We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy at its best”
Review of Pizza Metro Pizza

Pizza Metro Pizza
Ranked #3,173 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In 1993 we were the first restaurant in London to cook our metre long pizzas in a wood burning oven. At Pizza Metro Pizza, we honour the great traditions of London's best Pizzeria. Our dough is made fresh each day from the finest wheat, hand-stretched and cooked on the stone of our wood burning oven. Our sauces are made from only the finest vine-ripened Italian tomatoes and topped with select fresh Italian mozzarella cheeses, extra virgin olive oil, choice meats, freshest vegetables, herbs and spices. 100% Italian ingredients will make you taste the authentic real pizza Napoletana. Not only do we have the best Neapolitan food, made from the freshest and finest traditional ingredients, our menu has a great choice of a tasty wide range of antipasti, and delicious fresh pasta, fabulous fish and meat. We believe that a true Pizzeria should be a gathering place for family and friends to relax, share great food & wine and enjoy each other's company.
Malta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Italy at its best”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very authentic Italian food. Great service and quality of food. Ambience is also very pleasant. Buon apetito!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fleurvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    77
    24
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The italian bodge job”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We thought we'd give this place a go instead of the usual chains (zizzi's, prezzos and pizza express) only to be disappointed. I ordered a beer for £4.50 thinking I'd get a pint (after spotting pint glasses elsewhere) for them to bring out just a small bottle with a pint glass. We started to get excited about the pizzas we had ordered after seeing the two huge pizzas on the table next to us. They plonked a huge stand on the table blocking the lovely view of my fiance (good!) and put a large pizza on it. They had split it half and half. I didn't understand why we weren't given two separate pizzas?? The pizza was quite greasy and didnt really fill us up. We were still charged for two separate pizzas and they also added on a service charge (fortunately it was optional). If you're after quality at a decent price head 10 minutes down the road to zizzi's!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobsbigtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The restaurant is great for dinners with friends or groups of people. They offer a big variety of pizzas, the service is good and the food is the usual Italian - however, if both of you order pizzas, they serve it in a 2 person tray and this makes it special!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Molto benne”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food! Great service. A little overpriced but all the fresh ingridients make up for it! Amazing pizza and pasta - try the lasagne!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johngrahamcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you have a choice, go to Pizza Express 50yds up the road”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to try our local Italian eatery on Friday night for something quick and filling following a long day at work. After umm-ing and arr-ing about which to go to - the Pizza Express 50 yards up the road or going to Pizza Metro Pizza, we settled on the latter.... this was our first mistake of the evening.

It was still a bit of a crèche at 10pm on Friday, and after being offered a table which wasn't ready (although there were plenty of other vacant and laid tables) we were seated in an alcove on the ground floor with about five other tables. And we were left with our menus. Another group of 6 arrived and sat close to us and ordered before us. We were left waiting. After drawing this to the waiter's attention, we also ordered. Because this group had arrived after us and ordered before us, we were assured that our order would be put in first. Guess whose food arrived first...

Anyway - poor choice of wine for an Italian. We wanted white wine - so a choice of chardonnay, pinot grigio or a Gavi for £32 (note - £5.99 in Tesco). We ordered the Pinot. We were brought chardonnay. Back it went. We were bought the Pinot. Tasted like vinegar. Back it went. Waiter tried to push us onto the Gavi - not for £32 I said. so, we settled on a glass of prosecco and a Peroni.

Food wise, I ordered pasta with chicken and pancetta and my girlfriend opted for the salmon. My pasta, whilst it arrived hot and was filling, contained only three pieces of chicken about the size of a 10p piece. The salmon was horribly over cooked and had dried out on one side. The salmon went back. When a replacement was brought over, a fresh piece of salmon has been freshly cooked (this time seared, but still completely raw), except the mashed potato and spinach that came with it was cold. This went back and we didn't want a replacement. By now, I had eaten all three pieces of chicken in my pasta and had nearly finished.

I've had take-away pizza from this place previously and it was fine. However, this was our first trip to our local Italian and we won't be coming back. The service was inattentive, food poorly prepared and the whole experience sorely disappointing. How hard can it be to get some decent quality, hot Italian food in central London?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DCandNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Metro Pizza also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Pizza Metro Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing