We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but just not very comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #944 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“OK, but just not very comfortable.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Our experience here wasn't as bad as some of the other reviewers. However, it wasn't perfect either. Our main disappointment was how small our room was. Even given the fact that many London hotel rooms are small (I stay in London frequently), this one was very small. There was very little room to manoeuvre around the bed which made the whole experience uncomfortable. The whole hotel just felt cramped & you felt like you needed to go outside to breath.

The decor of the hotel is very nice, but it does certainly need some redecorating in places. For instance, there were a lot of water marks on our ceiling which looked awful.

Breakfast was acceptable & the waitresses were very polite & friendly. The reception staff were OK if not a little officious. I would recommend a bit more warmth towards their guests.

All in all, an OK stay. Would I stay here again? Yes, but only if I found an amazingly low price deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    242
    217
    215
    511
See reviews for
159
461
116
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Booked this through Lastminute.com as one of their Top Secret hotels which described it as a luxury 4 * hotel. Once we knew the hotel we would be in we looked at their website and it looked like just what we wanted for the start of our honeymoon. On arrival first impressions are good although the reception staff were not over friendly and there was no offer of help with luggage. We went to our room (305) and were instantly disappointed. The room was so small that the bed was against the wall on one side so no bedside table. The furniture was chipped and tatty and handles were broken or missing, carpets were old and stained. We noticed that there was tea and coffee in the room but no kettle so on our way out to eat asked for a kettle. When we came back we looked or extra pillows as there were only two on the bed and then we realised that his was really meant to be a single room but passed off to us as a double as it only had a 4" bed. Tried to call Last Minute but their offices were now closed so went down to reception. They moved us to a new room (111), again no offer of help with luggage. This room was bigger but the state of the furniture was no better. Again there was no kettle so we brought the one from the first room along with the milk which was not available in the new room. It was only on going to make a drink we discovered that there was no spoons so had to go down to reception to ask for some. No apology just excuses from reception. Both of these rooms were in the main hotel and are obviously better than the rooms that many describing but they were not 4*, not even sure we would give them 3*. We would not be surprised if they are not actually rated at his current time but using old information.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColnbrookTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room was in the cellar, with no windows. It was stinking of damp.
It was almost completely dark with very scarce lighting and there was not ONE hanger or hook anywhere to even hang a coat.
Paint was coming off the walls in the shower.
The service was indifferent to any complaints.
It is a robbery to charge 150 pounds per night for this dump, it should cost no more that 15!!!
NEVER EVER go there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmendyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We called this hotel to try and book directly and were spoken to by a very bored unhelpful lady who would rather we booked on the internet and the hotel pay the commission fee than book directly. Which we then did but we should have known this attitude would continue once we arrived, they really didn't care. The girls on reception were far too concerned with ducking out the back to whisper and giggle than assist guests and were far from welcoming. Our 'Deluxe' room was shabby and tiny even by London standards although nicely decorated. Breakfast the next day was a fraught affair with staff not coping well with maintaining the pretty poor selection of food and the room was in need of a good clean. I wouldn't stay here again and would suggest that the staff be retrained as a matter of urgency.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlaith_palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I was given a voucher for afternoon tea with champagne at this hotel for my birthday. Luckily for me my daughter lives in london so I didn't have to pay for accommodation in order to use it! Overall, a real disappointment- I cannot seriously believe this tea is ever sold at its advertised price of £64 and can only think its a 'voucher' special! Egg, cream cheese and cucumber + cream cheese and tomato! A scone and cakes that could be found at a Costco near you! Will tell my friends it was fab but if you're thinking of getting one of these vouchers for a friend of yours, don't bother - just give her the money towards a real afternoon tea!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I visited Tophams yesterday for afternoon tea with my mother and, having read the previous reports, was pleasantly suprised at the surroundings and the standard of the tea. The staff were friendly and helpful and the dining room pleasant. The sandwiches were fresh and the cakes delicious - there were too many for us to eat!

There were several other people who all seemed to be enjoying their tea. We had booked on a KGB deal and felt it was very good value. I hope others are not put off going to Tophams by the previous bad reviews which, in my mind, are unfounded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I really hope that people travelling from overseas to our capital city and with the misfortune to stay at this hotel do not believe that the service offered by Tophams is representative of what you can expect from other hotels and services in England and the wider UK.
When I arrived at this hotel, there was already a group of people arguing with the Reception staff about the quality of their room. After quite a lengthy wait I was forced to interrupt this public argument as I wanted to check in...only to be told that they didn't have a room for me, although I had already paid for it. They said they had found me a room at another hotel; eventually a taxi came and I was on my way to Hotel No. 2. Whilst in the taxi, the Hotel called to say they were sending us to a different Hotel - No. 3. I arrived at my hotel 2 hours after I first arrived at Tophams and at a location in W2 rather than SW1W and only a 3*. I had to cancel my previously arranged breakfast meeting as this hotel was too remote. I have been promised full refunds, however, I am still waiting! Do not use this hotel! I sincerely hope they will invest in some training for their staff. I cannot comment on the state of the rooms as I never got past the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#314 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#672 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#246 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#398 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing