We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was ok but service ... not so much!”

Azzurro - London Bridge
Ranked #7,410 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Southwark
Description: Stunning contemporary restaurant & bar just outside London Bridge Station. Azzurro London Bridge is located on London's Tooley Street, opposite the entrance to the London Dungeon & next to the main line & tube station. This modern restaurant is open from midday until late seven days a week, serving top quality, freshly prepared, great value, Italian food. The downstairs bar comes to life in the evening with the local office population visiting for the all important after-work drinks en route to the station. The restaurant area can seat up to a hundred guests and the huge basement bar is ideal for all types of parties up to 300 people.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food was ok but service ... not so much!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went here for a lunch with some work colleagues. The first impression of the place is pretty decent. Comfortable seating and lighting etc but the staff really need to up their game here!

Not once did any of the staff smile at us. The lady serving us seemed extremely disinterested whilst taking our orders. The look of indifference and on her face actually made one of my colleagues wonder if we had done something to offend her! Which obviously we hadn't .... ! We were all quite looking forward to this meal but unfortunately left feeling more than just a little disappointed!

The food was average. The pasta portions were generous but definitely not something I would come back for... especially after the rather poor service we got.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJR03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - London Bridge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments - please accept my apologies and be reassured that I have spoken to the team and reinforced your points.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    84
    48
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not too bad. An average restaurant”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

It was okay I suppose. Nothing special. The food was good, decor average. Would I go back again? - probably not if I had a choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - London Bridge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear reviewer

thank you for your comments which have been noted.

Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great staff and food was great”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Expected a chain experience when we sat down on their terrace.
The staff are friendly, considerate and attentive without being intrusive.
The menu is small but covers the traditional favourites.
The food was way above the level we expected and very reasonable for the price being asked.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyLyons67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - London Bridge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear reviewer

thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your positive comments. We really hope to see you back again soon

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic from start to finish, a real delight!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked a table for 7 of us last night (30.08.13) and was totally overwhelmed at the atmosphere of the restaurant, the decor inside was extremely impressive with the way the tables were situated, drinking at the front and eating at the rear. We were given a lovely table positioned so we could see everything.
The waiter, Ricardo (sorry if I have spelt your name wrong!) was welcoming, seated us and took our drink order promptly. Drinks arrived quickly and our friendly waiter provided us with some tips on the best dishes to order. We have 9 year old with us who does not eat this type of food but they were very willing to accommodate even this fussy young man!
Food arrived, freshly cooked to order, piping hot and we were offered all the usual pepper and parmesan. The waiter was not over powering with his presence but attentive at a level we found very pleasing.
Sweets we struggled to choose but our waiter again kindly suggested a choice we we were so pleased we took his advice, delicious!!
Overall the experience was extremely positive, food served, cooked and presented to a very high standard and the staff were very professional and deserve a personal thanks, we were impressed with the bill as well. Next time we are in London I will certainly visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - London Bridge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear reviewer

thank you for your comments please visit us again really soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this restaurant as part of a package including visiting the Shard with Discount London. We got a great deal. The food was from a set menu but we all enjoyed what we had. Brilliant location for the Shard. Restaurant staff were very helpful as we had forgotten our printouts and they printed them for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Azzurro - London Bridge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear reviewer

thank you for your comments and we hope that you will return

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azzurro - London Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Azzurro - London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing