We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place!!”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #285 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

On the DLR route so easy and handy to get around and it's right next to the Excel centre so you can't miss it....when you come out of the station turn right stay on that level and the entrance to the hotel is on the left of the walkway..... we went shopping at Stratford and the DLR was very covenient....the hotel was super....the room was excellent and we ate in the restaurant the food was superb...as was the service....a great alternative hotel outside the West End - would recommend a visit but watch out for closures from weekend rail works...we failed to see the notice until we were leaving, we picked up a replacement bus outside and squeezed on board, ride was ok so no big deal as there was only two of us if you have a family and luggage closure of the line could be problematic.....overall the hotel is great and worth considering!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

A brilliant modern and trendy hotel with all the facilities we could've needed. It is a little out of the way, but is pretty much right next to Prince Regent DLR station, so very well connected.

A tip if you're arriving in the dark as we were - when you're exiting the DLR, turn right towards the Excel centre, then take the stairs down to the left. The hotel is pretty much directly in front of you. (On a side note, we were in one of the rooms closest to the train track and could barely hear anything).

Everything in the room was spot on, and the staff were helpful. The pool was great and we grabbed a light breakfast from the shop/cafe which was affordable (for a hotel) and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LianneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hello LianneDM,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are excited to that you liked our space as much as we do, and it really means a lot to us to read that we are a trendy hotel. With our design and technology-inspired concept, it is definitely worth the little distance into London, and with so much happening in the Docklands it great to be at the centre of it all. We are sure the coming years will bring even better connections and more attractions and when you return in the future, you will see this change and the bustling atmosphere.

Thank you so much for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Second stay of the year at the Aloft, Brilliant stay again. Got to try the pool this time for a lovely sunday morning wake up. The breakfast was much better this time, hot buffet style in the hotel restaurant. Only thing that spoilt breakfast was the bloke on the table next to us going completely over the top at the staff because his fried egg was not cooked to his liking. He was still complaining at reception half an hour later, probably trying to get something for free. All in all a good stay 20 mins to westfield on the dlr for xmas shopping and a ten minute walk to cable car for a night out at the O2

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindossince1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and overall, I thought this was a decent place for an O2 concert. I had a regular room the 1st night. Flat screen TV must've been 40 in with maybe 20 channels ( no sports, not that good selection). A/C and heat worked fine, although like most UK hotels, it takes some time to figure out how to use the controls, since there are NO words to guide you, only signs. Shower worked fine. I liked you can drop metal shutters on the window to keep light out, so the room was nice & dark. Tip & warning: they do NOT have a wake-up call system ( only hotel I've ever seen this..)..they have a clock ( not an alarm radio, a clock) where you can program an alarm..I just used my I-phone...there is a little food/ snack room across the check -in/out area that serves coffee ( horrible), snacks, sandwiches, bagels,etc...bar area was decent..very modern design...it is a 3 minute walk to the DLR station Prince Regent, and about a 15 minute ride to the O2 arena if you want to be near that area. I used points w/ Sheraton and points/ cash as well for this trip. Coffee maker in the room with again, terrible coffee....would stay here again, but it is a long way to central London, about 45-60 min by DLR & tube...2nd & 3rd night they booked me into a suite ( don't know why, maybe because I'm a Starwood member?)..it had 2 rooms, 2 TV's, etc...probably 600-700 SF total..very nice...one thing I don't like: you have to scan your room card every time to use the elevator/ lifts and although I appreciate the security, I expect that more at an upscale hotel like a Ritz or Four Seasons, not at a middle level hotel like this. It was kind of a pain to keep taking out my room card & swiping it against the device in the elevator...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

- Very swift service.
- Fantastic room.
- Great location.
- Modern, clean, expensive feel decor.
- Rooms are better than the website images flaunt.

Query:
- A £25 deposit was required on arrival, with no prior notification.

Room Tip: Shop around, I got my room for £75 pound!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roosterlover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hello roosterlover999,
I am delighted to read that our forward-thinking design, tech-savvy features have worked for you. On your next Saturday stay, why not visit our WXYZ Bar, I promise, you will love it and you might even catch a live performance. Until then, please follow us on Facebook and you will always be in the know of what is happening at Aloft London Excel.
We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

the hotel was a lovely place. nice rooms clean and tidy couldnt really ask for more but for £110 per night you would at least think that the breakfast would be included but oh no. thats another £15 per person.

just a few complaints on the rooms. a double bed with 2 people staying should not only have 3 pillows in the room that just does not work out right in my eyes. the coffee bags were a pain in the backside to use, even if the coffee is nice.

other than these small things no real complaints but for for few quid less there is another big chain 2 mins walk away where breakfast is included etc for less money so for that reason thats where il be staying next time

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Great breakfast. Great location. Just has bad design of the safe in the room . kept banging into it..coffee in room bit of a faff but in the whole great..the tube to it is direct but does not tell you at the station you can walk to the hotel.only to the excel. Would stay again if I was to come to London again

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mylakehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#266 of 1,081 in London
2,387 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#487 of 1,081 in London
2,155 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#149 of 1,081 in London
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $95 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing