We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT good: written 14/10/12”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Ranked #944 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is NOT good: written 14/10/12”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fawlty Towers without the humour. Staff [most appeared inexperienced] tried hard to make something of this mess but there is just too much to attend to. The location is OK but then, so is Victoria [station] and London is only a square mile in area. We were initially placed in a garret which was upgraded after protesting. We refused to pay more. Breakfasts were skimpy, poorly presented and monotonous; dining cramped; replacement toiletries were only provided on request [after 5 nights]; shower leaked tremendously; lift broken; kettle [much-used with broken lid] made available on request; room barely coped with us AND our small pieces of luggage. Whoever awarded this hotel four stars has completely misrepresented and misjudged the accommodation.

Room Tip: You'll be paying for four star don't be timid about getting some value for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    242
    217
    215
    512
See reviews for
160
461
116
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Rooms and decor very Victorian, small and cramped and a bit claustrophobic but reasonably clean and comfortable. Wifi & internet work in room. Minibar larcenous - don't even open the fridge. Everything is falling apart a bit and singly in silly wasy: drape drawstring only works on one side, shower glass leaks, no remote control for TV (or, if one asks for one, it doesn't work), not even a little pad of paper and pen by the phone. The only reason why one would stay here than elsewhere is if one really wants this location. 5 min walk to Victoria station.

Room Tip: Book far in advance, request specifics, and get approvals in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frost, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have absolutely no idea how this hotel is considered a 4* hotel. We arrived at 4pm (check in begins at 1) and there were no rooms ready. So we sat to wait, and were forgotten about. 30 minutes later we reminded them we were waiting and they put us in a dirty room. We complained and they moved us to another room.

The TV was next to the bed instead of at an angle that is even possible to watch. The air conditioning didn't work and when we complained about the room temperature and asked for a fan, they told us the rooms were climate controlled so that should be enough.

Not only that, but the 'pre-authorisation' on my credit card took 4 business days to return to my account. Absolutely unacceptable, and I have yet to have that happen at another hotel I've stayed at in London, or even in the UK for that matter.

This hotel was one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in my life. Don't waste your time and money on this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rae1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had stayed at Tophams before and found it OK but was rather put off when I read the reviews on Tripadvisor. I have just spent another night at the hotel . The room, albeit rather small, was very clean and comfortable-I had a marvellouslly quiet night's sleep. The Continental breakfast was perfectly adequate and the dining room very pleasant.. The staff, both at reception and in the breakfast room could not have been more pleasant or helpful. I plan to stay there again next month.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was so bad that I had to phone Late Rooms. Fortunately they got me the en suite double room I booked
The first two rooms they allocated me were really poor. The only sign of any quality was the elemis bathroom product

Don't book it! Don't believe the photos
Sorry but poor!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampbellAsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a lovely afternoon tea at this hotel courtesy of a deal from KGB, £23 for two, the sandwiches, cakes and scones were delicious and plenty of tea and to finish off a lovely glass of champagne. The staff were lovely and very attentive, can't wait to go again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank difiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blagdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked through Lastminute.com and arrived at around 10.15pm to be told that there was no room available and that I would be taken to their 'sister' hotel in Knightsbridge. I said that this was unacceptable as I needed to be in Victoria. The Receptionist did her best but was very reluctant to ring the hotel Manager (who was not there). I insisted and eventually spoke to him on the phone. He was entirely unsympathetic. There was also a group who had arrived from Hong Kong having booked a room which was dirty and without a bathroom. They were extremely angry. In short don't stay at this dump. I left and booked into The Grosvenor Hotel around the corner. More expensive but excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweets1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#668 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#246 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,152 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tophams Hotel Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Property: The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#399 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing