We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Ranked #81 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Amazing historic property that was a former brewery, restored in a very sympathetic way into a beautiful contemporary hotel. Room was 1st class luxury. Staff were very well trained and attentive, couldn't do enough to help with taxis, restaurants etc. Would recommend and will return.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

The Montcalm London City is known to have a great variety of rooms that are quite spacious and cater all the needs. The team here at Montcalm London City always focuses on first class service and attention to detail.

We are looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,285 - 2,291 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is my 'go to' Hotel when in London and I love it. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are always friendly and so welcoming.
The rooms are lovely and always spotlessly clean. Having stayed here a lot I have been in many rooms and they are often spacious or quirky as the Building is unusual inside.
Great business location - walking distance to the City - but also close to Barbican & Moorgate tubes so easy to get anywhere in London.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JKDM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many returning guests.

Our friendly and attentive staff will go the extra mile for our guests and nothing is too much to ask for, if it comes to putting a highlight on our guests stay.

We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for my girlfriends birthday, was treated like royalty from start to finish. Upon arrival we received an upgrade from the lady at reception, because it was my girlfriends birthday, to a club suite, our bags were brought up for us and we were told by a lovely gentleman everything about the room. The room was the best I've stayed in, everything you could want from a hotel room. Later that evening when we returned from being out all day, the hotel staff had left my girlfriend a birthday cake in the room for her and a card wishing her a happy birthday, an incredibly nice gesture. It was a a ten minute walk to the underground, which was fine, and only a few stops from the Main Streets in London. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel as it made our trip to london even better. I will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that we have made this special occasion truly special and memorable.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories. I am glad to hear that the surprise to been upgrade was met with your astonishment.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

the hotel was very nice, and the staff was very polite, but we were there on a weekend so everything around was CLOSED, as it is in the financial district, this area lives monday to friday, and is literally dead on weekends, to take that into consideration.. not near turistic atracctions... but nice enough to stay there again if we are ever in london during the week..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Horte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Montcalm London City for your recent stay with us.
The Montcalm London City is located just next to the Barbican Arts Centre and lies between Barbican and Moorgate tube stations, both just minutes of walking distance, with excellent connection to central London and all major attractions.

Our lovely staff will be happy to go the extra mile and make your stay as much enjoyable as possible, especially concierge is there for you to advice on lovely spots around the area.

We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Everything about our stay was excellent , again :-)
Comfortable clean , all the little extras , first class service , great business location - walking distance to The City
Highly recommended
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Jo,

We thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many happy guests.

We are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you once more with our great hospitality and make you feel like home.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I visited the Montcalm at the Brewery on a recent trip to London. I was quite expectant as had previously failed to get a booking and the overall reviews are very positive.
General impression. Formed from a series of victorian 4 story town houses, it's a very impressive renovation. This inner layout is higgledy piggledy without being annoying. Lots of different routes to get to your room! The lobby is very interesting and quite intimate, while modren, nicely done with water features and nice leather sofas.
Rooms. Very well finished, to a high standard. Nice touches like complimentary biscuits and snacks. Good minibar, though limited selection. Bathroom to same standard, very good, though a bit chintzy for my personal taste. Don't really understand the fashion for glass walls between bathroom and room. Was not delighted with room as it had a very small window, which couldn't be opene, at foot level. Not complaining as someone has to have the odd shaped room, just stopped me seeing the room in daylight. Am sure other rooms had full windows as I saw them!
Staff. Quite pleasant overall. Breakfast staff seemed harried.
Food. Really nice choice between an attached gastro pub and a full restaurant. Both excellent. Really good!
I stayed in a club room, which had breakfast included. Not at all worth it in my opinion, as was considerably more expensive and the continental breakfast was poor. Nespresso is ok for home but pretty poor quality for a 5 star hotel

Looking forward to next trip

Room Tip: Avoid club room rate. Ask for a room with full window. In a quiet street so all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Handad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, General Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to show our sincere appreciation for your detailed comments on your recent visit.

Our team here ensures that our guests receive just the best of service, with attention to detail and that special something that defines us who we are; as we are giving our best in every way to ensure our guests are leaving with delightful memories.

We would like to thank you for bringing your valued feedback to our attention and hereby also would like to take the opportunity and thank you for taking this time to share the experience at Montcalm London City.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Everything was superb, from the friendly staff to the lovely room and comfortable bed.
I have mobility problems, and the excellent staff could not do enough for me.
My room was spacious and the bed very comfortable (a rarity in my experience). Everything was spotlessly clean. Lovely bathroom with decent Elemis toiletries. A decent bowl of fruit and bottles of water were provided, which were very nice.
I took breakfast in my room and chose the 8-8:30am slot - it arrived at 8am on the dot, and was delicious - lovely quality ingredients and piping hot.
I enjoyed my stay so much, and cannot wait for an opportunity to return
There was nothing to fault, and much to admire, so a 5 star rating is well deserved from me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LBrownGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altmon, Front Office Manager at The Montcalm at the Brewery London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on our especially attentive team.

It is with pleasure to hear that our staff made your stay so enjoyable and room facilities were up to your high standards that were met with your astonishment.

We are glad that we exceeded your expectation and hope to be of your service again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sabine Altschaeffl
Cluster General Manager
Montcalm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,076 in London
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montcalm at the Brewery London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montcalm at the Brewery London City

Address: 52 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $161 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Montcalm at the Brewery London City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of London's most notable hotels, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is essentially the spot to be in London. Positioned in the very heart of the city of London, The Montcalm at The Brewery London City is a five star hotel set within an historic listed building and comes complete with its very own gourmet gastropub, The Jugged Hare. Formerly the site of Whitbread & Co, Britain's first purpose-built mass production brewery, the original building dates back from as early at 1750 when Samuel Whitbread moved his brewing operations to Chiswell Street on the 'eastern rim of Georgian London,' now the fashionable Barbican. With state-of-the-art business conference facilities plus excellent transport links - the hotel is conveniently located close to three Underground stations - The Montcalm at The Brewery London City makes the perfect meeting venue, accommodating from 2 up to 150 delegates. And of course it offers luxurious suites, deluxe studios and City or Club rooms as well as acclaimed English cuisine at the Chiswell Street Dining Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montcalm at the Brewery London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Hotel London
The Montcalm At The Brewery London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing