We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissapointing”

Valentina Fine Foods
Ranked #4,689 of 25,029 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Valentina Putney restaurant is the middle child in a charming family of Italian deli restaurants. As well as a well-stocked delicatessen and a range of over 170 wines, the Putney branch also has a bustling restaurant, including al fresco seating for mild weather.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

I have eaten here for many years but I don't think we will return.
We arrived and they didn't have our reservation although I had an email confirmation, these things happen but there was no apology.
The menu has changed and the quality of the food is not what it was.
The risotto was dry, the pizza was average and the cod was tasteless.
I am sad to say that the whole meal was average and not cheap.

The restaurant was not busy and there were two waiters but the service was extremely slow and you had to ask 2 or 3 times for additional drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kinsmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella C, Operations Manager at Valentina Fine Foods, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you for your feedback - although I am very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with us.
From what I can see, unfortunately the booking system was not working the evening you visited us so we couldn't track your reservation. For this we apologise also.
Since your last visit we've had further staff training and some new team members have joined us. If you'd like to send us an email at putney@valentinafinefoods.com we'd like to invite you back for another meal with us.
We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2017

Excited to try the newly advertised menu. However, disappointed to find that the menu had not actually reached the restaurant. Staff were visibly de-motivated and service was slow. Sad to hear that 3 branches have been closed this week. Doesn't bode well for the future of the chain.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SnowkindSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriella C, Operations Manager at Valentina Fine Foods, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm really sorry you didn't get a chance to try our new menu - we had a complication with the delivery of the actual printed menus so that was unfortunately out of our control.
I'm sorry to hear that the service was below standard - the staff have since been through further training and the branch has since had a bit of a 'face lift'!
We hope to see you soon to give our new menu a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

On Wednesday night they offer 3 courses + unlimited wine for £25 which I believe is a good deal. I wouldn't go back on another night, the food is just average and the service extremely slow...

Thank itsvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tess Y, Manager at Valentina Fine Foods, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

We've had a lot of positive feedback with the offers' value for money! Thank you for confirming. Bottomless Wednesdays are often very busy and we apologise that the service was slow. We are always trying to improve. Hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

Got a meat lasagne and aubergine parmigiana to take away. Both were very bland with no taste. Lasagne had cheap pork with very thick processed lasagne sheets. The parmigiana was greasy and watery, made us feel ill. Will never eat here again. Pretty sure the food was frozen prior to delivery.

2  Thank SianEllen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanja Y, Guest Relations Manager at Valentina Fine Foods, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review on your recent visit to Valentina. We appreciate all feedback as it really helps us in determining what we are doing right and what needs to be improved on. Our staff work really hard on providing excellent quality food made with the best ingredients and we are so sorry to hear your takeaway order was not up to Valentina's usual quality. We will inform the branch of this feedback so they can investigate the issue but in the meanwhile we really hope you give us another chance to provide you with the usual quality service and food to make it a 5 star experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

The meal was superb, it was for my sister's 25th birthday and it could not have been more enjoyable. The evening was made so comfortable and memorable by our lovely waiter Adam. He went out of his way to help us, serve us and make us feel like we were eating at a place we have known all our lives. We will be coming back 100%.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicktheledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Guest Relations Manager at Valentina Fine Foods, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you for such a nice review, and a happy belated birthday to your sister! We work hard to match our authentic Italian food with a service of equally high quality, so we really appreciate it when people take the time to leave good feedback on their visit! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentina Fine Foods also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Valentina Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing