We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Grange experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #223 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed at the Grange St Pauls a couple of years back and it wasn't bad, so decided to give another Grange Hotel a try.
I did email beforehand as it was my husbands birthday to ask if there was any chance of an upgrade or something special, to which I received an email back saying they would see what they could do. We checked in - nothing was mentioned about it at all, despite the couple checking in next to us getting an upgrade for no apparent reason. Not the end of the world. We moved from out first room as the Wi-Fi wasn't working.
Can't fault the room, was very nice and clean. Pool area very nice although hot tub wasn't working.

A lovely modern hotel and although you can't fault the staff, all polite etc, the service on both occasions at the Grange has felt somewhat impersonal. The staff say all the right things but I feel there's no 'heart' behind it, just a little lacklustre.

However the rooms and facilities are very nice which is the main thing and I would definitely use the Grange Hotels again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayGirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,685)
There are newer reviews for Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Anyone who has stayed in hotels in London knows that in this city you really need to deduct one star from the usual 1-5 grade the hotel has been awarded. This is a five star, and it is five star in terms of standard and comfort in London, but not in terms of luxury.

That said, I had an excellent room new in the new wing, on the top floor of this wing (which is the 7th floor.) The room had really high ceilings, a perfect view of the Tower of London and two queen size beds. Lots of closet space and a desk, a standard size bathroom. Not much other space, but impressive for London.

I had a nice swim in the pool, and the steam room. I saw the gym and it was a good size and fully equipped. Didn't try any of the other facilities.

It is an excellent location, and good for both district and circle line (Tower Hill) and central line from Bank.

The ultimate test of standard is of course the bathroom products.. they had separate shampoo, conditioner and shower gel (and soap bars). Lower standard hotels have just one combined, and a little better if they have conditioner. So that's good. But these were not products you wanted to take home with you - I think they should be a little better for five star.

If you are lucky enough to work for a company with a travel policy that allows this price range, stay here! I'd actually recommend it for most situations, but if you are on a romantic weekend, go for one of the boutique hotels - this one is rather corporate. The fact that it is not five star luxury I feel was reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were booked in quickly by friendly staff .The room was spacious,modern furnishings, clean and a great bathroom.Loved the shower!The hotel is ideal for the Tower ,Tower Bridge and St Katharines Dock and not far from the tube station.The one thing that struck me after two nights was how quiet the room was no outside noise or noise from other guests fabulous!Even better we had booked on last minute .com secret hotels and got a great bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely clean hotel. Bathroom was spotless and the staff were very friendly. Bedroom was immaculate and furnishings were high quality. Coffee and tea facilities were adequate but would have loved to have seen a bit more variety, i.e. sachets of chocolate or different beverages. Directions from Tower Hill underground station could be a bit more specific, but once we established a route it was a short walk. Taxi cab to Shaftsbury Avenue was £15 at 5.30pm but the return journey at 10pm cost a whopping £28. Have a feeling we were done!
Hotel was good location for all attractions. Excellent facilities, would recommend the hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed on 13th floor, fantastic views over the city.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked this hotel through lastminute.com a couple of night before we arrived. Check in was at 3pm, we arrived about half hour early and the friendly staff were happy to let us have the room at this earlier time. First impressions of the room were really good - it was immaculately finished with high quality furnishings. The bathroom was also lovely and the king size bed very comfortable.

We had a few spare hours in the afternoon and went down to the spa area. This was one of the highlights of the hotel; lovely and clean with a good sized 25m pool, large jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and foot baths.

It took us around 30-40 mins on the underground to get to the west end. it cost £4.70 each way; guests staying more than a few nights should consider buying a visitor Oyster card as this significantly reduces the fares.

We struggled to find many pubs open after 11pm, but the hotel bar is open 24 hours and was busy with a good atmosphere when we arrived around midnight.

On check out the staff explained that we were welcome to leave our luggage and use the hotel facilities for the rest of the day.

A very pleasant stay overall, the only disadvantage for us was the distance to the West End -however, we knew about this when we booked and I think you would struggle to find a hotel of this quality in a more central area of London at such a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwhitters92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a lovely clean hotel with really comfortable rooms. Our bathroom was spotless with a separate shower from the bath. The shower was fabulous: fast and hot!
The room was a good size with a two sweater sofa in that was comfortable. Lovely large bed, which led to a really good night's sleep.
Breakfast was really nice, with lots of choice, and good coffee.
Really good customer service at the desk.
All of this for a rate that was cheaper than that offered by the Premier Inn and Travelodge nearby. If you want to stay here, do book directly on the hotel's website: we found a really good deal there!
We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historrygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at room no. 910 for a month. Superb room, luxuriously spacious, spotlessly clean and very silent for a comfortable night sleep on a fluffy bed replete with pillows galore. The bathroom is very nicely done too and the shower panel was the best part that came with three options of rain shower, hand shower and two separate jets; all can be obtained at one go if you wish. Totally loved it. There was a bath tub too which I did not use being alone.

The breakfast if included is fine (like company paid it for me) but I would suggest do not opt for it since it is very expensive at 15 or 20 Pound for continental or English breakfast respectively. You can get similar quality breakfast at weather spoon, opposite to the hotel at 6 pound (albeit not buffet). The buffet breakfast at the hotel is good though with a decent spread.

Location wise the hotel is well placed 3-5 mins away from tower gateway dlr and tower hill underground stations. It is also at a walking distance from aldgate and bricklane ( where you get many Bangladeshi joints, if you are looking for them. But not good mostly).

The reason for one star less than 5 is the terrible wifi connection in my room. There was hardly any connection and mostly intermittent, which had to be obtained walking around in the room to catch the signal. They should seriously do something about it, to make themselves at par with 5 stars, which it is in all aspects from pool to room to breakfast and that too at a pretty competitive price in London.

Recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank TravelGeek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#356 of 1,072 in London
2,827 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#320 of 1,072 in London
4,304 reviews
The Tower
#274 of 1,072 in London
6,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#228 of 1,072 in London
2,876 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#161 of 1,072 in London
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#142 Business Hotel in London
#144 Romantic Hotel in London
#148 Family Hotel in London
#167 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $156 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing