We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,122)
Filter reviews
2,122 results
Traveler rating
910
819
254
74
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
910
819
254
74
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince regent dlr station city airport convention center canary wharf canning town dlr stop black out blinds sauna and steam room docklands light railway the emirates cable car attending a conference jubilee line walk in shower comfy bed booked this hotel reception desk full english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 2,122 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is not the type of hotel we would normally stay in as we prefer older more rustic type places but we loved this hotel with its ultra modern designs and ideas.

On arrival reception was efficient and friendly and as we arrived late evening were relieved to see a small snack bar selling various sandwiches, chocolate, crisps, fruit etc.; we were informed this was available 24hrs.

We struggled initially to work the lift - your room card has to activate it (but we were tired) but once we got over that hurdle it was plain sailing. The corridors to the room are decorated in multicolours but tastefully and our room was fantastic.

It is a modern design with the sink being an open area next to the door .My only worry here is that if you are naked and the room assistant arrives unexpectedly they would cop an eyeful!!The toilet and shower are behind a sliding mirror and the iron and board are inside the headboard of your bed.

They supply two bottles of water every day but only 1 coffee and 1 decaff coffee per day. There were also only 2 milk jiggers which is not enough but I guess they would give more if you asked. There was also a variety of teas. My only other gripe is that the wardrobe is not long enough for a maxi dress but there is a hook outside of it. However, there is an in room safe - free of charge which was invaluable and the air con was great as were the black out blinds. The bed was mega comfy and big!!!

Breakfast buffet: variety was fantastic, well cooked and fresh - eat as much as you want - ask for fried or poached eggs they will do it for you. There was full English, continental, fruit, cereals etc. etc. only difficulty is getting a seat at busy times but is not a major problem.

We tried the swimming pool. It is big enough for a swim, not deep, abit cold but as there is a steam room and sauna this is not a problem. They provide towels in there. There is also a gym which looked good.

The bar is abit expensive but not unaffordable. They also do bar meals and we tried the nachos which were very filling.

The nearest train station is DLR Prince Regent and this is practically attached to the hotel - so no scary walk when you come back at night.

Our only advice to the hotel is that they need an inroom directory - I'm guessing it was on the TV but some of us like to read it in a book form. Without it some things in the hotel are abit of a mystery but it didn't ruin our stay.

Room tip: Even numbers look over the river if you want a view
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Hi Pete D, Thank you for leaving us a review of your stay! Great to hear that you like our ultra modern design and concept and were welcomed in a efficient and friendly way. Our Re:fuel is indeed 24hrs open so there is always a snack to still the apetite of a guest arriving late. We appreciate you comments on our tea and coffee facilities and would like to assure you our guests can always request some in addition. Luckily the dress found a spot on a hook outside our compact wardrobe but in contrast you enjoyed our mega comfy big bed!
We are very excited you enjoyed our breakfast which is indeed very popular and busy at times. We can certainly recommend our Re:charge gym on your next stay but good to know you had time to relax in our Splash, sauna and steam room. We look forward to seeing you again at Aloft London Excel and wish you an easy breezy day! Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Just a few steps away from Excel so wonderful if you are attending a convention there. Otherwise there is not much really close by. Fortunately the Docklands Light Railway is also conveniently close. Good food in the restaurant and not ridiculously priced. Spacious modern room with good bed and pillows. Friendly and helpful staff. The only fault was the lack of space and slight disorganisation at breakfast - allow plenty of time!

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank CJ0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for leaving us a note. I am happy to see you enjoyed our East London space. As you mentioned we are indeed very conveniently located for a visit to ExCeL, and thanks to the DLR we are also just 35 minutes away from the city centre. It's great to see you enjoyed our Aloft beds - a good night's sleep can really make or break a stay!
I will make sure to discuss your comments with the team in our Fede Restaurant so we can ensure we're on top of our game next time.
We hope to see you again soon,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great two night stay here - there was a large international conference at the Excel centre next door, but the hotel coped well with being totally full. Nice spacious room, very comfortable bed, nice shower, tea and coffee making kit in the room.
Breakfast was very good and a nice range of items including hot on offer.
The hotel has a small 'shop' where you can get drinks and snacks and sandwiches at reasonable prices, very handy as there are not shops in the neighbourhood and you won't want to always fork out for the hotel restaurant for every meal.
Very nice swimming pool.
Staff fine, though some seemed a bit lost at times - there are lockers in the swimming pool, presumably for people using the pool to put their clothes when I go for a swim, and residents are asked to pick up a key at reception. When I asked for one, I was told there were none left, but the swimming pool and gym were totally empty....clearly some guests (or gym/pool users) were holding on to their locker keys even though they weren't using the facilties. This is a bit irritating. But the pool itself is very nice and I was able to swim completely undisturbed by anyone.
The hotel is near to the DLR, but not the line that goes to London City Airport. But it's not far to walk to the airport, about 15 minutes, as there is a footbridge across the Thames a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Overall, very good indeed and *very* reasonable price given the location and the quality of the hotel.

Room tip: I was on the 6th floor, it was great....
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheEnglandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Hello England Family!
Thank you for leaving such a nice review here. I am happy to see that even though there was such a busy buzz around, you were able to enjoy your stay. Our Splash pool is amazing - it is a unique space for a relaxing dip and it's great to see you liked it.
To get to London City Airport by DLR, you can take the line outside the hotel to Canning Town and change over there in the direction of the aiport. Otherwise our Front Desk team can arrange a taxi for you, or as you say it's also possible to just walk over.
It seems like our style at a steal really worked for you and I hope to see you again soon.
Have an easy breezy day!
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here when going to an event at the O2. This is a great hotel, clean, fresh, minimalist. Courteous staff. Rooms are large, again minimalist decor but very smart indeed. Great shower with quality toiletries. Superb all you can eat breakfast bar. Would stay here again without question. Well situated for the O2 either by DLR and tube from Prince Regent Station directly outside the hotel or a ten minute walk to the Emirates cable car. For the price its also worth staying here if you want to use it as a base for Central London as the transport links are excellent.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M00sej00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Hello there,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I am happy to read you were impressed with the cleanliness of our hotel. The Refresh team works really hard to keep everything shiny and it's great to see this getting noticed.
We are indeed really conveniently located for a visit to the O2, and the cable car is definitely a unique way of hopping over! And with the DLR and Jubilee line it's just around 35 minutes to the city centre - easy breezy.
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay. Very quiet rooms & they provided a lovely little welcome pack for our daughter which was a really nice touch. Rooms spacious and very clean. Basic tea & coffee making facilities in the room, I don't like UHT milk so I'm glad I took fresh milk with me. Grab & go breakfast very reasonably priced, 4 of us had porridge & a drink each for £15 so I was very pleased with that. We will certainly use this hotel again, the staff were all very friendly & polite & our check in/out was handled quickly & efficiently. Location ideal for us as a family with a small child, we wanted somewhere quiet & away from the hustle & bustle yet still within an easy commute to the city centre. Gym and pool facilities looked great but we weren't there long enough to make use of these facilities. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Try and get a water view!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Hi Lynn,
The full five stars - thank you so much! At Aloft, we want to make sure little ones have just as good a time as the grownups do. It's great to see your daughter enjoyed her Camp Aloft experience! As you mentioned, our Re:fuel grab & go pantry is a really handy option for a quick breakfast or for people who are not a fan of full buffets.
Do come back to try out our Splash pool and Re:charge fitness centre!
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews