We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky little place with great food.”

Soho's Secret Tea Room
Ranked #218 of 392 Dessert in London
Price range: $7 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Soho's very own secret tea room above the Coach and Horses, a secret vintage tea spot to indulge in amazing cakes and sip on carefully selected teas.
Surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quirky little place with great food.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a lovely lunch here. The food was delicious and plentiful and the service was very good. A lovely atmosphere and a dear little find. My husband said that the cake was better than at The Ritz!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    82
    48
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely tea room, delicious cream tea and great ambience”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I'd been meaning to try this place for ages and having looked at a few reviews I thought maybe it wouldn't be as great as the concept suggested. However, it really works! I loved the retro theme and the fact you have to go behind the bar of the coach & horses (a great pub in its own right) to get to it. The fruit scones were delicious with clotted cream and homemade raspberry jam to die for. At £7.50 including a big pot of earl grey I thought it was great value.

The service was very attentive too and although it looks in the photos as if there was no one in there, there were quite a few behind my vantage point so there was a nice buzz.

Highly recommended and I'll definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WobblymothLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been here before and always found it very quaint and nice.

The food is quite good (cherry scones and blueberry with lemon muffins yum!) and there is a great range of teas to choose from. Nice way to enter via the bar which is brilliant for surprising people who have not been before.

This is a very busy little place and it is always advised to book in before however you may be asked for a deposit of £5 per person - usually if the booking is for over 6 people.

Really enjoyed the service and the atmosphere of this lovely little place, the only thing that let it down was that it wasn't made clear when we sat down when the sitting ended and my friends were kicked off the table while I was in the bathroom meaning I had to chase them outside to get my coat as there was no room left to stand in the bar downstairs.

All in all I will return again, really enjoyed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DelSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“frozen scones and food not fresh.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The room is quaint, the music lovely, service good,china cute HOWEVER the food really is sub standard for what you pay. The sandwhiches are obviously made early in the morning so if you visit late afternoon the bread is hard. The scones are frozen ones not baked fresh like almost all other tea rooms. It's a nice place but such a massive shame about the food not being fresh. £7.50 for 2 frozen scones isn't a great deal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MM30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heide, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very cute!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I would like to give this site a 3,5 just because of the specialness.Very caring in detail,definitely something special.Finished visiting the Tower at about 3 o'clock and were searching for somewhere to have a nice cuppa at so I used the app to show tea rooms around the corner.Got to Soho and the app directed us to the address only we couldn't find the Secret Tea Rooms.You have to ask at the bar of the pub to be guided upstairs.Had cream tea for 7,50£ which wasn't especially cheap but..special.Liked it!

Helpful?
1 Thank brittahorst
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Soho's Secret Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Soho's Secret Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing