We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable, close to public transport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable, close to public transport”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good location for a city visit. Close to the tube, DLR and the train station. Plenty of black cabs outside. Reception staff needs to up their game a bit! Definitely not a warm welcome and a bit unprofessional as well. The room was clean and well appointed. Buffet breakfast was good as you would expect from a hotel such as this but not noteworthy. Restaurant staff was friendly and service was good. Ordering room service can be a bit expensive so if you are willing to wonder out there's a wetherspoons pub literally next door serving decent food all day or a sainsburys and a tesco on mansell street (walk out of the hotel, past the wetherspoons, turn right, walk 2-5 mins) or walk further and you'll see loads of cafes near the aldgate station. Tower bridge is about 5 to 10 mins walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,833
    1,142
    334
    125
    71
See reviews for
485
1,503
100
719
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel website made this hotel look fab. Room with 2 beds booked for my daughter & me for a New Year visit, shopping etc. Initially shown to a room with 1 bed, when was expecting to see 2 double beds at least(Holiday Inns have 2 double beds in their 'twin rooms') No such luck. Then allocated a room with 2 narrow & uncomfortable single beds, that had no mattress protection and a sofa bed. Why? It was late so put up with it for now. Breakfast was a shambles; continental included. Had to queue for at least 15 minutes; staff totally disorganised, wandering about doing very little when there were tables needing clearing & relaying. Food OK if you could get to what you wanted but buffet layout ridiculous & mixed up cooked & non cooked food, juices & toast machine so people just pushing in everywhere. Asked if any rooms with larger beds but told the hotel was full (Monday 30 December) and nothing else available. Went shopping to return to room some 3 hours later to find in process of cleaning & maid had plugged her phone into my charger! She did attempt to apologise - English not her mother tongue - her supervisor might need to get in touch & her battery low. Really? Toilet paper very poor quality, not what I would have expected in a 5* hotel at all. Bar area where food served never clean - dirty tables & rubbish on the floor just left. It was hardly busy. No excuses. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for higher than 5th floor rooms & none ending in 07 as you can hear the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kade14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed in this hotel before and once again the cleanliness was remarkable on my resent visit! The shower only produced too hot water, but luckily there was a nice bath too to use instead. Welness facilities great as ever. Professional staff attitude, breakfast OK. Will certainly return if price is reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was my first stay at this hotel, but not the first staying at a Grange. Hotel. Stayed at the Grange St Paul's a few months ago and I would say the outside and the lobby of this was more impressive however the location of the tower bridge hotel and immediate vicinity is better.
We booked last minute on a last minute.com secret hotel offer. When arriving at the hotel (in the quiet period between Christmas and new year) we were greeted in a rather strange way by reception asking for our passports. We live 20 miles from London and I've never been asked for ID in a UK hotel in my life! We didn't have any and it wasn't a problem so why ask?! Anyway we were given a beautiful room on the 11th floor, room 1111 with a fantastic view of the shard and tower bridge. Wow. Wasn't expecting that for a last minute cheap deal. Rooms very well appointed, shower and bath were great. Room was very quiet despite having neighbours.
The spa was lovely, great pool, great facilities.
The hotel is close to St Katharine's dock for excellent restaurants and bars and also Shad Thames over the river.
As we stayed on a Sunday night we parked in the Minories car park and took advantage of cheap weekend parking.
Would definitely stay again in this hotel and would recommend. One of the better hotels I have stayed in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing river. Room 1111 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou_Lou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is our final visit to this hotel, which I have stayed at frequently in the last 2 years since moving away from London.

Given that it was the new year period, we decided to treat ourselves to an upgraded room ("executive"); we usually in their standard rooms which are standard and nice. We understand that executive rooms are different because of the additional space. The room that we were given upon arrival was a tiny room in which there was not even enough room to open our suitcases around the bed. I immediately complained and was advised that there was not a single other room available in the hotel at that point and we could not be moved. I advised I wanted to speak with the duty manager who was of no assistance. I then arranged a meeting on the Monday morning with the manager. This room also did not have a fully functioning shower.

The next day, we were moved to a suitable room. We were happy with the size - it was about double or triple the size of the previous room, which begs the question of how these two rooms could possibly have the same classification and ask the same price.

The meeting with the manager on Monday morning was not fruitful. I merely requested the difference in price for one night between the standard room and the executive room. He said that he understood the problem. However, I received a call from duty manager two days later advising that no compensation would be paid or anything done to redress the situation. I was merely given a bottle of champagne. This was more insulting than appeasing.

The trouble did not stop there. The noise from another room at several points became ridiculous and it was impossible to think or sleep. I made several complaints and finally security came to see what was wrong. They finally found the problem, but their solution was merely to "monitor" the noise rather than do anything about it. The noise was not coming through the walls; it was coming through the air-conditioning unit. This is surprising, given the hotel is only a few years old and should have better facilities.

I urge anyone thinking of staying here to please reconsider. You can get very cheap rates for this hotel on lastminute.com - it is the "Secret Hotel 5* based in London Bridge with spa facilities". Only then is it worth the money, as you only pay about £90 for the room. If you have already booked and are given 523, you will not be happy or clean. Ask for room 709, which is lovely, and is on a corner and is actually worth the money you pay for it.

I will be writing separately to the next level of manager upon returning home, setting out my complaints further.

Room Tip: Executive - 523 is terrible. 709 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Really happy with the accommodation. It was a horrible day, but the welcome was warm. Doorman was a little too keen - we declined the offer of help with our overnight bags (!) but he still told us where reception was (as if the big writing did not help!)
We had a room on the 9th floor and if the weather had been good we would have seen for miles. The room was lovely, clean and spacious and our bed was turned down when we arrived back later (my husband and I fought for the chocolates!) The bathroom was lovely and the toiletries great.
I slept well, which is novel for me!
We went to the gym and the pool and loved both.
Would return again, happily!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Hotel's location is good & close to Tower of London & Tower Hill Underground station. It is a modern & bright clean hotel, staff were very pleasant & on arrival at check in they explained everything we needed to know. Bed was very comfortable & as we were on the 10th floor we had a great view of the surrounding area. Rooms were cleaned daily and beds made, and sheets turned each night. Breakfast was not included and was an additional £20 which we felt was too expensive, thankfully there was a Wetherspoons across the road which had a great breakfast menu at a very low price :) The Pool & Spa was brilliant, modern & clean.Would defenately recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#340 of 1,088 in London
2,680 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#319 of 1,088 in London
4,070 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#83 of 1,088 in London
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#255 of 1,088 in London
6,307 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#248 of 1,088 in London
2,713 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Property: Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in London
#142 Business Hotel in London
#144 Romantic Hotel in London
#148 Family Hotel in London
#162 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing