We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #259 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend with my other half for two nights. I wasn't fussed about the location and to be fair, it's not actually in a bad place. It's relatively easy to get to via DLR and is a short walk from Prince Regent station.

With regards to previous reviews - Yes the staff wear polo tops but it doesn't take away from their professionalism or customer service. They were incredibly attentive, always smiling and helpful - on the first night I went down to the lobby to ask for nearby take away places, they gave me a large handful of leaflets/menus which was brilliant. We weren't the only ones placing take away orders from outside the hotel - I saw countless Domino's Pizza boxes coming through haha!

In terms of previous reviews complaining about the cardboard/disposable coffee cups in the room - I actually found this better. Remember it's a business hotel and people may want to take their hot drink with them!

They had Wallpaper* magazine in the room which was a huge plus for me because I love design. The room was clean, larger than some London hotels, decor was great and modern, powerful shower, bed was big and incredibly soft, free wifi in room, small fridge (not a minibar), heating control, massive TV with most Freeview channels (itv, itv2, channel 4, e4, 5*, all the news channels, international channels too etc).

Breakfast was awesome - you receive a voucher upon check-in for 3 items plus a free hot drink. The choices include numerous yoghurts, paninis, sandwiches, salads, breads, bagels etc. It was great!

Didn't use any of their other facilities such as gym or swimming pool so I cannot comment!

Definitely one of my favourite hotels in London - will stay here again without a doubt!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    732
    207
    56
    40
See reviews for
193
607
106
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I chose to stay in this hotel as I was attending a conference at the Excel center, and actually the hotel is really convenient to reach the venue (directly connected). The hotel is very modern, rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is friendly. Despite being in a non-central area, we were able to reach the city centre in half an hour with the tube.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I will definitely stay here again as not only is it the best placed hotel for Excel as it is physically attached to the Excel centre , it is a lovely hotel in its own right . The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms appeared to be soundproofed as just across the river you have London city airport but you could not hear a thing through the windows . I had a evening meal in the first floor restaurant which was rather quiet for a Saturday night but the food and service was excellent .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redaprilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best bits: Big comfy bed in a clean, spacious and well designed room. Super smooth lifts and good onsite gym and swimming pool. Location is perfect for Excel or the O2 and the rest of the docklands area (especially if the DLR is running!). Hotel staff are helpful and friendly..

Downsides: Ultra modern decor might not be to everyone's taste and the Smart TV in the rooms isn't the easiest bit of techology to use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here last night and can say i was very impressed with this hotel and will most definitely stay here again next time i am in london.Room was very clean and big sized the bed was also king size and very comfy. Hotel was also very quiet at night which meant i had a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 529Lee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We tayed there for two days, and though the interior was great, service was exceptional and it was also nice to have a good gym, pool and sounas, I found hotel to be too far from city centre. I recomend it for business travelers, but not particularly for those who just want to visit London, as it took too much time to travel back and forth.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ieva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Aloft for three nights in September. The hotel seems brand new, and the décor and modern nature of the building is truly wonderful. I loved the light beams on the ceiling throughout the room corridors.

Rooms are spacious, clean and well thought out. Bathroom was also large, and well fitted out with the essentials.

Staff are lovely, and helpful. Its a shame that no proper breakfast is available apart from small snacks from the cafe, which itself is very expensive for what it is. This should be looked at by the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#277 of 1,069 in London
2,264 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#482 of 1,069 in London
2,027 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#570 of 1,069 in London
1,481 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#98 of 1,069 in London
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#190 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing