraction at the price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I would like to advise you that at the start of this week we have started a major refurbishment programme to address some of the issues you raised.

I have also brought you review to the attention of the Head Chef and your comments about breakfast have been taken on board so that we can ensure we do better.

I hope we will have an early opportunity to demonstrate to you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

£30 taken as a deposit for chargeable services. £4 for a can of pop which half of ones supplied were out of date! Mini bar was not used and we were told it would be back in the account within 2 days a week later we are still waiting. The ceiling in the bathroom was mouldy paint was peeling off the walls and the ceiling looked damp and as if it was about to collapse under its own weight. I would keep well away the rating given I would say are being over generous.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcusbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I would like to advise you that at the start of this week we have started a major refurbishment programme to address some of the issues you raised.

I hope we will have an early opportunity to demonstrate to you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was expecting a nice room at the Colonade, but they obviously overbook to send you to this absolutely terrible hotel. We had to sleep on the floor because the mattress was unsleepable and blood stained! Even the woman in charge admitted that she would not sleep on the bed when we called her up to the room! As we arrived in our room, I needed the bathroom but the toilet had obviously not been cleaned from the previous person as it had horrible stains on it. So I called the reception and asked for someone to come clean it. With a knock on the door a young lady arrives with no cleaning things to magically clean it. She simply took a dry piece of toilet paper and started spreading the pee stains that were still drops around the rim. As I asked her what the heck she is doing, she replied, I am not a cleaning woman. So I asked her to bring me some cleaning spray so I can finally use the toilet. As the lady was there I asked if there was anyway to turn the loud "brumming" noise off coming from the ventilation as it was like being on a cruise ship. We turned all the switches off and the temperature control with no luck, in fact even from the main computer at the front desk it was impossible. The room itself had a small closet that was hanging off and inside was a mini bar and a broken safe. A TV was pointing against the wall in the wrong direction and couldn't be moved so watching anything was impossible unless you stood against the wall. The bath had brown stains, because the tap constantly dripped, but with that said, if it were to be cleaned every day then the brown stains would not have been there. When we complained, we were asked if we wanted to speak with the management, I said yes and the answer was ok but they are not here on weekends. Then although I had already paid they asked for my credit card or a payment. Luckily I had read tripadvisor and denied. The night was an absolute nightmare, the bed itself was nothing but springs, there was absolutely no padding between the springs and the sheet itself. Upon checking I also noticed that the mattress was full of horrible blood stains. When I complained about that, even the lady in charge said she would not and couldn't sleep on it herself! Again I asked for the management to contact me and I demanded a refund for having to sleep on the floor but obviously they have no intention of doing that. I left a message for the management with my email and my telephone number and nobody called. As for the breakfast, even that went wrong. For the two of us we got 5 slices of cold toast, 2 incredibly small croissants and marmalade. The butter was bought after we were finished! Don't be fooled by the location, the nice reception and the wallpaper that make it look like a 3 star hotel, as I wouldn't even give this 2 stars. As for the price in exchange for what you get, disgraceful!!! I highly recommend if you want to enjoy your weekend in London to stay elsewhere and save yourself the anger you will get if you stay here. Even as we left and I said, it's a shame things didn't work out, I know you are only a worker, so have a nice day and bye, the reception lady couldn't even say bye back. Luckily I made a complete video review which is much more detailed and shows you the real state this place is in and everyone can decide for themselves. As for me, I still demand my money back!

Room Tip: Do not choose room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I was horrified to read about your experience, rest assured we have taken steps to ensure all aspects of a guests stay are improved at Tophams.

I hope we will have an early opportunity to demonstrate to you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had a pleasant Stay .... Rood was clean and the staff was very friendly ... Great location .. for sign seeing ... all walking distance, I stayed for 3 night .... and enjoyed the Breakfast ... I would Recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel

We hope we can welcome you back to Tophams very soon

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

When you read these reviews you will automatically imagine its a hotel from hell. But you will pleasantly surprised it's really not. I stayed here last week over nye for two nights. Now this place ain't the ritz nor is it a four star. It's more of a large 3 star b n b rather then a hotel feel about it. The staff are a little unorganised though il admit that. But the rooms are pleasant and I didn't find any evidence of dirtiness they were very well presented and a good size and the beds were more then adecuite.
Good things; fantastic location, brilliant sized bathroom, nice room, homely feel about the place.
Bad things; unorganised staff at times, very expensive bar £4 can of pop.
I've stayed in City hotels all over the world from five stars to really bad ones, so I'm very aware what amazing is and what terrible is and this hotel is comfortably fine. Don't believe the bad reviews as I didn't find it bad at all, I do advice to email ahead and request a room in the main hotel, I stayed in room 308 and it was lovely room.
I shall be using the hotel again as it's great value.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am delighted you were happy with your stay.

I hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to Tophams

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

No welcome greeting, or in fact acknowledgement that we were waiting to be seen on arrival, check in was brusque to the point of rudeness. Also a £50 deposit had to be paid - despite the fact we had paid in advance for the room and breakfast - this is an old fashioned approach which we have not encountered in years. Access to lift was mostly blocked by a christmas tree far too large for the space which hampered access to the lift. Lighting in the stairwell was dim and staircases themselves were narrow. Room was very cramped, tv did not work, bed was so squishy it offered no support, had a child with us and they literally wedged a broken fold out bed right next to the double which meant we had to wedge ourselves along the wall to get round to the bathroom which had faulty lights, damp and mouldy smell, rotten damp patches on the ceiling - also in the ceiling of the main bedroom too. Shower ran hot and cold with no warning and the head of the shower came off while my husband was in the shower and he had to fix it there and then!
Breakfast was a joke see other reviews too. After waiting over 30 mins to get a table, we were sat at a dirty table. We had paid full price to include breakfast - with all other hotels we have stayed at this has given us plenty of choice and selection. They then said our prepaid breakfast meant we could only have the continental breakfast at £15.95 per head....at this price you would think you would still get a good choice, but we were rudely informed this would get us cereal and some fruit.......hardly £15.95 worth! We then asked if we could have the full english instead and told it would cost an extra £4 each, we agreed thinking that at least we would have a decent breakfast to get keep us going. With one very cheap nasty sausage filled with gristle, 1 individual slice of bacon, half a tomato, 4 individual mushrooms, a small spoon of scrambled egg and a frozen and fried hash brown it was done on the cheap and only lukewarm. Service was very poor - forgotton cutlery, almost no staff spoke clear english and obviously didn't give a monkeys about the guests. Service overall was very poor and food was atrocious. Price was far too expensive.....only thing this hotel has going for it is its location - just outside victoria train station. A shame as it spoiled our stay and only night in London.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c0ffeequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tophams186338, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay.

I would like to advise you that at the start of this week we have started a major refurbishment programme to address some of the issues you raised.

I have also brought you review to the attention of the Food and Beverage Manager and your comments about breakfast have been taken on board so that we can ensure things are improved in this area.

I hope we will have an early opportunity to demonstrate to you that things have improved.

Regards
Sean Harte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#328 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#462 of 1,077 in London
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#191 of 1,077 in London
4,239 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#406 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $100 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing