We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for 3 nights.”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #265 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here, close to all rail links, £8 gets you unlimited travel in and around London. Rooms are spotless and modern and shower is excellent. Would of been nice to have a better view from room but we did not spend hardly any time in it. Thanks Aloft.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynneelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are just back from a trip to London for 5 Days and I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. Its a really Modern Snazzy hotel. All the staff we spoke to were excellent and really helpful. The rooms were large and very very clean. The hotel also offer a nice service that if you do not want your room cleaned you can get a £5 voucher for Food & Drink at the Bar or the service counter. We used this on our First night as we did not really use the room for much the first night and it was good to get a few free soft drinks as well as helping the environment for a night.

The hotel has a direct walkway on the 2nd floor to access the Excel or the DLR Station (Prince Regent) It was only about 15 mins from the city centre with trains directly to Tower Gateway (Tower Bridge/Tower of London) every 10 mins or so. You were also only 2 stops away on the DLR to the Emerates Air Line with direct access to the O2 (Royal Victoria Station). Right opposite the Emerates Air Line there is a Tesco Express open until 11pm which is great for picking up a drink before heading back.

Direct Access to the Jubilee Line is available via the DLR Changing at Canning Town which is only 4 stops from the Hotel. All this means this hotel is no longer than 20 mins from the city center.

The hotel has a large rain shower and a large plasma TV. What was also nice to have was an empty fridge which was great for buying drinks and keeping them cool to have when we got back at night to the hotel.

The bed was huge and really really comfy.

We used the Pool and Steam Room and Sauna on our stay and it was a great bonus to have this available from 6am each day until 11pm.

All in I can not recommend this hotel highly enough with its amazing bed and good transport links it was a steal (£69 a night we paid when no event on at the Excel)

Room Tip: Stay when no events on at the Excel for amazing deals on Room prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmccafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A great hotel to stay at if you plan to stay in East London with easy connections to the rest of London via the DLR station just 100m away. The hotel staff were truly amazing and catered for our every need and even let us check in at 8a.m. in the morning without any fuss which we appreciated greatly after 40 hours of travel. The room was modern and had every amenities and the restaurant and pool are also very good. All in all it was actually one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If your planning to use the tube to get to the hotel from Heathrow the best route is the Piccadilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

primarily a business hotel, we used it for it's location near to O2 and a mid-week concert.Excellent facilities and fresh look .The room was excellently laid out with hush quiet air conditioning ,great security with room cards operating lifts as well as 24 hr staffing on desk.good pool and spa with a well equipped gym(as far as I could see !!)did use pool,although a tad small it did get a little crowded.
It's a definite thumbs up for a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edtheskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was surprised to see any negative comments about this hotel, and can only assume those people were unlucky.

We only stayed one night but we are already looking at when we can return because we loved the place so much. Our room was excellent, with great views towards the Olympic Stadium. The bed was the comfiest I think I've ever slept in (better than the 5* hotel I stayed in last week). And the location was perfect - straight across from the DLR for exploring but away from the city-centre noise, to ensure a good quiet night's sleep (often difficult in London).

We found the staff very helpful and not being 'suited and booted' added to the relaxing atmosphere.

Many thanks Aloft!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Easy to get to by road and excellently situated to get the cable car to the O2, stayed for one night for a concert at the O2. Lovely rooms nice shower. Have already booked again for a xmas shopping trip/O2 concert.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindossince1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hey Lindossince1979,
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
The biggest praise is you telling us that you have already booked your next stay. Christmas is just around the corner and London is a magical place to be at that time of the year. We look forward to welcoming you back.

By the time you return, the fireplace in our W XYZ Bar will be on and it might be snowing, we'll see you for the festive season.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good place to stay if visiting the O2, London. This hotel is very modern and clean. The staff I found to be very helpful, and the room quality. They have a very slick indoor swimming pool complete with gym. The reception area very cool and stylish with a cool bar area with flat screen TV's over the bar, pool table to the back and a lovely outside seating area overlooking parts of London. Lovely to sit outside or round the bar and listen to the local invited DJ doing a set at the hotel (on our visit).

If I had to say some negative points.. It would be about the room very hi Tec but not without cost!!! If you wanted to use the functions of the TV then there was a £12 daily charge which I thought was a bit steep when you’re paying over £100 per night for the room bit harsh I would say!!! Make sure you take your Smart phone or tablet so you can connect to the free amazing Wi-Fi they offer you. Also poorly poured pint from the bar!!

Overall I would stay here again, a lovely London getaway.

Room Tip: My advice get a room more to the top of the hotel, reason being you can hear the bass from the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andys-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLondonExcel, General Manager at Aloft London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hey Andys-Trips,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback, it means a lot to us.

Everything seems to have been perfect, except the TV issue. We are unsure what happened, watching our 25+channel selection of TV is certainly free at Aloft London Excel.
We only charge for on-demand movies, something must have gone wrong.

Let us know when you are next staying and we will make sure that your TV works perfectly.

Julia Harnischfeger
Hotel Manager
julia.harnischfeger@alofthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#272 of 1,078 in London
2,347 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#579 of 1,078 in London
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,078 in London
1,491 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#197 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $90 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing