We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice from the outside, rooms could be better”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #276 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Rare stay in london and this hotel is four star on the outside and three star on the inside. The hotel in a great location and the pool table located near the bar is a great addition. The gym is great and a great steam room and pool area. The rooms are not as nice as the pictures on the site. We had a modern room, not bad on size and the bathroom areas was modern and clean. The actual rooms have dull and dirty carpets and was stained. The room has good device compatibility so make sure you take HDMI cables etc.
The room overall was a big let down, staff are very helpful and friendly and make sure you have breakfast, as is a nice pleasant area too have some food.
Sure you can find another better hotel, but maybe hard to find a better price...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi Taz,

Thank you for your review here! We are happy to see you were impressed with our location and style. Our Re:charge is indeed a great spot to have a good work-out!

I am sorry to hear the room was not fully up to standards. If you come back, please drop me a line before your arrival so that I can personally double check your room is a hundred percent.

Have an easy breezy day,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a top floor room which was pleasant enough with good views. The style was minimalistic and different to most hotels, the room was small, but the bed was huge and quite comfortable.
There are no frills or personal touches and just about squeezed a hot drink each out of the pack. The TV was slow to navigate and hotel and room info was non existent.
A pleasant enough environment, more like a corporate building than a hotel.
Plus side is easy access by the DLR, close to Docklands facilities and fairly quiet.
Things to note, City Airport final approach passes your window (literally), if you don't like heights, beware the rooms have full length windows.

Room Tip: Bear in mind this is a fair trek to the city, although trains are regular and easy to navigate, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi Andy,

Thanks for your review! I'm happy to see you were impressed with our beds, hopefully they helped you in having a great night's sleep!
We don't have a traditional printed room directory - I'm sorry to hear you missed this. Next time, please do just pass by the Front Desk or give us a ring for any information you would like; our team is very in the know about the hotel and the area so we would love to help you with any information you may need.

With smiles from the Docklands,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have visited London March 29, 2014 for Saudi Career Fair hosted my Saudi Arabia Cultural Bureau. I found this hotel few feet away from ExCeL London Exhibition and Convention Centre where the event was organized. The hotel was so nice and clean, and the furniture was cool and comfortable. I like the way the rooms designed, which applied more comfort.

Room Tip: Enjoy London and go out ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaleelya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hey Khaleelya,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here. Our location is unique when you are visiting the Excel centre - we are literally just outside the door and the walking bridge on the 2nd floor is even directly connected to Excel.
Our Re:fresh team is very proud of our clean rooms and it's great to see you were impressed with this.

We hope you found some interesting job opportunities on the fair and please do visit us again when you're next in the Docklands!

Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Second time staying at Aloft London Excel & it was another excellent stay. Rooms were perfect & clean with a good view over to the o2 & Canary Wharf. Had breakfast included in this stay & it didn't disappoint, plenty choice which was replenished on a regular basis.

The bar is also nice, if a little pricey, the bar staff appear to enjoy making cocktails & were able to make ones not on the menu should it be requested.

It's about a 30minute tube & DLR journey to Waterloo from the hotel but you 100% will not get a nicer hotel any closer to the centre for the price you can get Aloft for. A little out the way but I'd always compare any deal you get in the centre of London to what you can get here.

Room Tip: 7th floor over looking the docklands also had views over the Excel towards the o2 & Canary Wharf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello Andrew,

Thank you for coming back to us! It's always a compliment when our guests return and are impressed again. I'm happy to see the W XYZ bar team went out of their way to get you the drink you wanted - it's a really cool place to have a drink!

With smiles from the Docklands,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

POSITIVE:

The hotel is lovely, the room with great furniture and the most perfect pillows that I have ever tried! My neck use to be soar, I felt like new person after few nights there :)))) I was very quiet too.

NEGATIVE:

The steam bath is not working, the swimming pool is veryyyyyyyyyyyyyy small and the water was very cold. You could warm up if you swim...but there is no place to that :D
The restaurant is small too and closes at 10 pm!!!! With poor ''pub'' menu.. We tried to find another, close the hotel, all of them were terrible. If you want a proper dinning, you need to go in the city center.. just run away from the area around the hotel, if you are looking for nice restaurant. The only choice that you have is to visit the other hotel's restaurants..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello Venera,

Thank you for taking the time to write something here. We will definitely check the Splash' temperature to make sure all is ok.
It's great to hear you enjoyed our pillows! A good night's sleep is so important to get a fresh start into the new day and we're happy to see you had a good rest.

Have an easy breezy day,
Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Spent weekend there on the 5th April. Swimming pool sauna steam room. My 9yr old loved it. Also able to bring our dog. And no hidden extras for him. Breakfast was the d@&s b@&£)ks. Will be back. Great to see hotels in this way and relaxed style.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi Gary,

Thank you for the five star review! It's great to see you had such a good time with your child and dog. Our ARF (Animals R Fun) program is one of a kind and ensures your dog has just as good an experience as you do!

We would love to see you again soon.

Jill van Rest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Aloft provides a very modern and spacious hotel. I totally disagree with the comments on this site that the location is poor. It's a minute walk from the DLR station and yes you need to understand the underground but it's really easy to get to Central London - straight through to Tower Gate or Bank. I can honestly say I have never stayed in a 'city' hotel that was so spacious. Many thanks to the Duty Manager Lionel for upgrading us. We had a super room on the eighth floor with great views and the room was really well planned. Large bathroom, separate vanity unit in area with wardrobes and then two single beds in lovely spacious bedroom totally separated from the bathroom/wardrobes with two windows overlooking Excel and the Thames. Small gripe no china just 'take out' cups but probably appeals to the general clientele of this hotel. Great system in offering incentives if you don't want housekeeping. Clean and stylish I can't comment on the food because we didn't eat at the hotel at all. But the buffet style 'take and go' with really fresh looking fruit, sandwiches etc was a great idea. One other gripe - parking is separate and extortionate for the location so if possible drop off and park elsewhere! Pool area had a great atmosphere but water was cold and we were told it was open until 11pm but were ushered out well before then as 'they were conducting maintenance' However great stay and brilliant value for money and as I regularly visit London will be listing Aloft on my favourites for future stays.

Room Tip: Views from top floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaguar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonManager, Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hey Jaguar,

Thanks for your comments! We love reading such detailed reviews, they really help us in understanding where we can still improve. I will investigate what happened in Splash that made us close earlier when you were here.

It's great to see you were impressed with the value for money and we hope to see you again soon!

Jill van Rest

P.S. Lionel says thank you for the special mentioned - he was very happy to read his upgrade made your stay extra special

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#280 of 1,077 in London
2,331 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,077 in London
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#574 of 1,077 in London
1,551 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#399 of 1,077 in London
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $93 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing