We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't be fooled - overpriced and mediocre”

Natural Kitchen - Fetter Lane
Ranked #6,041 of 22,822 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Artisan Restaurant, Food-to-Go & Delicatessen, coffee & juice bar
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“don't be fooled - overpriced and mediocre”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the second time that I have been here at a lunch time and waited over 45 minutes for the order to be brought to the table. It is not as if this is complicated food - I had fish and chips and my partner soup! By time it arrived there was little time to eat it before we had to get back to work. The kitchen is clearly not organised enough or capable of managing the busy lunch time period. The service is dreadful and the food - nothing special (£15 for a chicken club sandwich and chips!) in fact very over priced. I would not recommend this place to any one!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Contrasts”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The name conjures up a rustic image. Inside this is a place of warm mellow colours, of natural wood finishes, of queuing behind a wattle partition, of ex church chairs with slots for prayer books and hymnals. Inside it is also a place of sharp suited lawyers and close huddled business people, of blackboards offering ‘Breakfast on the Go’, ‘Take Away Meal Box Deal’ and ‘Fish N’ Chips Fridays’ – both more in keeping with the hard shiny outside and the large TV streaming rolling news. Interesting contrasts, if not exactly schizophrenic.

I had my breakfast there, at a leisurely pace and not ‘on the go’: a mug of good coffee and an excellent dry cured bacon sandwich on toasted white bread. The service was adequate, though without many smiles to brighten what was a very cold morning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was staying nearby in the Novotel and was attracted to this new restaurant by what looked like an attractive, warm atmosphere (it was cold outside and they had a large projection of a cosy fire onto the wall!)

The menu is pretty standard - burgers, pasta, salads etc - but I had checked out reviews of the other branches of Natural Kitchen and was looking forward to a good meal. Things didn't start out so well, with a 10 minute wait to get a menu and a further 10 minutes before my glass of wine arrived. Tempura Squid was the first disappointment on the food front - tastless rubber rings in a heavy, greasy batter more suited to a chip shop, served with a commercial sweet chilli sauce in a little bowl with undressed rocket. It was the kind of thing that even the cheapest Spanish tapas bar would do better, I followed this with a rare Tuna salad. This turned out to be a poorly executed, underdressed Nicoise with a few large lumps of potato, tomato and green beans on a bed of mixed leaves. The Tuna itself was cooked rare but was stone cold and pretty dry. I asked for some more dressing in order to try to kill the blandness, but it never arrived - the waitress, while cheerful and friendly, seemed to be struggling to cope, even though the place was only half full.

All in all a disappointing experience, as my expectations had been high and this kind of basic, undemanding menu should be very easy to execute well. I know the place has only been open 3 or 4 weeks, but I can't see myself visiting again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GarMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I work very near the New Street Square Natural Kitchen and visit it regularly during the week for lunch.

Amazing choices of healthy foods, exotic and creative vegetables that you can choose to go in a box accomanied by a range of cooked chicken, fish, falafel etc.

Always very busy with a buzzy atmosphere.

Great service too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsIPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Went for lunch with an old work colleague. Busy, buzzing atmosphere - restaurant nearly full on a Monday lunch time which I thought a good sign. The service was very good and prompt. The menu has a good mix of salads and more substantial fare. The salads themselves were very nice - I went with tempura squid with a coriander dressing. Only negative - I did think the salads were a bit expensive. However, I would definitely recommend a visit anyway. It also has a cafe and deli - both of which were very busy as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Kitchen - Fetter Lane also viewed

 

Been to Natural Kitchen - Fetter Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing