We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless service”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #285 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I cannot find anything bad to say about this place (which is unusual for me!)

Excellent friendly service from the staff at all time, rooms were spacious and very nicely decorated, with free high speed wifi, safe and fridge in the room (the fridge is not stocked with anything on arrival - it is there to put your own drinks etc in).

Pool, gym, sauna and steam room were all very nice and the hotel is maybe a 2 minute walk from the Prince Regent DLR station with trains every 10 mins into London City even later at night.

Although this hotel is slight pricier than others, it is well worth paying the extra for the luxury.

Some things to note:
It takes 40 minutes to an hour to get to hotel from Euston and Kings Cross St Pancras stations.
It takes about 20-30 minutes to get to/from the hotel from Tower Bridge/bank Stations.

Although the hotel is right next to London city airport, I didn't hear a plane in the whole 4 days we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantos3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Hello grantos3000,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! It is amazing to see you were so impressed with out hotel. I will make sure to pass on your comments to our team so that they know they helped you enjoy your stay.
Our sound proofed windows are really great - they make sure you have an easy breezy rest overnight so you wake up fresh for the day ahead!
We hope to see you again soon,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! Room was fab and spacious. TV lovely! Wifi excellent! Shower and facilities were very clean. Wonderful view too! Breakfast buffet had lots to offer. Staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank blutheelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hello there,
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are indeed very lucky to have amazing views over the Docklands.
Have an easy breezy day!
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived on Friday and minor hiccup with room booking which was swiftly resolved by the very helpful manager who reassured us n upgraded us. The cleanliness was of a consistent high standard, breakfast choice was very good, fresh food and good service as well as at the W XYZ bar. I have been travelling to London for leisure for past 10 years n stayed at numerous other hotels. I can honestly say that although first time at the Aloft i will definitely be returning again and would recommend it if you don't mind staying out of Central London and travelling by tube. The journeys will help to work off the irresistible breakfasts!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hi Savannah,
Wow, the full five stars - thank you! We loved reading your feedback. It seems you know the London hotel scene quite well so it means a lot to us to see you would choose us to come back to. Our Refresh team does their best to keep our stylish space squeeky clean and they are doing a great job!
We recently made some changes to our breakfast so our Fede Restaurant and kitchen teams really enjoy reading you were so impressed.
Don't wait too long to plan your next trip!
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hotel had minimalist/ business vibe.
Good room view over the Thames tributary, but nothing to watch other than flights coming into London City Airport.
Very convenient if attending Excel, but otherwise not a vibrant area with few restaurants close by.
Area felt desserted and souless.-- yes therefore quiet.
Long haul from Heathrow--1 hour plus by either train or cab. Train service regular, efficent, did require change to DLR, but stop right at hotel. Oyster card the way to go.
Room clean, spacious with comfortable bed.
Tea/coffee making facilities--minimal supplies and paper cups
Free wifi good

Room Tip: Outlook over the river essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judyanndavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hi Judyanndavis,
Thank you for leaving a review here. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you back soon!
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend in London. We were pleasantly surprised to see our hotel as we left Prince Regent DLR station. We were 2hours early for check in but the very friendly young man on reception (Nik) found us a lovely room overlooking the river with 2queen beds which were incredibly comfortable large walk in shower very modern and clean and we were able to check in.He was very helpful and gave us lots of information, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good indeed. On checking out again the staff were very friendly.We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hey Julie,
Thank you so much for leaving your thoughts here. It is really cool to see you and your friend had such a good time in our hotel. We recently made some changes to our breakfast buffet in the Fede Restaurant and it's great to hear you liked it.
Our team is very in the know about the East London area and it seems like Nick definitely made your stay. I will make sure to thank him personally, he will be really proud of your feedback!
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is the "entry" level hotel from Starwood in a style similar to Citizen M

Minimalist service but that's intended, nicely finished and very quiet.

Hotel is more expensive than budget chains in locality but the extra expense is worth it

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G76Macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hello there,
Thank you for leaving a review here. It's great to see you are a fan of our style at a steal!
With smiles from the Docklands,
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 12 days. I choose this hotel because my husband is 6' 5" and this hotel advertised King Size bed and spacious showers. We were not disappointed!! Rooms are great and very quiet! Bathrooms spacious and clean and I'm guessing the size of the shower was larger than most in the city. Hotel overall is fantastic, fashionable and chic. Staff is friendly and helpful. The free WiFi was one of the other features that I found invaluable. The staff was quick to respond to emailed questions and confirmations prior to our arrival. Located right next to the DLR which was perfect. It was especially a good location for us because it is so close to the City Airport and we rented a car from there to go outside the City. . For some, you may find that this location is too far out from the city and find that taking the DLR to another station might cut into your time but we managed quite well. A tip here is to pre order online your visitor Oyster Cards, which the DLR takes. I found it to be a smart idea especially for first time visitors. There were a couple of draw backs that I wished I had known: their laundry facilities were less than adequate, one washer and one dryer that took forever, and the dryer did not work and the laundry service they offered was very expensive so take enough clothes with you. The other thing was even though they had air conditioned rooms, it would get quite stuffy after a shower and you could not open a window. I believe that it is a fairly new hotel and that they will work out other quirks they had with some of their electronics. Bottom line, it was a great home base for us and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGPatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for leaving your comments here. It is great to see our team was able to assist you with your requests and helped in making your stay so enjoyable. They work really hard and it makes me proud to see they are making a difference.
My apologies for the hick-ups with the washer and dryer. I will make sure our Re:pair team gives them a thorough check to avoid issues in the future.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to London!
Martijn Mulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#266 of 1,081 in London
2,387 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#487 of 1,081 in London
2,155 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#149 of 1,081 in London
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $95 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing