We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant Central London Hotel - Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #978 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited London few days ago with my boyfriend and we stayed at Tophams for couple of nights + breakfast included.
I paid for the hotel in advance for a very reasonable price and was very pleased with the choice. If you are visiting London for any reason the location is just perfect. We arrived on Tuesday morning and been greeted by a lovely reception staff who were very helpful and let us check in straight away even tho it was only 9am. The room was tidy and had everything you need: an iron-iron board-hairdryer-shower-bath-towels-spare blanket and comfy bed(they have adapters at the reception as well). We requested wake up call at 9 am just so we don't stay in bed all day and miss our breakfast. The breakfast on our first morning was lovely with wide variety of cereals, fruits and juices. For the second morning we went for full English which was also spot on. Just what we needed after a night out. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lovely boutique hotel to my friends and family. PS: The Afternoon Tea looked great !

Room Tip: First floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews I was dreading what I would find at Tophams. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by my stay there. The room was small but clean and very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was not fancy but did have a good variety of cereals, juices, pastries and fruit. The location was excellent, and I got a decent price through the internet. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As a Brit (actually a Scot, but no excuses) I was appalled and embarassed that this hotel should be offered to guests and especially to foreigners coming to my country. We were a party of five in town for a business meeting, so luckily only stayed one night. We paid GBP 189 per head.I will keep it short:

- smell of urine in the room
- bedside light didn´t work
- no remote control for tv and it appeared not to work anyway
- shower only produced scalding hot water
- my American colleague (who unfortunately had to stay two nights) had mentioned that he woke up thinking there was a woman in his room. He was not so lucky - the woman was next door. The walls are paper thin.
- I was in the basement under reception and there appears to be no sound-proofing in the roof either - I heard everybody come & go during the night
- when I complained about some of the above on checking out I was not given an apology, but told that she would "send somebody to look at it"
I don´t have time to write to Boris Johnson or the authorities, but I hope that I save somebody else from spending their hard-earned cash here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DerSchotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked three rooms here for a business trip on lastminute.com, as a Secret Hotel. It was described as a "charming boutique hotel with great service". This description is laughable. We arrived at about 7.30pm - the reception area is small but presentable. We then had to wait for nearly half an hour to be checked in. At 7.30pm and in the age of technology this is an unacceptable waiting time. While we were waiting (we weren't offered a drink from the adjacent bar, which would have made the wait more bearable), we witnessed three ladies who had booked rooms be told that their rooms weren't ready. The ladies were very irate; I think they might have been previously made aware that the room wouldn't be ready until a certain time, however it appeared that this time had passed and the room still wasn't ready. Instead of being apologetic towards the customers and offering them refreshments in the bar (this tactic really does wonders!) they very rudely told the ladies to wait elsewhere until it was ready, and that it wasn't their fault the room was late. The whole thing made us feel very uncomfortable.

Now to the rooms. We were taken outside of the hotel, walked five or six doorways down the street, and then into another door entitled "Belgravia Mews Hotel". The corridor reminded me of my university halls of residence, and the rooms were no better. Small, pokey, dated, shabby, but worse of all, DIRTY! There were long black hairs in my shower and in the sink, and my colleague said there was actually a poo in their toilet! Nothing charming or boutique about that!
There is no way they could even have considered cleaning the bathrooms.

I dreaded to think what state of cleanliness the beds were in but needless to say we did not stay the night - we complained at reception (with photographs, I am blond so there was no argument about the long black hairs in shower) and the receptionist (who was a different one to the ones there when we checked in) apologised and booked us out to their sister hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fawlty Towers without the humour. Staff [most appeared inexperienced] tried hard to make something of this mess but there is just too much to attend to. The location is OK but then, so is Victoria [station] and London is only a square mile in area. We were initially placed in a garret which was upgraded after protesting. We refused to pay more. Breakfasts were skimpy, poorly presented and monotonous; dining cramped; replacement toiletries were only provided on request [after 5 nights]; shower leaked tremendously; lift broken; kettle [much-used with broken lid] made available on request; room barely coped with us AND our small pieces of luggage. Whoever awarded this hotel four stars has completely misrepresented and misjudged the accommodation.

Room Tip: You'll be paying for four star don't be timid about getting some value for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Rooms and decor very Victorian, small and cramped and a bit claustrophobic but reasonably clean and comfortable. Wifi & internet work in room. Minibar larcenous - don't even open the fridge. Everything is falling apart a bit and singly in silly wasy: drape drawstring only works on one side, shower glass leaks, no remote control for TV (or, if one asks for one, it doesn't work), not even a little pad of paper and pen by the phone. The only reason why one would stay here than elsewhere is if one really wants this location. 5 min walk to Victoria station.

Room Tip: Book far in advance, request specifics, and get approvals in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have absolutely no idea how this hotel is considered a 4* hotel. We arrived at 4pm (check in begins at 1) and there were no rooms ready. So we sat to wait, and were forgotten about. 30 minutes later we reminded them we were waiting and they put us in a dirty room. We complained and they moved us to another room.

The TV was next to the bed instead of at an angle that is even possible to watch. The air conditioning didn't work and when we complained about the room temperature and asked for a fan, they told us the rooms were climate controlled so that should be enough.

Not only that, but the 'pre-authorisation' on my credit card took 4 business days to return to my account. Absolutely unacceptable, and I have yet to have that happen at another hotel I've stayed at in London, or even in the UK for that matter.

This hotel was one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in my life. Don't waste your time and money on this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rae1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#330 of 1,081 in London
1,712 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#230 of 1,081 in London
4,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#482 of 1,081 in London
140 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#408 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $102 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing