We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff need to learn Customer service skills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #973 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend at The Topham Hotel. I have never written a review before but I really felt I needed to after this weekend. The hotel is in a great location but that all it has going for it. The staff simply couldn't care less about the guests!! We had light bulbs missing & broken plug sockets. We ask to order a drink at the hotel bar (which we were told was open 24hrs) at 10.30pm on Friday night to be told that the hotel had completely run out of every kind of Alcoholic beverage. The weekend before Christmas???? The duty manager made some of excuse that their delivery had not arrived?! When we looked at the bar it was very clear that is had not been stocked for weeks!!
Breakfast was worst! Food was dreadful and service just the same! We walked out of breakfast without eating and ended up going to a Starbucks to get something!!
This hotel could be great but the staff and their lack of care is what lets it down. I would definitely never every stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night after booking through laterooms.com. We didn't pay full price, and I think if we had I would have been very disappointed. Receptionist was rude, talking on the phone and not acknowledging us for well over 5 minutes. When she did, she insisted on charging a deposit for our room (£100 on top of the room rate which we had already paid). We refused to do this. We were directed to our room but not shown to it or offered help with our bags. Although we only had overnight things, this should be standard practice in a good hotel. Room was small, but clean and nicely furnished. I think Tophams are a little above their station, but fine for a quick stay especially as Victoria station is so close.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last weekend and the hotel staff were really friendly but the room had severe damp next to the light switch which I felt was dangerous also the shower in the bath room was damaged and couldn't be raised above 5.8 feet and being 6 feet tall wasn't practical. The shower also leaked so the water pressure wasn't great either. The toilet was right next to a scolding hot radiator which means when you sat down you burnt yourself. This was in room 305. This may be a 4 star hotel but not worth the £400 per night price tag!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My brother and I were booked into this hotel via the excellent dhr.com website. We had two single rooms booked. Upon arrival, the receptionist told us that only one single room was booked. I had my voucher from dhr which clearly showed two single rooms, each with our name against it. But the receptionist - who would struggle to win a Miss Charming 2013 nomination - refused to accept this, even when I then went and printed out the payment receipt of USD 170.00, explaining to her that this was USD 85 per room. Somewhat snootily she informed me that I could hardly expect to get a room at the Tophams for £46 (the equivalent of USD 85) per night. Finally, she took a pre-authorisation of £100 (about USD 150) on my credit card and gave my brother and me a twin room. This was less than ideal as, at my age, I am forced to get up a couple of times per night, but there was no other availability at the hotel. The receptionist informed me she would check the next day with the booking agency to verify what I had - I thought - already proven to her.

And now to the room. Where did this hotel get four stars? Four stars on Pluto, maybe. The bedroom carpet was darkly stained at the entrance with some unimaginable liquid. The wallpaper was torn in several places. I've stayed in better no-star accommodation. The hotel presents an imposing facade but that is all. Never again.

To add insult to injury, the hotel emailed me that I had indeed booked two single rooms and that, therefore, my credit card would not be debited. No apology, no explanation. I have total confidence that dhr.com were not in the wrong as I have used this booking agency before and never had a problem with them. I am sure that it was the hotel's fault. And, now, I discover that the hotel has "taken" £14 from my credit card - without explanation, without authorisation, no minibar or anything like that used, and despite having written to me saying my credit card would not be debited. I have emailed them for an explanation but, four days later and as of writing this view, not the courtesy of a reply.

Caveat emptor!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I found this hotel last minute online and had heard there had been a huge refurbishment on the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised as I know the standard of some Victoria hotels and it can be hit or miss often. I got offered a free upgrade to junior suite and i will def be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suecarey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The weird thing is that everything else about the hotel is good and they are clearly working hard on the guest experience. But never have I seen a worse condition of bathroom


The basement rooms are built in part under the road. My bathroom had horrendous damp problems. It had a lovely large bath, and I thought I'd risk a bath. But by the time I ran it , it wad full of mouldy paint and plaster.

So I decided to have a shower. But the cold tap seemed not to work. Then the shower head blew off under the admittedly admirable water pressure. This left me to take the full force of seriously hot water straight in the chest. I tried to get out but the shower door fell of its runners! So despite a spacious bathroom I refitted to washing in the sink.

I did report this on check out and the receptionist tried to act surprised but I am sure they have same complaint daily.

I am sure the mould is a costly problem but they cannot charge £100 for a mouldy room. If you doubt my objectivity please do look at the photos I am submitting.

Over wise staff , reception, bedroom, breakfast all good.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank farmerwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having checked the website and booked via late rooms I found myself in room 7 of the annex, how very disappointed I was.
Mis match of furniture, double headboard with spaced apart twin beds, no valance to hide the mattress, stains on the ceiling in at least 3 places and the TV did not work.
I must have been really close to the kitchen as when I opened the door the smell of cooked fish hit me.
The toiletries were limited, no shower cap and just basic's nothing to warrant the supposedly 5 star with 4 star prices as advertised on the website.
Late rooms claimed this room was over £700 for the night down to a bargain price of £170ish with breakfast included, I got to the restaurant and was offered the continental option only, with a whopping £8 for a yoghurt as an extra, along with the £4 for a small bottle of water from the mini bar - Totally Extortionate.
The Crowne Plaza London Docklands is further to travel, cheaper with fantastic rooms and service, the Tophams could do with paying them a visit to see how it should be done.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#327 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#462 of 1,077 in London
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,077 in London
4,238 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#407 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $109 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing