We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rice price is ridiculous” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dumplings' Legend

Dumplings' Legend
Ranked #16,078 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rice price is ridiculous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

£2.50 for a tiny bowl of steamed rice and £4.50 for a tiny bowl of egg fried rice. What a rip off. My 6yr old ate 2 bowls of it but could easuly have eaten 3 and she is not a huge eater. Not worth a second visit. Avoid. There are better places on the same street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmil43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    238
    182
    124
    226
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Dim Sum feast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Huge selection of dim sum.
The order form which you needed to complete (rather than ordering directly with waiting staff) was odd but we managed.
Think we still prefer trolly service for dim sum.
Each pot sticker was delicious and piping hot!
Understand why restaurants use paper table clothes, but it just doesn't feel right.
Very satisfied with our dim sum feast

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aussiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth a visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Decided to eat at Dumpling Legend purely from walking past and having a look at the menu as we were keen on having dumplings. Managed to get a table fairly quickly and placed our orders within 10mims. Waited for about 15mins and one of our main courses was brought to the table even though we had ordered a dumpling platter. Main coursewas sent back and platter arrived, all the dumpling were prawn and nothing special, I'm sure they mixed up the order. Didn't notice any kids menu but not a great prob as kids shared a main course, I had pork belly and my wife had duck with orange sauce which wasn't great. Overall this restaurant is very poor value for money, dont be taken in by the 'chefs' making the dumplings in full view of the front door as from our experience they aren't anything special, u get better from the frozen section of a Chinese supermarket. Overall avoid this place if ur after a good meal which is value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sel0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great dim sum lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Great dim sum for lunch during the week. Plenty of variety and flavours, and none of the options we selected disappointed. The dumpling options were a hit around the table, including ordering more to top up on some of the extra nice ones.

Trying to get extra drinks during the meal was a bit more of a challenge. Service options could do with some work as could the paper towel decore.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aussiepapa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“worst crispy duck I have ever eaten !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Would definately not recommend this restaurant !!!! Crispy duck was cold and tasted of congealed fat . Staff not interested in hearing complaint at all just laughed and shrugged their shoulders. Shame I hadnt read the reviews before going !! Keep clear of this place !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRogers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumplings' Legend also viewed

 

Been to Dumplings' Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing