We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit ruined by staff”

The Riding House Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The Riding House Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,847 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Transit: The Riding House Cafe is located a 5 minute walk from Oxford Circus underground and a 10 minute walk from Tottenham Court Rd. The restaurant is served by numerous bus routes within a very short walk. Boris Bike bays are located on Foley St.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Visit ruined by staff”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

On the plus side the food is fine. On the minus side the staff are so unpleasant I ain't going to be going again. I don't need to pay good money to be treated poorly by rude bar men and waiters.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moshe613London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    392
    162
    106
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good quality food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been here a few times for breakfast, lunch and dinner both with friends and with clients. It's a reliable restaurant for the area, expensive but without having silly prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhEarcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless Sunday brunch place”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is faultless for brunch. Opt for the chorizo hash or some of the smaller sharing plates which are a bit more interesting than some of the standard brunch options. You can easily come here and stay for five hours. Lovely relaxed atmosphere which is made more interesting by some quirky taxidermy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rushed Again!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My friend booked this restaurant and invited me once the booking was made. I was prepared to give it another go and the food was ok, the service was a little slow, but then the "hurrying up" started all over again. The pressure to finish our dessert and drink the last of our wine was just overbearing. It ruins the entire experience of this restaurant. There are lots of other places to eat in London that feel far less pressured. This is not a place I will go to relax. Sooner or later people just get tired of being hurried along!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a detour around central London”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

**Check out my profile for loads of Londontown reviews**
Good food and service - remember to book, relaxed setting, reasonable prices.


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesLondonTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riding House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Riding House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing