We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor service”
Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #276 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Love the Hotel, big screen TV, free Internet, comfy spacious beds. Sadly, let down by poor service. First room had a broken blind, when reported was asked to wait while they fixed it, so had to insist on another room before being able to settle down after a long journey. Tried to exchange my voucher for my 3 breakfast items at 10:30 the next morning, only to be told I was too late, and that it closes for breakfast at 10:00. Pointed out that no one told me this, and it doesn't say a time on the voucher, but all to no avail. Had to wait 15 minutes to see a manager to finally get it sorted. Second day had a real breakfast in the adjoining Fede restaurant at 9:15, and had it charged back to my room. Upon checkout, noticed that on the VAT receipt they had it down as Lunch! Not much use when I can only claim back for breakfast. Again wasted 15 minutes arguing my case, only to be promised a revised receipt would be emailed to me this afternoon. Guess what, no email, no updated receipt, so now £15 out of pocket. Poor, poor service from a good Hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just had 2 nights at Aloft while visiting the O2 for the tennis. The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from Docklands Light Railway and the views were great from our room. The bed was as comfortable as ours at home, so we slept really well and the rooms are large, spotless and very modern. Excellent hotel for this end of London.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Aloft and had a really nice experience. Staff were all friendly and the novel 'fast food' breakfast set up suited us as we are late risers and were happy that we could grab food up to 11.00am which consisted of three 'items' (e,.g.noodles, salads, panini's, pastries, mineral drinks, etc.) and a hot drink which we grabbed and took back to our room. We even used our breakfast vouchers in advance for the next day and kept them in our fridge so we could get up late and eat them at our leisure. The Prince Regent DLR Station could be reached by an adjoining walkway from the second floor of the hotel which made it easy to get around. The room was very spacious and modern the TV was large but a bit slow and channels limited but all in all we really liked the room. We were allowed to check out an hour later at no extra cost. Yes we would go back.

Room Tip: Top floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mookiechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having stayed at aloft for 3 nights prior to WTM, we found that it was a very nice addition to the Docklands.

We had a high room on the 8th floor and found it to be like other aloft properties we've stayed in...

All the staff, from Julia, the GM, to front desk staff, to Paul the bartender were great!

Can wait to return soon...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLY_GUY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice hotel, poor service, inexperienced personnel, poor breakfast, bar opens late so no meetings possible (when you have an important meeting, ending with cocktails you need to go to the near Ramada hotel or Novotel or Crown Plaza where is much nicer atmosphere as you can meet also a lot of people and make new deals).
The bed is great, all room is great actually but windows can't be opened so this may cause you in health as you breath air only from air-condition, like in airplanes (in a few years you may get asthma).
Restaurant service ok, but menu is poor (club sandwich awful). Lights are open in full all time so no relax at all after a busy day.
Personnel look like living in another world (probably Starwood use cheap young employees for lower cost).
After 24:00 time, while you have your drinks with your partners you will see them cleaning with vacuum, and open in full all lights, so you will feel that they want you to leave at once.
If one of your colleagues room is in another floor than yours, and you need to borrow i.e. shave cream, you can’t go there as elevator is electronically locked with your room and floor!
No slippers in room, no tv channel station in my language (ok, this is not a real issue).
So: Great design, great bed, clean room, perfect location if you visit the EXCEL exhibition, nice lobby, nice furniture, rude personnel, and a lot to improve in order to become 4-5 star corporate hotel.
For sure they need to hire more experienced receptionists, and bar tenders. I forgot to mention the empty mini bar (can you imagine?)
Nikos , staying to Aloft between 5-7 November 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikosp882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel managers "make or break" their guest experiences and the Aloft's Excel London hotel manager is a testament to attention to details.

I have held back from my review for a few days to ensure I was able to once again immerse myself in the Aloft Experience. This is my second stay at this property, a part of the Starwood banner of Hotels. The Aloft is a modern, hip and young property. No "Old World" pretensions here.

The lobby is open, airy and alive, the reception staff is young, energetic and cheerful. I was received by Graeme with empathy for my fatigue and assurance that he would expedite the check in process to allow me to sleep off the red eye from North America.

The Aloft has a self serve food bar/convenience bar in the lobby which is generally well stocked with various food choices for breakfast. The FEDE restaurant just off the hotel is a good value for your money, with comfort foods, great soup/sandwich combos and excellent traditional british fare like fish and chips and bangers and mash.

A health nut? You will like the property's gym, pool and sauna area. All well maintained and modern. A nice place to relax and play after a long day of business at the Excel centre.

Proximity to the Excel centre is the best in the zone. It is literally a one minute walk from the hotel's second floor exterior door to the Excel centre. If you have a convention to attend, you are so close, you'll be comforted in the knowledge you can pop back into your room to freshen up before your next appointment.

Its Proximity to the Downtown core or "The Action" of London Proper is great. Do not worry about accessibility to the more touristy type of areas in London, a 20 minute DLR ride away and you are in the Tower district of London. London's famed Tube will get you anywhere you need to get quickly and efficiently.

All in all, a fantastic hotel, Im hooked. Im back every year for a yearly convention and I will never consider another property unless the Aloft's own success succeeds in rendering the price unattainable or if availability is ever an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenLazaroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Front desk is not awareof whats going on they work as robots, well even arobot with the right progam would be helpful and smile. Woerst of all I just can't understand it waiters does not provide service at all you get yourself everything and I mean everything when you ask for the check they ask you if you had a continental or full buffet and they ask for tip.

Aloft runs a great program in order to help the planet and is further than keeping same towels and linens they do not clean your room what is alright but they do not follow their own standards they do not give you your bottle wter nor your coffe. Do not bother to call to the front desk they are unable to solve anything.

The Hotel in facilities is great but service shame on you

Room Tip: I believe all are great I was afraid because my room was next to the lift but did not hear anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turista2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#280 of 1,077 in London
2,331 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,077 in London
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#574 of 1,077 in London
1,551 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#399 of 1,077 in London
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
#350 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $93 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London
Aloft London Excel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing